Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one loves this album
Wow. What an album. The stars have given it their best for charity. This is a great compilation. Some of the biggest names of music give us an album that crosses tastes and genres but still every track is great. The highlight is undoubtably muse's version of 'house of the rising sun', in which Matt Belamy stamps his vocal depth and talent all over a classic. The song...
Published on 16 Oct 2002 by Bob geaney

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get it right the Amazon Reviewer
The Huey Lewis & the News mentioned by the reviewer above is a different song to the one by Frankie Goes To Hollywood (its also not the same song as the Jennifer Rush one).
But this being full of covers is something which appeals to me/
Should also point out that the Oasis version of the Slade hit has been misprinted on the CD Oasis Does The Beatles as Happy...
Published on 1 July 2011 by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one loves this album, 16 Oct 2002
By 
Bob geaney (Hull, Engalnd) - See all my reviews
This review is from: NME In Association With War Child Presents 1 Love (Audio CD)
Wow. What an album. The stars have given it their best for charity. This is a great compilation. Some of the biggest names of music give us an album that crosses tastes and genres but still every track is great. The highlight is undoubtably muse's version of 'house of the rising sun', in which Matt Belamy stamps his vocal depth and talent all over a classic. The song grows and grows and is surely a sign that muse still have there best to come.
The track list is great through out. With songs you thought you hated such as the soppy 'back for good' being transformed, Mcalmont and Butler change it into an indie gem of a track.
The most positive feature of this album is that all the bands are able to stamp there own paticalur style and sound over there songs. Each band has brought somthing new to each song and avoided just going through the motions of covering a song. Even pop acts such as Darius and the Sugar Babes manage to prove they are able to use artistic liecence in creating there songs. Things that you thought would never work such as Kelly jones and the sterophonics doing 'nothing compares to you' turn out to be a brillant mix of great song writing and masterful performance.
The one real let down was the Oasis version of 'Merry Xmas everyone'. I made the mistake of sitting down and anticipaing the shout of 'its CHRISTMAS' in Liams usuall 'suttle' voice, yet it was an anticliamx to only get an acoustic Noel sang version. Still once you judged it on merit it was a well executed effort.
This album will be a talked about classic for yeasr to come. Yes we should all buy it because its a charity album, but this one is so good. A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completely fantastic, 17 Oct 2002
This review is from: NME In Association With War Child Presents 1 Love (Audio CD)
There aren't enough stars in the cosmos to describe this album, and there is no way i can truly reflect the quality of the music enclosed therein. Quite simply it features some of the best modern day bands and groups covering some of the best (and somethimes most unlikely) hits of all time.
Although there isn't a poor track here, i seriously recommend Stereophonics 'Nothing Compares 2 You'- his voice was good for Handbags, but it is awsome here. Oasis performing 'Merry Xmas Everybody' is a sheer novelty, whereas Badly Drawn Boy & Jools Hollands rendition of Come On Eileen just goes to show how good modern covers can be.
Great music supporting a great charity- it's a must to buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 24 Mar 2004
By 
Robbie Swale - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: NME In Association With War Child Presents 1 Love (Audio CD)
I don’t usually buy compilations, but in this case, I couldn’t resist. With proceeds going to the War Child charity, a collection of modern bands and artists have chosen their favourite number one singles, and recorded cover versions. It’s not life-changing, but it’s good fun!
Obviously it helps if you know both the original tracks and the artists covering, but even if you don’t, what you have here is a collection of classic tracks recorded by accomplished artists (and Darius Danesh).
It is hard to pick out highlights, but for me, three stand out. A measure of the success of a cover version is different depending on who you are. If you are a part of a modern record company marketing pop-music, it seems that closest-to-original is best, but for me, the most interesting are those which provide the biggest artist-song contrast of genre and musical type. The three that follow do this with most exciting effect. Firstly, Muse’s superbly loud version of The Animal’s House Of The Rising Sun. It sounds like it should be a Muse track, and a very good Muse track at that, something that, traditionally, it certainly doesn’t sound like. The second of my highlights is Elbow playing Thunderclap Newman’s Something In The Air. I think, more than anything, what is intriguing is seeing such a boisterous track becoming so ‘Low-Fi’. It does, and the results, are… well… interesting. Finally, Jimmy Eat World’s Firestarter (The Prodigy) springs to mind. A classic dance track being given a tune and some soul by the Ska-Punk band.
There are contributions from Oasis, Stereophonics, Manic Street Preechers and Badly Drawn Boy, (among others,) and there’s something everyone will recognise.
All that, and for a good cause!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best..........some of the worst, 29 Mar 2004
By 
BigDog (Doncaster, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: NME In Association With War Child Presents 1 Love (Audio CD)
I think I got this a Christmas present which wasn't listened to for months and managed to find it's way into my car CD changer through boredom. Did I ever regret not listening to it sooner, I'm not normally a fan of covers but this album has some fantastic tracks with a good mix of styles and energy levels.
On one end of the scale the stereophonics version of the great “nothing compares 2 u” is just amazing, the rough edge on Kelly Jones voice adds a level of emotion I just wouldn’t have expected, at the other end Muse belt out a superb rendition of “house of the rising sun”.
In between there are some great performances from the Manic’s, Feeder and Faithless (feat Dido), but there are two little diamonds:
Badly Drawn Boy and Jools Holland with “Come on Eileen” which you just can’t help singing along to with a big smile on your face, plus come Christmas when everyone is expecting you roll out the usual tired favorites, stick on Oasis’s version of “merry christmas everybody”, I can just picture the scowl on noel’s face as he sings it…..
And the bad side, do yourself a favour and don’t listen to the last three tracks….you’ve been warned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a listen, 16 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: NME In Association With War Child Presents 1 Love (Audio CD)
Although an album of cover versions may not appeal to many music buyers, I can strongly recommend this album. It combines the cream of current talent with a collection of fantastic number one's from the last fifty years. The haunting quality of Kelly Jones singing 'Nothing Compares 2 U' and the enthusiastic version of 'Out of Time' by the Manic Street Preachers defines an album of suberb quality, both by performance and by material. I should not rave about this album so early on from it's release, but to date I have had nothing but enjoyment from listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indie! Class!, 21 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: NME In Association With War Child Presents 1 Love (Audio CD)
A brilliant Cd with artists covering past Number 1's and some better than the originals. A brilliant mix of songs only let down by 3 pretty average songs. Highlights are Stereophonics cover of Nothing Compares To You, and Starsailors, All Or Nothing. Only average songs are the cover of Back For Good and Daruis's cover of Pretty Flamingo which seems somewhat out of place.
This CD also contains a piece of pure genius, Jimmy Eat World's cover of the 1996 Number 1 Firestarter by Prodigy (who also feature on here), its a complete contrast to the original and in my opinion much better, transformed into a mellow Indie track it works brilliant.
A must CD for serious Indie fans and anyone who likes good cover songs, which are all brilliantly presented on this. All for Charity too, Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic songs - Great interpretations, 21 Oct 2002
By 
N. Dodd (Beaconsfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NME In Association With War Child Presents 1 Love (Audio CD)
Having seen the track listing for this CD, along with the artists covering the songs, I was intrigued enough to purchase it - the fact that the proceeds go to "charideee mate" was the clincher.
I've not been disappointed. In most cases, rather than just covering the song, attempts have been made to do something a little different.
In a few cases, the song has been somewhat "slimmed down" from the original. The Power of Love by Feeder is much less flamboyant than the Frankie Goes to Hollywood version - but it makes interesting listening. I would certainly disagree with Amazon's reviewer's interpretation of it being a "Disaster".
Nothing Compares to You with just Kelly Jones of Stereophonics and an acoustic guitar is definitely worth a listen, and Come on Eileen with Jules Holland on the piano is just plain superb.
If you enjoy cover versions, you'll find some great one's here, and if you don't - open your mind and give these a try. It's for a good cause, after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1Love- 1Life, 24 Oct 2002
This review is from: NME In Association With War Child Presents 1 Love (Audio CD)
The only reason this gets 4/5 is because some tracks are plain PAINFUL (Back For Good, McAlmont & Butler- the pain...) and even more so if you liked the original (not a Take That fan myself, but even i know they murdered it...).
In the main, the album stands firm as a solid album of great bands covering some great previous number ones. Some are surprising (Jimmy Eat World's cover of Firestarter is thought provoking, if nothing else), some highly original (Muse's take on House of the Rising Sun is very Muse, but not anything like the original), and some just plain good (Feeder's cover of Frankie goes to Hollywood's The Power of Love is quite haunting, given the charitable cause and loss of their drummer).
And the reasoning behind the album is fantastic too. It's the 50th anniversary of both NME and the first Number One- what better way to celebrate than get some of the great musicians of today to cover their own favourite number ones? Plus, the album raises money for Warchild- a great charity that aids the children of war-torn countries.
This album appeals to all music fans (as it ranges from Sugababes to the Prodigy to the Manic Street Preachers), celebrates a landmark in time (50 years of number ones is approximately 2600 of them in total... scary huh?) and even raises money for charity in doing so. What more do you want? An exclusive track? Oh wait, they all are...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth purchasing, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NME In Association With War Child Presents 1 Love (Audio CD)
Bought this as I have all the other Warchild ones (good cause) and I'm a sucker for covers compilations. It's good, with quirky versions of things like Thunderclap Newman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Indie tracks great, others are a let down, 30 Oct 2002
This review is from: NME In Association With War Child Presents 1 Love (Audio CD)
I bought this cd because i like to hear cover songs, and it had them done by my favourite groups such as the stereophonics, oasis and McAlmont and Butler. The highlights are 'nothing compares 2 u' sung beautifully by kelly jones, an outragous version of 'house of the rising sun' by muse, a great little sing-a-long of 'merry xmas everyone' by noel gallagher and a brilliant climax where 'back for good' is truely reborn.
What let's this album down, from my point if view, is the re-mixed version of dreams ,which is much lower quality than the aformentioned tracks, and the efforts by ms dynamite and the sugar babes, which would be fine songs in thier own right but feel out of place here.
This is a must for any catalogue collector of the likes of oasis or the stereophonics et. but as expected on a compilation of this kind, you can't play it all the way through and enjoy all the tracks equally, unless you're not into music that much anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NME In Association With War Child Presents 1 Love
NME In Association With War Child Presents 1 Love by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews