Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gamma feat Ronnie Montrose - a classic
Ronnie Montrose already had one classic rock album to his name (1973 Montrose - Montrose) when he started Gamma in 1979. Within two tries he did it again. Gamma 2 is no doubt one of the best rock releases of the eighties. Released in 1980, it took the competition years more to integrate heavy rock and synthesizers in a believable way. Absolute favourite track is...
Published on 29 May 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a few good tracks but not as good as gamma 3
People rave about this album and yes there are 2 or 3 cracking tracks but I am of the opinion that the follow up Gamma 3 album is by far the superior album. Hey ho, no accounting for taste. Does anyone else agree with me???
Published 12 months ago by T. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gamma feat Ronnie Montrose - a classic, 29 May 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Gamma 2 (Audio CD)
Ronnie Montrose already had one classic rock album to his name (1973 Montrose - Montrose) when he started Gamma in 1979. Within two tries he did it again. Gamma 2 is no doubt one of the best rock releases of the eighties. Released in 1980, it took the competition years more to integrate heavy rock and synthesizers in a believable way. Absolute favourite track is "Voyager", a bluesy track in which Montrose lets rip like nobody else can. Davey Pattison on vocals is in stunning form throughout and newcomer Danny Carmassi adds a heavy, almost Cozy Powel like beat. Carmassi is probably also the reason why Gamma 2 sounds so much heavier and more mature than Gamma 1. I just bought all three albums here on Amazon and it's like seeing an old friend again after years and years. Sound quality is excellent, packaging is basic but fine. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Montrose back to his best !, 30 Jan 2008
By 
Fergal Woods "Axe Victim" (Leitrim, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamma 2 (Audio CD)
This is Ronnie Montrose's best album since 1974's "Paper Money". The first 4 tracks are unrelenting in brilliance with the Scot Davey Pattison in powerful form on vocals.There is a bite and intensity to the vocals that Hagar didn't possess.The balance between guitar and keyboards is better than on any other Gamma release, and as a fellow reviewer mentioned "Voyager",with it's pulsing guitar licks, is a magnificent rock anthem.The solo is Ronnie at his best,typically starting low down on the neck and gradually building in excitement as he gets higher up the fretboard.
Tracks 5-8 (the old side 2)are not quite up to the same standard. There is the almost obligatory cover "Something in the air" where Pattison takes the honours. Next couple are fairly routine metal numbers with synths giving a nice twist, and Mayday sees Ronnie rockin' out in fine style, with vocoder also prominent at the finish.
For a long time this album was hard to get, and the "Best of" had to do as the only alternative. I would recommend this album ahead of the compilation, and don't think you'll be disappointed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece remastered at last, 13 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamma 2 (Audio CD)
1980 was a landmark year for rock in this country - it was the NWOBHM dawn - Iron Maiden's debut, Saxon's Wheels of Steel, Def Leppard's disappointing On Through the Night, Priest's British Steel and Aussies AC/DC with Back in Black. But under the radar crept an Amercan band with their second album. It was Gamma with Gamma 2 - I bought it on the strength of hearing " Something In The Air" played on Tommy Vance's Friday Night Rock Show. I still have the album ( and Gamma 3) and it is still one of my favourites. Why? The vinyl version is one of the best produced albums ever - the sound is crystal clear and Denny Carmassi's drums are the best drum sound you will hear. So how does this long - awaited remastered CD version compare? Well there's suddenly tons of bass which was obviously bounced down on the vinyl mix and the vocals are higher up in the mix.Carmassi's cymbals have been lost a bit and the drum sound has been smoothed off too. But what the heck - it's still a great album for air guitarists and drummers. " The Four Horsemen" always got into the rock top 20 most liked readers' polls in 1980. But my favourite track will always be " Voyager" - a minor single hit in US; it has a swooping monolithic guitar solo, demonstrating how technically brilliant Montrose was, and the drumming is, in my opinion, the Number 1 drum track of all time.If you have not heard this album, then you should take the plunge and buy it; if you don't the sharks on the cover will get you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The collection expands, 16 Aug 2009
By 
J. Dyson "Musico" (Middle England ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gamma 2 (Audio CD)
The second masterpiece... a delight for all 'intelligent rock ' fans
Add it to the collection NOW. A really goodie, and Worth every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a few good tracks but not as good as gamma 3, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamma 2 (Audio CD)
People rave about this album and yes there are 2 or 3 cracking tracks but I am of the opinion that the follow up Gamma 3 album is by far the superior album. Hey ho, no accounting for taste. Does anyone else agree with me???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gamma 2, 19 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. G. Ross "Glenn" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamma 2 (Audio CD)
Love Ronny Montrose so this album was a must. I would like to see more of his early stuff being released
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ronnie Montrose, 13 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gamma 2 (MP3 Download)
Truly excellent Rock album with some of the best features of 80's rock with still a significant influence from the previous decade. I hadn't heard this album for many years - Was it as good as I remembered it to be? Most Certainly yes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An 80's rock album that should be compulsory!, 21 Mar 2009
By 
R. Lewis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gamma 2 (Audio CD)
And let's face it decent 80's rock albums are hard to find. This little known gem is a 'builder', side one has great tracks like 'dirty city' and 'voyager' but side two is where it comes into it's own. 'Cat on a leash' and 'Skin and bone' really hit the spot, but 'Mayday' is a Ronnie Montrose classic: the guitar work is astonishing and (at a suitably loud volume) leaves you lying in the corner of the room in a crumpled heap, wondering how you got there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gamma 2
Gamma 2 by Gamma (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews