Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Riot Act
Yes, this is just another Pearl Jam record.
The seventh album from the ledgendary 'Jam is just like the rest of their albums and typical Pearl Jam; mature, clever and occasionally innovative rock music.
There are some immediately brilliant great on here, most notably the recent single I Am Mine. However the rest of the album needs a few more listens to fully...
Published on 10 Nov 2002 by bladerunner

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Weakest PJ album.
Some of the reviews of this record seem abit hysterical one way or the other. As with all PJ albums this has some real quality, especially the slower songs, but there isn't the sparkle there should be.

With hindsight it seems that PJ were going through the motions seeing-out their Epic record deal. When you compare it to their fire-breathing self-titled album...
Published on 21 Nov 2005 by B. A. Chiverton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They keep coming back, and no ones complaining!, 28 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Riot Act (Audio CD)
Many people think Pearl Jam are past thier best but i totally disagree and this album proves it. The bands song writing has matured and is more thoughtful. Everyone is still awesome at playing thier instruments and when they are put together in the one song it makes fantastic music. My personal favourites on thie album are Save You - one of the heaviest songs on the album, I Am Mine, Love Boat Catain - reflects on the rokslide tragedy and Thumbing My Way - a beautiful song. I kept wanting to add more to that list because all the songs are great! As always with Pearl Jam every album is different which i think is good as it proves they still have loads more ideas on how to make music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Contented Band, 2 Oct 2003
By 
This review is from: Riot Act (Audio CD)
Thank God it isn't 'Binaural Part II'! After the disillusion I received from 'Binaural', Pearl Jam have got their act together and produced the gorgeously confident 'Riot Act'. It's hard to believe that this album is the seventh studio offering from one of the last survivors of the original grunge era. The introduction of Matt Cameron (Soundgarden, Temple Of The Dog) on drums has really made a difference, especially given the level of writing input he's had on the album. Considering he seems to have written as many songs on this album as McCready and Gossard combined, you have to wonder what those two were up to while Vedder and Cameron were penning each wonderful tune (although Gossard did pen my two favourites of the album - the uplifting 'Love Boat Captain' and the beautiful 'All Or None').
One of the major factors which has caused a lot of people to take an instant dislike to Pearl Jam before even hearing them has been the forever controversial Eddie Vedder. A voice / enemy / nobody (delete as applicable) of a generation, he's never kept quiet about his opinions. On this album however, Eddie takes a more reflective approach to his lyric writing. Where as songs like 'Love Boat Captain' and 'I Am Mine' show Eddie at peace with the world, ("I know it's already been sung, can't be said enough, love is all you need, all you need is love") songs like 'Bu$hleauger' and 'Green Disease' show the more familiar critical bluntness far more obvious than any lyrics from previous albums("He's not a leader he's a Texas leaguer", "Drilling for fear makes the job simple"), or maybe that's just me getting older and not taking as long to "get it".
The addition of Kenneth "Boom" Gaspar on the Hammond B3 seems to sit well in this new, more relaxed Pearl Jam that have cast away the rebellious stances of the 'Ten' and 'Versus' era, and admitted "I've stopped trying to make a difference" ('No Way' - 'Yield'), and seem to have that chemistry between each other that seemed to be lacking on albums like 'No Code' and 'Binaural'. To some, Pearl Jam are more than just a band, their appeal spans much further than their music. They've gone from flavour of the month, to 'sell-outs', to a cult act, to hall-of-fame veterans in less than a decade. The colourful history of the band has always been evident in their music, and it's easy to get sucked in to it all. Whether producing questionable songs like 'Bugs' and 'Habit' or writing masterpieces like 'Black' and 'Daughter', the fact that they're still out there, trying new things and not worrying about the fanbase's opinion means that I'll always be there every couple of years, waiting for the new album, with pretty good odds that that the one genre they'll never decide to toy with contains any combinations of the words 'metal' and 'nu'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I can't think of a witty title., 11 Nov 2002
This review is from: Riot Act (Audio CD)
They're back. No fanfare, no chart topping video, no clue it's coming unless you're psychic. Riot Act just appeared on the shelves on saturday morning, sucked out of the ether by some kind of rock osmosis.
Fine, many will argue that it's Pearl Jam by the numbers. To a certain extent they'd be right - A couple of full out rock numbers, a wierd spoken word perfomance, forgettable ballad that you'll skip past next time you listen to the CD, folky lead single, hell it could almost be a rerelease of No Code, without the wacky packaging. To these people, I would say 'So what'? The band may not have moved on much in the last 4 albums but they seem pretty comfortable where they are.
Sure, Eddie's in danger of disappearing up his own backside with some of the more pretentious lyrics in Bu$hleager and the intolerably corny 'Thumbing my way' but they make up for it with the spanking-good 'Save You' and 'Ghost'. Wasn't too impressed with 'Crop Duster' and 'Get Right', to the point that seeing Matt Cameron getting a writing credit was enough to bring tears to my eyes, but he redeems himself with the Depeche Mode stylings of 'You Are', probably the only time on the record the band seem to really be stretching themselves. 'Love Boat Captain' and '1/2 Full' will have you swaying in your seat, 'All or None' will have you crying in your pint, 'Arc' will leave you wondering what the hell the boys are smoking. All in all, it's a good album but with a band like this you can't help but feel they're capable of much more. And again, so what? If you're a fan, you don't care what I think, you're going to buy it anyway. If you're not a fan, this album is not going to change that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consistently good, 11 Nov 2002
This review is from: Riot Act (Audio CD)
Following a decade of consistently honest and exiting rock albums, Riot Act sees Pearl Jam delving a little deeper.
Themes of life, death and the natural world are splashed against a familiar canvas of power chords and camp-fire blues.
Lyricaly their most accomplished work to date.
Sonicaly their most leftfield.
If you liked Vitology and No Code, then you won't be disappointed.
Very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Weakest PJ album., 21 Nov 2005
This review is from: Riot Act (Audio CD)
Some of the reviews of this record seem abit hysterical one way or the other. As with all PJ albums this has some real quality, especially the slower songs, but there isn't the sparkle there should be.

With hindsight it seems that PJ were going through the motions seeing-out their Epic record deal. When you compare it to their fire-breathing self-titled album of 2006 it does sound jaded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hang my head and count my steps..., 20 Dec 2005
This review is from: Riot Act (Audio CD)
I've been a Pearl Jam since Ten. Seen them countless times etc... got everything by them etc... When I originally bought Riot Act, I have to say I was a little disappointed, but a few weeks ago something changed. Whilst listening to the Benaroya Live Album, I realised what an incredible and heart rendering song Thumbing My Way is, so I had to go back to Riot Act. It just blew me away, I can't say anymore except just buy it (and oh, Benaroya for the PJ live experience).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'm a really strict judge when it comes to my favourite band..., 16 Jun 2009
By 
Pantelis Kourelis (Athens, GREECE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Riot Act (Audio CD)
...that's why I rate this album with 3/5 stars. It's a good grade, but Pearl Jam have done way better albums than this one. I can understand that at the time they were under the influence of the Roskilde incident, I think this sad moment reflects on this album. Being a little shorter would have helped it get 4/5 stars :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My most played Pearl Jam album, 8 Jun 2012
By 
Grantona - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Riot Act (Audio CD)
This is what makes Pearl Jam a legendary band in my opinion. They have always had a loyal fan base over their 20 year career, producing a mixture of completely different sounding albums over the years. If you were a newcomer to the band you'd read the reviews and get understandably confused over which album was their best work. Every PJ fan seems to pick a different album to everyone else but this one is my favourite. I have all of them, but for me, this is the only album post Ten & Vs where I am completely happy with every track. This album is the most heartfelt out of all them and also the most varied. For some reason this album is the most under-rated in the catalogue. 'You Are', 'Ghost' and 'Save You', being some of their best tracks they have ever produced but there isnt a duff track on the album. Ignore this one at your peril!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's about time!!!, 4 May 2006
This review is from: Riot Act (Audio CD)
This is simply the best thing Pearl Jam have created since their debut, Ten. It's just a pity that fans have had to wait so long for it. A couple of the songs on this album are reminiscent of tracks on earlier albums that are instantly forgettable, but considering Riot Act has 15 tracks, that's forgivable.

The majority of this album is exceptional, both musically & lyrically. There are some cracking and original guitar riffs, especially on 'You Are', 'Save You' & 'Get Right'. Not to mention some equally impressive solo work, for example, on the likes of single release 'I Am Mine'.

As for the lyrics; they are intelligent and at times inspirational. Something Pearl Jam have struggled to recreate on a regular basis since Ten. All in all, if you're a fan of Pearl Jam and have considered buying this album, but weren't sure, I strongly recommend it. If you're not a fan, but have fancied trying them out, this would be a good place to start outside of Ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars La la la, 1 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Riot Act (Audio CD)
Anyway... this album took a few listens to unravell and grow on me. Saying that it's not an album that stays in my cd player long. However it is a good collection of songs; 'save you', 'ghost' and 'love boat captain' notably. The reason i can't give this pearl jam album 5 stars is Eddie's vocals. What's happened man?! Not as strong as of old which is a shame cos i think onn other records he has one of the best voices in music. Despite my critisims... do buy it if you like alternative sound and a new take on pearl jam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Riot Act
Riot Act by Pearl Jam (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews