Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars58
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 17 December 2002
The Resident Evil series is seven years old now, so you'd think its time was nearly up and that it would only continue for a strict fan-base. This isn't the case. The recent release of the remake of Resident Evil 1 and now a prequel to the series means there is no better time to get into Resident Evil. It is the gaming revolution that caused a sensation and created the Survival Horror genre in 1996. Read below for a breakdown of the game with positive and negative points:
GRAPHICS:
(+)Simply amazing. The sharp, pre-rendered locations are stunning and possibly the best graphics I have ever seen in any computer game. The backgrounds breathe with movement, a technique that has been perfected on the Gamecube, allowing pre-rendered backdrops to look alive and not static as they had in previous entries on the Resident Evil series. The colours work fantastically with the mood of the game and the cut-scenes are directed with amazing skill and are the most amazing I have ever seen in a game, surpassing those of Final Fantasy X in my opinion.
(-) Not a single problem, there is not one visable polygon mistake in this game. The lighting is beautiful. The only problem I would mention is that sometimes the camera is at an angle where not every available route is visable for the player. I often missed whole areas because I simply couldn't see their entrances.
SOUND:
(+) The use of sound effects is very cleverly employed, zombies will quietly shuffle in the distance, as always, and this proves to add to the tension a lot. The sounds created by the monsters are very well done. If I only had a surround sound system!
(-) The repeating footstep sounds can make the game sound a bit unrealistic, in the game "Silent Hill 2" for the playstation, hundreds of individual footsteps were recorded to avoid this, perhaps the game could have employed this technique? When you get used to the three or four different zombie groans, they just aren't scary anymore.
MUSIC:
(+) Very good, as usual. The music in the series is wonderful and the games' score is worthy of being a soundtrack to a movie. The music is very moody and slow, setting a perfect undertone for the visuals.
(-) More please! Long areas without music meant for me the atmosphere lacked. The makers perhaps thought silence was scarier and perhaps this is true, but in moderation.
PLAYABILITY:
(+) Easy to get into if you're familiar with the series. Nothing has really changed and all the improvements made throughout the series remain.
(-) The new system means you control two characters at once and there are times where this is difficult. I played the game on "Hard Mode" first which was a mistake, I thought I was good enough, but this game proves a new, and very difficult challenge on "Hard Mode" even for those experts of the series! I thought there were moments in the game where it was almost the luck if you survived - the computer controlled character can waste your ammo sometimes when you don't want them to, but you want them to be armed just in case. It's not really a bad point about the game, you just have to be very aware. You can never relax, which is actually quite a good thing in the case of this game.
REPLAY VALUE:
(+) Lots of extra stuff to do, like in all of the Resident Evil titles. It will keep you coming back and experiencing every inch of the game, which is worth doing!
(-) After playing the game on "Hard Mode" you will be exhausted and won't want to experience much more for a while, but give it time, you'll want more.
CONCLUSIONS:
I was shocked at how long this game was and how amazing it looked. There are more kinds of monster in this game than any other in the series, which is refreshing - I didn't expect so much from what I thought was going to be a fairly short and lacking spin-off to the Resident Evil Remake. This is a full blown prequel that is if anything BIGGER than the remake! The introduction of two characters is great fun and the acting is (for once) really very good! The lip-sinc is perfect (as it's not dubbed, it's in English in Japan, just subtitled) and the story is great, explaining quite a lot and leading up to the events in Resident Evil 1. With the oppertunity of a prequel, more could have been explained and the appearance of some of the more mysterious characters of the series would have been nice (though there are a few suprises, I personally would have loved to have seen what Ada Wong of "Resident Evil 2" was doing during this time period). This game is perfect, it moves away from the more "hollywood" orientated road that "Resident Evil: Code Veronica" began to steer down but keeping the horror, action and character development that we've come to respect the series for in total tact. Well done Capcom!
0Comment|119 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
ok well, im making this review 12 years after the game came out but even now this game still holds up. Seriously iv seen 360 games look worse than this, the detail for a game of its age is incredible. Anyway on to the actual game... this game tells the story of how the t virus was created and gives some pretty interesting back story involving albert wesker and william birkin ( im assuming you know who those guys are but if you dont their both pretty much the most important villians in RE) . The character swapping mechanism is cool, both rebecca and billy have their own strengths and weakness' and billy is a really cool character. However the selling point of this game has to be the atmosphere. It's horrific, the lab areas you encounter later in the game were used to research the t virus and its obvious humans were used as test subjects, so you find torture devices covered in "old dried blood" and morges with feet sticking out of body bags. The sound only adds to it, the music in this game is unrelentingly forboding, it gives a constant sense of dread, its easily some of the best music in the series. This is one of the most ' love it or hate it ' games in the series, and i agree it does some time to get going, but once it grips you it will have you till its end. Awesome stuff
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2005
K well what words can I use to sum up resi evil 0..... well, the graphics are fantastic (as with most NGC games) the character switching thing is pretty good and everything looks really realistic. The faults would have to be that some of the camera angles are a bit dodgy as with the way you control the characters it took me a while to get the hang of it (maybe thats just me) I havent finished the game yet though as i keep being eaten by leech zombies and monkeys. :-P
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2003
I just want to say that every Resident Evil fan should buy this game as it is amazing. The story is wicked (and how they came up with it nobody knows) and you can't beat the graphics. It's similar to other resident evil games in the way of great sound to create the atmosphere and great lighting and you even have effects such as when your on top of the train you get rain flying past you and even on the train curtains flap etc. The game will just keep you coming back for more with it's addictive gameplay and graphical brilliance. The only thing people seem to moan about is the control system but you'll get used to it. Even graphical things such as water flowing and fire has been sorted out! I will conclude by saying that I can't wait for Resident Evil 4 to come out!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2004
Having played and finished every Resident Evil game since it's PS1 inception in 1996, I was waiting with great anticipation to get my hands on Gamecube's Resident Evil Zero. Although many modern games often don't live up to their hype, that argument could never be levelled against Capcom's Resident Evil franchise.
Resident Evil Zero is an excellent action / puzzle game that will have you enthralled for hours, especially if you have been following the franchise's storyline since the beginning. Zero attempts to fill in the missing parts that the first Resident Evil game never got round to.
Now we get to see just how the S.T.A.R.S. Bravo Team met their grisly demise at the mansion within the Arcklay Mountains of Racoon City. This plotline unfolds to show us how Rebecca Chambers managed to make it to the mansion - with the help of a military prisoner (Billy).
The graphics are very impressive in this game, and the puzzles are as challenging as always. The cut-scenes are informative and the voice-acting is getting better with each Resident Evil game. The introduction of a player-alternating feature is a nice addition, as it makes you more aware of your positioning - and allows you to get the most out of your weapons and ammo.
Whilst Zero may not be as chilling or scary as other Gamecube versions (Resident Evil, or Resident Evil 3: Nemesis), it is definitely an action-packed thriller that you wouldnt want to miss out on. It complements the other Resident Evil titles well, and is one of the most rewarding games you can play on Gamecube - whether you are a fan of the series or not. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2005
I absolutely love this game. It's got a great fear factor, and keeps you on the edge of your seat. When I was playing it, I kept getting to situations where I was scared to go into the next bit, knowing there would be a huge boss, yet wanting to know what was past that. This game keeps you gripped, with its awesome storyline and brilliant graphics. For all resident evil fans, I really recommend this game.
Its got great features that the old versions never had, such as being able to drop your items and them pick them back up. You also have a partner throughout this game, so you can switch between them and pass items if you're close enough. One of the most annoying bits must be that you don't have one of those 'safety box' things that you have in the playstation resident evils, so theres nowhere to deposit your items. But being able to drop and repick up your items later on makes up for this.
I think this game is great, because it kept me hooked for so long that I actually bothered to go right to the end and complete it. Usually a normal adventure or platform game will get boring or there will be a bit you get stuck on and you give up, but this game keeps you going right to the end, and you often spot items you've missed or rooms you haven't gone to using the map.
In my opinion its an awesome game, and a must for any resident evil/silent hill type fan.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2004
A bad move it could have been to move the Resi series over to the gamecube, in some ways it is still a bit of a dissapointment, but you would be suprised how many people would buy a gamecube just to get this game! With Resi 4 coming ever closer and the release of the fantastic movie sequel, the resi franchise is at it's peak, again. The remake was great and proved what some effort can really do, however 2 and 3:Nemesis were highly dissapointing. Zero is a fresh and terifying new game and reanimates those dead cells that were the ever ageing resi franchise.
The idea of this game is amazing and the plot really grabs your attention, for once the voice acting is not as dead as those zombies! The graphics are truly supreme and makes us wonder why some other games dont just put a bit extra effort in to make their games look as polished as this one does! There are plenty of new ideas here such as the switching between the 2 characters. The controls are what you expect really but that doesnt make a big impact on the overall gaming experience, unlike the zombies this game is not short lived and there are a host of new menacing enemies, alongside some classics. Its so great to once again get a resi game that truly scares us and nestles deep in our minds...unlike some of the more action oriented titles..ahem "Dead Aim". "outbreak" may be the best looking resi game on the ps2 but "zero" has The best resi graphics ever! Truly amazing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2008
Before the infamous "mansion incident" Rebecca Chambers a rookie member of S.T.A.R.S. (Special Tactics And Rescue Services) mooches about on a train trying to locate fugitive Billy Coen eventually the two co-operate and stubmle upon an umbrella research centre filled with the undead. This games takes the player to new depths an exposes some of the never before told secrets of umbrella and Rebecca and Billy are about to discover them.

Resident evil zero introduces some new monsters along with the old monsters such as the zomies and the dogs. It has a new system where you can drop items on the floor anywhere you are, eliminating the old itembox system. Also there is a new partner zapping system which allows the player to switch between Rebecca and Billy as they need to, which along the way comes in very handy for solving some puzzles. The graphics are on the same high quality level as the resident evil remake. It also boasts a fantastic soundtrack.

There were many aspects of this game that I think are awesome. There are only a few things that I wasn't so keen on the first was only having a six item capacity (12 if your paired up with Billy) and the leech monster/ zombie things, I found them highly irritating. However these are minor and for me they don't spoil the game on a vast level. So from me resident evil zero gets a well deserved 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 July 2003
Alright, this one tries to do some things new for the Resident Evil series, and you've got to hand it to them; it’s about time too. The main game play difference is that you control two people for the duration of the game which does take away some of scares which were created before by isolation. You'd think this would make for some more interesting puzzles by using the two characters but unfortunately it consists mainly of sending items between two floors with dumbwaiters.
The background story of the Leeches and Dr Marcus is very confusing, although it does explain how the T-Virus outbreaks were so contained in the other games. However, how come you don't see or even hear of the leeches in later Resi games?
There are some nice revelations to the story; visiting faithfully recreated Resident Evil 2 locations, seeing more of William Birkin and a familiar Resident Evil 1 mutant (although it’s not explained how there are more than one before RE1) and, of course, leaving future Resi games open for Billy's return.
This game won't take you long to complete; it took me less than a day to complete and there aren't any decent replay incentives like in Resi 1 on the Gamecube, but still; its Resi, its still a best-selling series and its got the engrossing plot and characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2003
Resident Evil Zero is the second exclusive RE title for the Nintendo gamecube after RE: Remake, and marks the first true game (although a prequel rather than a sequel) for the series since RE: Code Veronica on Dreamcast/PS2.
The game allows you to control two characters (Rebecca Chambers & Billy Coen) fully for the first time, with a new feature in the games called character zapping which means you can instantly switch between the controlling of the two characters in seconds and give orders like attack or idle.
For those who don't know, Rebecca was a secondary character in the first game and eventually the only survivor of the Bravo team who were sent in first to their deaths when stumbling upon the evil. This game, seven years after the PSONE original reveals what actually happened.
At the start, the bravo team arrive to investigate an incident in the a neighbouring forest of Raccoon City when their helicopter inexplicably malfunctions. An emergency landing is forced with touch down in the forest where the team slit up to investigate the area. Coming across some bodies and documents, they find that a man named Billy Coen, an ex-marine on sentence of death for killing 23 people has escaped. It is up to Rebecca to find him while being stalked by a mysterious figure who seems to be the master of the leeches that infest the game. The first bit of the game takes place on an empty (or is it?) train, before settling into the more familiar surroundings of a mansion, church, training facilities and sewer complex.
Graphics?
The graphics are extremely well done, if a little bland when compared to the slightly more impressive RE:Remake. All the bosses are visually excellent, if not the best yet as are the two characters you control. The backgrounds are still pre-rendered, which you'll either like (great detail) or dislike (no 3D interactivity).
Sound?
For me, the game seemed one of the least musical of the series. Ther are at times, moments of silence which as in Silent Hill 2 can be well utilized at the right times for fear (although not as good as the forementioned rival game), what music that does rear its head can be at times forgettable. The music in the intro FMV before the title screen also doesn't quite keep in keeping with previous brooding scores. Highlights however, is the ending theme once the game is completed (nearly as good as RE2's end piano score) as well as the music that comes before encountering the leach zombies!
Playability?
The game mechanics and controls have remained the same as all the previous titles (which you'll either like or dislike for ints lack of innovation). Whatever your feelings, the controls have been refined and improved as much as they have ever been, and fans of RE will feel right at home. The zapping system is good, but can at times be fiddly when having to jointly solve puzzles or fight the bosses. The computer controlled partner is often better at attacking than you! Arguably this can detract from the fear, but I never noticed it. If anything, practice makes perfect with the system.
Lastability?
Without a guide you'll probably finish it within five days on normal mode. There's also hard mode if you can be bothered (nothing extra is revealed compared to normal, just the challenge). Like all the others before it, completing the game under the classic conditions will lead to extra weapons, clothes and a mini-game.
Overall?
Re:Zero is a classic game, yet there were a couple of times during gameplay that made me question whether it's the best yet and whether the character zapping works? By the end of the game and its climatic finale, I was well and truly won over except on the point of the zapping system which is alright for one game, but with Capcom waiting to use it for RE4 as well let's hope it improves and isn't as frustrating (especially wasting ammo when giving orders!). For anyone who is a fan of the series, this comes highly recommended especially for the character revelations of Rebecca and those 'dog tags' and salute. Is this the best in the series? Re:Remake and especially the undervalued Code Veronica (no.1 in my opinion)is the best!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)