Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unusual, inspiring and different
Anyone who heard 'When I get You Alone' on the radio would've been forgiven for thinking Robin Thicke was a black artist. It's a shock when you find out that he's a skinny white guy, because his voice just doesn't seem to match his appearence.
It's a Beautiful world is a really unusual album, not least because it's so difficult to catergorise. Some songs are...
Published on 27 Jun. 2003 by Joe Cutts

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nah
Only a couple songs did it for me on this album. The rest were just space fillers. Prefer his later work.
Published 22 months ago by A Daniel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unusual, inspiring and different, 27 Jun. 2003
By 
Joe Cutts (Sheffield, south yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Beautiful World (Audio CD)
Anyone who heard 'When I get You Alone' on the radio would've been forgiven for thinking Robin Thicke was a black artist. It's a shock when you find out that he's a skinny white guy, because his voice just doesn't seem to match his appearence.
It's a Beautiful world is a really unusual album, not least because it's so difficult to catergorise. Some songs are reminiscent of Tom Waits, others sound like something the Beatles would've come up with, others still sound like Lou Reed, and then of course there is the song most people will spring for the album for: When I Get You Alone, which could only be classed as Thicke. Such a fantstic tune, it's worth the cost of the album and anything else you like is going to be a bonus.
Some of the tunes are just downright strange. Shooter has got to be beg a question or two, but even so, it sounds GOOD.
On the whole Thicke is definitely an acquired taste, but if you're open minded to contemporary funk, jazz and rock, give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing, 2 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A Beautiful World (Audio CD)
Compared to the likes of John Lennon, Stevie Wonder and Michael Jackson, it's not surprising that this debut album from Robin Thicke has the makings of a classic. Fuelled with Soul, Pop and Rock this album not only delievers quality but variety. The stand out tracks are When i get you alone, A Beautiful world, Lazy bones and Stupid little things. Expect to hear a lot more from this future star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nah, 20 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Beautiful World (MP3 Download)
Only a couple songs did it for me on this album. The rest were just space fillers. Prefer his later work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS GUY IS FANTASTIC, 27 Aug. 2003
By 
sarah (WEST YORKSHIRE) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Beautiful World (Audio CD)
A BEAUTIFUL WORLD IS A BEAUTIFUL ALBUM IT JAM PACKED WITH A SONG TO SUIT EVERYBODYS TASTE AND WILL HAVE YOU FEELING GOOD AND SINGING ALONG FROM THE MOMENT YOU PRESS PLAY. ITS CONSTANTLY ON MY CD PLAYERS. THE LYRIC ARE FANTASTIC CHECK OUT "STUPID THINGS" THE BEATS ARE FUNKY "BRAND NEW JONE" THIS GUY IS JUST FANTASTIC WRITING SINGING IT IS JUST ALL PURE TALENT. I CAN NOT FAULT THIS ALBUM IS BRILLIANT WORTH BUYING FOR SURE. WELL DONE TO THICKE! THIS IS WHAT MUSIC SHOULD BE NO MANUFACTURES RUBBISH OR COVERS NEW AND FUNKY. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good voice, ok songs, crap lyrics, 27 Jun. 2007
By 
Jane (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Beautiful World (Audio CD)
I bought this a couple of years ago because I loved the single 'when I get you alone'. Have to say I was somewhat disappointed. He has a great voice and the production is really good.

However, most of the songs are average musically and several of them have cringingly bad lyrics - the sort of thing a 12yr old might write. Hopefully his songwriting will improve with age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feel the Vibe!!!, 18 July 2003
By 
M. Morgan "trublusoul" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Beautiful World (Audio CD)
Ive got this on heavy rotation at the moment! Got me smiling hard! Thicke is an artist that has a feel of Stevie Wonder and the Beattles vibe to his sound. Trust this guy has a cool voice and lyrics are tight. I love the soulful ness he possesses on tracks such as 'Suga Mama' the brilliant 'When I get u Alone' the simple piano on 'The Stupid Things' I cud go on about every track.This is an Album to check out.He is a diverse artist with funk/ rock and soul being wat Thicke is about. listen 2 wat this guy has to say! 'Beautiful World'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FLAVOUR OF THE MONTH, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Beautiful World (Audio CD)
STARTED COLLECTING ROBIN THICKE ALBUMS AND EACH ONE IS VERY GOOD-LOOKING FOR THE NEXT ONE NOW.START COLLECTING THEM NOW HE IS VERY GOODI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Early Thicke., 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Beautiful World (Audio CD)
Early Robin Thicke music, not as smooth as his new stuff but some good songs on there. Evolution still my favourite though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thicke, 7 Nov. 2013
This review is from: A Beautiful World (Audio CD)
Just a excellent album a very fresh album and great lyrics love this album 5 star 6 star in my eyes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R&B and soul are back with THICKE, 9 Aug. 2003
This review is from: A Beautiful World (Audio CD)
This is definetly one of this years big hits. Robin THICKE is an excellent songwriter/producer and singer.
This album is packed with self-written song about love, friends and partying.
THICKE has in an amazing way mixed soul, r&b and a bit of hip hop. The result of all this is A Beatiful World.
The singers debut album includes songs like "The stupid things", a slow, beatiful song about guys doing things wrong sometimes, and really up-beat songs like "When I get you alone", wich is the ultimate party song!
In other words, this album rocks!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Beautiful World
A Beautiful World by Robin Thicke (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews