Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good
I bought this yesterday from my local record shop,
I'm surprised no one has yet reviewed this, as it's one of the Stones' better out-takes and rarities collections.
To start with, more or less every track on the album is good. There isn't much filler either, I'm not too keen on "Family" or Sleepy City", but other than that it's a damn fine collection. The best...
Published on 12 Oct 2003 by J. T. Hooker

versus
54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Curate's Egg
Curiosity value wins this unapproved collection its third star by the skin of its teeth.
The Stones' contract with Decca Records ended on 31 July 1970 and they formed their own label, Rolling Stones Records, for new product beginning with Brown Sugar and the Sticky Fingers album. Their former label unsurprisingly continued to release what they had in the vaults, both...
Published on 20 Jan 2005 by Lozarithm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Curate's Egg, 20 Jan 2005
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Metamorphosis (Audio CD)
Curiosity value wins this unapproved collection its third star by the skin of its teeth.
The Stones' contract with Decca Records ended on 31 July 1970 and they formed their own label, Rolling Stones Records, for new product beginning with Brown Sugar and the Sticky Fingers album. Their former label unsurprisingly continued to release what they had in the vaults, both previously released and otherwise, beginning with the compilation Stone Age, timed to coincide with the release of Sticky Fingers, and then with others such as Gimme Shelter, Hot Rocks 1964-1971, Milestones, Rock'n'Rolling Stones, More Hot Rocks (Big Hits And Fazed Cookies), and, aptly, No Stone Unturned.
Metamorphosis followed in 1975 with poetical sleeve notes by Andrew Oldham promising "songs and stars to take you back/Some old some new, some gone, some due..." and offering thanks to "Jimmy Page, John McLaughlin, Phil Spector, Jack Nitzsche, Gene Pitney, John Paul Jones, Joe Morrett, Art Greenslade, Messrs Leander and Whittaker, Tony Hicks, Graham Nash, Dave Hassinger, Glyn Johns, Jimmy Miller, and all those we remember had it on the rocks, but forgot the rock they got off on."
There was little clue as to the provenance of what was on offer except that they all dated from their Decca period (London label in America). To tie in with the release, one track had been released as a single, I Don't Know Why, a stirring cover of a relatively obscure Stevie Wonder single from 1969 which had been flipped in favour of the more popular My Cherie Amour. It may be apocryphal that the Stones' rendition was being recorded on exactly 3 July 1969 when a phone call interrupted the session with the news of Brian Jones' death by drowning. He had quit the band less than a month earlier, and Mick Taylor had taken his place in the band.á
The B-side was an unknown Jagger/Richards song called Try A Little Harder, which they had recorded as a publisher's demo on 13 February 1964 at Regent Sound, with session musicians replacing the rest of the Stones. Mick and Keith did a lot of these in the sixties, in a bid to establish themselves as songwriters in their own right, much as Lennon/McCartney had, by offering unrecorded new songs to other acts.
Of the first 9 songs on Metamorphosis, 7 seem to be more publisher's demos created by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, probably recorded with Arthur Greenslade, Mike Leander and David Whittaker, between 1964 and 1966, with a couple of the Hollies adding back-up vocals.
The first of these is Out Of Time, with the arrangement as used by Chris Farlowe on the released version, which of course was a huge hit for him in 1966. The version here, recorded from 27 April 1966, was also extracted as a single in September 1975. It flopped here and reached no. 45 in the States. Sleepy City (September 1964) was recorded by the Mighty Avengers; We're Wasting Time (September 1964) by Jimmy Tarbuck; Each And Every Day Of The Year (September 1964) for The Thee; Some Things Just Stick In Your Mind (February 1964) for Dick and Deedee and later recorded by Vashti; I'd Much Rather Be With The Boys (February 1965) for the Toggery Five.á
The two exceptions are a Rolling Stones cover of Chuck Berry's Don't Lie To Me (the composer credits are wrong), recorded 12 May 1964 with Ian Stewart on piano, the same day they recorded Congratulations; and a version of Heart Of Stone that is quite a lot sweeter and more poppy than the original American single included on Out Of Our Heads, and has pedal steel guitar and chorus. The basic track for this was recorded 21-23 July 1964 with Mick Jagger being the only Stone involved, suggesting that this Jagger/Richards song was originally intended for someone else.
The final six selections all sound like Rolling Stones outtakes, probably from sessions for the later Decca albums Between The Buttons, Beggar's Banquet and Let It Bleed. Collector's of hen's teeth should note that Downtown Suzie is an almost unique Stones-period Bill Wyman composition.
Memo From Turner was released as a single in a different version from the film Performance credited to Mick Jagger, and featured Ry Cooder's bottleneck guitar, so it is fascinating to hear this slightly later version by the Stones, recorded 17 November 1968, although it is inferior. Finally, the last track, I'm Going Down, has what sounds like Bobby Keyes on saxophone, and may date from early Sticky Fingers sessions in 1970 as it would not sound out of place on that album. A curate's egg of an album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 12 Oct 2003
By 
J. T. Hooker (Albion) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metamorphosis (Audio CD)
I bought this yesterday from my local record shop,
I'm surprised no one has yet reviewed this, as it's one of the Stones' better out-takes and rarities collections.
To start with, more or less every track on the album is good. There isn't much filler either, I'm not too keen on "Family" or Sleepy City", but other than that it's a damn fine collection. The best offers on METAMORPHOSIS are the obvious classics, which include "Heart Of Stone" and "Out Of Time". Interestingly, some of the Stones' greatest work was infact rare & unreleased material and of course the underrated stuff. This is evident in the case of THEIR SATANIC MAJESTIES REQUEST, the 1967 album which, although hailed as a commercial failure contained some of their best work for years.
Delving deeper into the album, you find the little gems which can't be found elsewhere. This is rare in the Stones' back catalogue as most of their material is released on several albums. Gems here include "Jiving Sister Fanny", "Don't Lie To Me" and my favourite of their 60's work, "Some Things Just Stick In Your Mind".
METAMOPHOSIS may be a mixed bag to some, but there's no denying the quality (and indeed quantity) of the work within. Casual Stones fans may not bother, afterall it contains no outstanding pieces, and certainly no chart-toppers... but for the true fans out there, METAMORPHOSIS is a true diamond.
The Stones at their best? No, of course not, but it's a damn fine attempt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 6 Aug 2009
By 
Zinc Alloy (Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Metamorphosis (Audio CD)
I'm not the Stones biggest fan. I like them but they wouldn't break into my top 10.
But this album is something else. There is something of the night about it. I can do without Out Of Time and Heart Of Stone but every other track is spot on. The fact these are outakes is good, not overproduced.
I had this as a 13 year old and hadn't heard it for about 25 years until I recently bought it and beautiful is the only way I can describe it.
I have a few of the Stones classic albums but this knocks spots off them all.
Buy it. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a compilation, 29 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metamorphosis (Audio CD)
I bought this on vinyl whilst in the US in the 70's, Out of time about says it all I thoroughly enjoyed the album ,but they were still experimenting at that stage. Final word it's a Marmite Album some like t others not, but if you're a Stones fan a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guitar playing Insects, 30 May 2013
This review is from: Metamorphosis (Audio CD)
That believe it or not was the description of the Beatles by some critic but this album of songs is probaby the only worthwhile one put out by Decca when they were just cashing in because the Stones were now on their own label
I certainly preferred it to the weird stuff they were getting into with albums like Black & Blue and nothing songs like Fingerprint File
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Stones fans, 3 Mar 2013
This review is from: Metamorphosis (Audio CD)
This album is well worth a listen Sleepy City Wasting Time are great songs inocent gems from the boys who could produce evil songs about sex drugs and rock and roll . Sleepy City reminds me of a girl I loved years ago and think about her everytime I hear it. Get It and enjoy a gem of a album .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars for fans, 3 Oct 2012
By 
Marton Thomka (Buda÷rs, Hungary) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metamorphosis (Audio CD)
These are mostly outtakes, this is not their best collection of course but good fro fans and collectors. The sound of this cd is absolutely perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars metamorphosis...the rolling stones, 2 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metamorphosis (Audio CD)
a blast from back when "albums" got realeased in territories, not world wide.
this fine effort was widely available in australia etc but not here..making it collectable.
with the release of this cd, you get more for your cash!
sacd sound quality, a gatefold digi pack case & wonderful artwork.
made back when an album was full of quality, it finally sounds excellent too!
thewizardfromaus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than you might think!, 25 Aug 2010
By 
I. Stuart "CambsMusicLover" (Cambridge,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Metamorphosis (Audio CD)
This album was released as a cash in by Decca after the Stones left the label , and is made up of outakes and demos. I remember buying quite cheaply at the time as a major Stones fan who had to have everything.
I was not expecting much - but was pleasantly surprised!.
To be honest I am not terribly keen on the first half/side which are largely publishers demos from the time Andrew Oldham was trying to position Mick and Keith as songwriters to rival Lennon/McCartney. Its largely songs that they would never have recorded themselves and in fact Stones involvement in some tracks is minimal.
But Side 2!. A real mix of finished material and demos from the Let it Bleed sessions. Some obviously feature Mick Taylors guitar - some Bill Wymans vocals!!. And its just great , especially the alternative Memo from Turner featuring I think Steve Winwood and Going Down , one of my all time favourite unrealeased Stones songs. Why they didnt finish this track I'll never know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metamorphosis (Audio CD)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metamorphosis
Metamorphosis by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews