Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Undeservedly Overlooked Album!
Why isn't this album all over BBC Radio2 and similar AOR stations?
This is a superbly gentle and subtle album (aha! Perhaps there's our reason!!), that offers so much more than the single, Can't Stop Loving You - which is one of the lesser tracks on the album IMHO.
OK, it's probably best not to take the lyrics seriously - but it's really the tunes that Phil...
Published on 19 July 2003 by timgrice

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars looking at the reviews already - time to even the score
I have tried, tried and tried again to like this album. Like John Starling who also expresses a similar sentiment, I have almost every track Phil has done, not all brilliant I grant you but on the main even the weakest you can listen to, and find a grudging like of them...but not this album, save for 1 track -"Cant stop loving you" maybe the connection is Phil didn't...
Published on 24 Oct 2003 by David Sayers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Undeservedly Overlooked Album!, 19 July 2003
This review is from: Testify [Uk Version] (Audio CD)
Why isn't this album all over BBC Radio2 and similar AOR stations?
This is a superbly gentle and subtle album (aha! Perhaps there's our reason!!), that offers so much more than the single, Can't Stop Loving You - which is one of the lesser tracks on the album IMHO.
OK, it's probably best not to take the lyrics seriously - but it's really the tunes that Phil Collins has always excelled at, and he does so again here.
I was so prepared to dismiss this album, thinking it would continue the downward spiral since But Seriously - but seriously(!) this album reverses the decline and if only we hadn't of had the intervening decade, perhaps this album would be in it's rightful place, high in the charts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Come Back At It's Best!, 5 Nov 2002
By 
This review is from: Testify [Uk Version] (Audio CD)
Phil Collins, as some of you may think, is and forever will be long gone. This, however, isn't true. With Phil's latest album "Testify", he shows his passion and ability to write songs at their best, and with the inspiration from his son and wife, I think that he's reached his goal. The instuments and vocal texture really do add to the mood of the album and it's songs, which is something that, in my opinion, is another great addition to this truly brilliant creation.
The lyrical front of all the songs on the album cease to amaze me really, as Collins has written with meaning and hasn't just strung together a list of words that rhyme. This is by far a good album, and both long-time Phil Collins fans and new ones alike, will enjoy "Testify" forever. It's truly a hit, and from what I've heard of it, is highly reccomended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazingly inspiring, ethical and soundful, 2 May 2003
By 
jason (lebanon (Asia)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Testify [Uk Version] (Audio CD)
A man should always speak the truth... that's what i learned from the songs of PhilCollins since i first knew him in late 1998. i was never in fond of western music (i am from the east) and can say he was the first man to make me be in love with it.
Testify is absoluetly an outstanding record. maybe he has better songs like "ANOTHERDAY IN PARADISE" But there are songs of his greatest like the inspiring songs "Come with me" "Wake up call" "Can't stop loving u" And if i am gonna keep u'll find that i have written all twelve tracks... that's why i say that philcollins's songs are not songs for one to hear or vote for, but they are songs for everyone to live with so u can't say but he's an outstanding lovely musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Testify, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Testify [Uk Version] (Audio CD)
I don't get the hate for this album. For me it's much better than Face Value and also better than NJR and But Seriously. For me it's a more solid and stronger album. There are some good songs on here such as Can't Stop Loving You, This Love This Heart, Come With Me and The Least You Can Do. Also Testify is a good song. It didn't chart as well as his other albums and got low ratings by many but for me I think it's his third best album.

Some albums by Phil Collins consist of a mix of okay songs and good songs. Albums such as Face Value, No Jacket Required and But Seriously as well as Dance Into The Light contain about half okay and half good. For example, okay songs on Face Value would be In The Air Tonight, This Must Be Love, Behind The Lines, Droned, If Leaving Me Is Easy, The Roof Is Leaking, I Missed Again and I'm Not Moving. All those I like, but they're just okay. The ones that are actually really good songs would be Hand In Hand, You Know What I Mean and Thunder and Lightning. Tomorrow Never Knows is terrible. Worst song by Phil Collins. So Face Value is some okay some good and one terrible. NJR and But Seriously are like Face Value, about half okay and about half good. Dance Into The Light is an improvement with better tracks than those three and Testify, IMO, is also a stronger and more solid album. Whereas on those three 80s albums some songs are okay and some good there are more good songs on this album. The singing is more solid and more confident. I think with Phil Collins' seven studio albums from 1981 to 2002 they can split into two groups. The first group would be the weaker albums which are filled with mostly okay songs and a few good ones. Albums such as Face Value, No Jacket Required, Dance Into The Light and But Seriously. The second group would be his better stronger albums such as Testify, Hello, I Must Be Going! and Both Sides. IMO, this is a good album and much better than those four weaker albums.

1. Wake Up Call 4/5
2. Come With Me 4/5
3. Testify 5/5
4. Don't Get Me Started 4/5
5. Swing Low 4/5
6. It's Not Too Late 4/5
7. This Love This Heart 4/5
8. Driving Me Crazy 4/5
9. The Least You Can Do 4/5
10. Can't Stop Loving You 5/5
11. Thru My Eyes 3/5
12. You Touch My Heart 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one of his best., 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Testify [Uk Version] (Audio CD)
cant belive the neg reviews on here, its a crackin little album, and for 10 years old it still very fresh,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Phil Collins. Testify, 22 Jan 2013
As a returning Phil Collins fan I bought this album as I'd not heard it before and wanted to listen to something new that he had done. I'm glad I did as it has a nice mellow laid back feel to the album. Definitely worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb album!, 17 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Testify [Uk Version] (Audio CD)
This album is my favourite of Phil Collins with some really lovely tracks on it. It is easy to listen to and I feel that his fantastic voice really shines through on it. A really nice album to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars looking at the reviews already - time to even the score, 24 Oct 2003
This review is from: Testify [Uk Version] (Audio CD)
I have tried, tried and tried again to like this album. Like John Starling who also expresses a similar sentiment, I have almost every track Phil has done, not all brilliant I grant you but on the main even the weakest you can listen to, and find a grudging like of them...but not this album, save for 1 track -"Cant stop loving you" maybe the connection is Phil didn't write it!!
It has been written many times that the source of some of Phil's greatest songs, has been the trauma of past relationships and world events, well maybe his recent marriage, baby and a clearly settled life has done for his ability to write great songs - because I defy you to find much to cheer about in this latest offering. But like many of you who share these thoughts we will buy the next album, because we want to believe this is a minor blip in an otherwise solid track record if you pardon the unintended pun!!
Come on Phil - you write some upbeat stuff for Mr Disney and Co what about finding some renewed inspiration for your own material. If not may I suggest a sponsor for the next solo tour - "Horlicks"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music at last, 16 Dec 2003
This review is from: Testify [Uk Version] (Audio CD)
finally here comes the only one who still beleives there is music in the world...
listen to Testify and u'll know what i mean...
Each song is special and u wont get bored for every song is different from the other.... this is phil at his best...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars for the music, 0 for the copy protection, 7 Feb 2003
By 
Richard Laven (Dumfries Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Testify [Uk Version] (Audio CD)
As the sales show this album has not exactly caught on fire with the UK public, and as by far the best track has been released as the first single it's unlikely it's going to. The album as a whole is okay but uninspiring. The copy protection is extremely annoying, particularly as all the tracks are available on the internet already, but thanks to Amazon for pointing out the copy protection on this site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Testify [Uk Version]
Testify [Uk Version] by Phil Collins (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews