Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


119 of 130 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before the Manion. Before the Disaster. Evil is Born.
The Resident Evil series is seven years old now, so you'd think its time was nearly up and that it would only continue for a strict fan-base. This isn't the case. The recent release of the remake of Resident Evil 1 and now a prequel to the series means there is no better time to get into Resident Evil. It is the gaming revolution that caused a sensation and created the...
Published on 17 Dec 2002 by Mr. N. W. Blackford

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but 1 major flaw.
To be brief - most aspects of this game are very good - excellent graphics (maybe even surpassing the RE1 remake).
A little slower moving than RE2, 3 or 4, and maybe not as scary, but for the most part a very good game.

One big flaw detracts a lot of enjoyment though - the new method of managing items.
In the previous games (RE4 excluded) you carried...
Published on 14 Jan 2008 by NP


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ingeniously challenged., 21 April 2004
This review is from: Resident Evil Zero (GameCube) (Video Game)
Being an avid Resident Evil fan there was never any question as to whetheror not I would purchase this game and the bottom line is that any RE(Resident Evil) fan should too. The story doesn't so much continue(Resident Evil 0 is a prequel to the original Resident Evil) but itexpands. That's not to say there isn't one nor am I saying that it's bad,but when you look at the big picture RE 0 does little to further theoverall story which is what I, personally, was looking for.
In some Resident Evil games you are given a choice of characters (one male& one female usually) and this means you get to go through it twice.(Should you wish to do so) In RE 0 you get both at once. You control bothRebecca Chambers and Billy Cohen through around 99% of the game. And bypressing the X button you can switch between these characters. You canonly control one at a time but you can set the other persons AI to makethem act as you wish. (If you don't want them to waste ammo you canprogramme them not to shoot)
The game still manages to sneak around this though and a lot of the timesyou have to separate from your partner to advance. This feature is verygimmicky and after a few minutes you forget about it and remember thegames problems. I think enjoyment of this game is based heavily on how bigof a RE fan you are. If you've played other games in the series before youcan see that this isn't really a brand new game at all, it's Capcomtreading water.
Yes, the graphics are amazing but you should never buy a game for thosealone. It plays exactly the same as RE 1, RE 2, RE 3 and the RE remake. Ifyou have never played any of the Resident Evils before this is anessential game, you can start from here and continue through the others inchronological order. The graphics are breathtaking and it is probably themost atmospheric of the series so far. Zombie killing never gets old andthe boss battles are sure to get your adrenaline pumping
But I have done all of these things before and this is just giving it tome again with better graphics. However, despite the fact that the storydidn't really evolve and there were no new innovations in the gameplaydepartment (character zapping is a lot like an impulse buy: fun at firstbut soon becomes just another part of the furniture) for a long-time fanit's still an essential... barely. If this is your first RE game then youcan add two stars to the score.
For people new to the series: You should welcome it with open arms and youwill not be disappointed.
For fans: buy it but don't expect it to beResident Evil 4 come early.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lets go back, back even before the infamous mansion incident, 4 July 2003
By 
J. Day "Swift" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil Zero (GameCube) (Video Game)
Alright, this one tries to do some things new for the Resident Evil series, and you've got to hand it to them; it’s about time too. The main game play difference is that you control two people for the duration of the game which does take away some of scares which were created before by isolation. You'd think this would make for some more interesting puzzles by using the two characters but unfortunately it consists mainly of sending items between two floors when your characters do get separated.
The background story of the Leeches and Dr Marcus is very confusing, although it does explain how the T-Virus outbreaks were so contained in the other games. However, how come you don't see or even hear of the leeches in later Resi games?
There are some nice revelations to the story; visiting faithfully recreated Resident Evil 2 locations, seeing more of William Birkin and a familiar Resident Evil 1 mutie (although it’s not explained how there are more than one before RE1) and, of course, leaving future Resi games open for Billy's return.
This game won't take you long to complete; it took me less than a day to complete and there aren't any decent replay incentives like in Resi 1 on the Gamecube, but still; its Resi, its still a best-selling series and its got the engrossing plot and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You can't go wrong with Resi, 8 Jun 2003
By 
J. Day "Swift" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil Zero (GameCube) (Video Game)
Alright, this one tries to do some things new for the Resident Evil series, and you've got to hand it to them; it's about time too. The main game play difference is that you control two people for the duration of the game which does take away some of scares which were created before by isolation. You'd think this would make for some more interesting puzzles by using the two characters but unfortunately it consists mainly of sending items between two floors with dumbwaiters.
The background story of the Leeches and Dr Marcus is very confusing, although it does explain how the T-Virus outbreaks were so contained in the other games. However, how come you don't see or even hear of the leeches in later Resi games?
There are some nice revelations to the story; visiting faithfully recreated Resident Evil 2 locations, seeing more of William Birkin and a familiar Resident Evil 1 mutie (although it's not explained how there are more than one before RE1) and, of course, leaving future Resi games open for Billy's return.
This game won't take you long to complete; it took me less than a day to complete and there aren't any decent replay incentives like in Resi 1 on the Gamecube, but still; its Resi, its still a best-selling series and its got the engrossing plot and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How the Evil began., 18 May 2003
This review is from: Resident Evil Zero (GameCube) (Video Game)
I never thought of buying a Gamecube at all. When my friend got one with Resi 0 I went to play on it. My jaw droped, this is the best Resi game on the market at the moment, Resident Evil 0 shows you what happened to Bravo Team, how Rebecca eneded up in that room Chris finds her in and how and why the T-Virus out break started.
You start the game on a train that was attacked by Leeches, you take control of Rebecca Chambers, then after a while you get to choose either Rebecca or Billy Cohen of the US Navy who is on his way to be executed for murder.
Then there is the mysterious man dressed like a final fantasy character who can control the leeches with singing...
can you unlock the secrets of the Umbrella Coporation?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil Zero, 22 Mar 2004
This review is from: Resident Evil Zero (GameCube) (Video Game)
I first became interested in Resident Evil way back when no.1 deduted on the Playstation and I have loved it ever since. Upon first playing Zero I figured that although it was a great resident evil adition it failed to live up to no.1 and Code Veronica and fell in somewhere with no.3. However, after playing through for the first time I realized that there was something strangely compelling about this game and it quickly became one of my favorite resident evil titles maybe even surpassing the original, and I don't say that freely. If you like Resident Evil then this is an essential purchase. Stop reading this review and buy that game. If however you do not like resident evil, then beware. You will be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resi is simply the best, 5 Nov 2003
This review is from: Resident Evil Zero (GameCube) (Video Game)
Well Capcom have done it again with this beauty. Not only is a really great game but it looks fantastic aswell. If you haven't played this game yet or dont own a cube. get one now and get this game.The new features are used well throughout. Only drawbacks are that it is quite short and can easily be completed without worry about getting lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my mates says its brilliant, 28 Jan 2014
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil Zero (GameCube) (Video Game)
Unless this appears eventually on playstaton im very like ever to play this ..the original resident ame in 1996 was absolutely fantastic but we never got to do the bonus level (a path that led to the forest if I recall)....
So I have now bought the 7book set which includes resident evil zero and after reading chapters 1&2 this is a good read.....so judging on the book and my mste its getting a 4 star...but id so love to play this prequal ....maybe one day if I find someone who owns a gamecube I might just buy the game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i like it, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil Zero (GameCube) (Video Game)
I like it cos I did have it when I was 24 and I am a resident evil fan always will lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmm not for me, 13 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Resident Evil Zero (GameCube) (Video Game)
I must admit I didn't really want this game when it was released, but I was strangely drawn to it just to see what the fuss was about. I have played the old versions on the PSone and enjoyed them.
However expecting a thrilling story and mind teasing puzzles like its older counterparts, I found myself getting extreeeemly thrustrated very early on. I kicked off in normal mode and, ok I am not the greatest gamer in the world but this is hard ! Even after getting some help off the web I still found myself wondering how the heck I was supposed to have worked that out !
On the plus side the graphics are by far the best on the cube yet, and I found myself standing still for a while whilst thinking the graphics were still part of the cut scene, they are that realistic.
If your are one of those hardcore gamers who relish in this sort of title then you will no doubt enjoy. For me though it was too hard, the controls were very awkward and primitive and the only real interest were the mind blowing visuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil Zero Review by a GamePro, 18 Oct 2004
This review is from: Resident Evil Zero (GameCube) (Video Game)
Well, I always wnated to play this game so i decided to get a GameCube. Good points: All-new prequel to the survival horror series. Opening cut scene (and a couple others in the game) is totally awesome to watch. Character Zapping System is very nice, especially when you're attacked by a group of zombies, your partner will help you shoot them. Graphics look very nice when compared to original Resident Evil series on PS One. Also, the bonus mini game can be unlocked in the end (a bit like Resident Evil 3 - Nemesis), which is welcome.
Bad points: Despite 2 disks, game feels pretty short, especially as in order to solve puzzles, you constantly need to go forwards and backwards from one palce to another. It gets quite annoying, but the same could be said for most Resident Evil games. Movement system is truly dreadful...
Overall, it's a nice game but i wish it was available on X-Box or PS2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil Zero (GameCube)
Resident Evil Zero (GameCube) by Capcom (GameCube)
Used & New from: £5.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews