Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Era
'Get your Ya Ya's Out' is one of the finest documents of a band at the top of its game ever recorded. Following the death of Brian Jones, and his replacement by Mick Taylor, the US tour that this comes from marked the beginning of a new era for the Stones, during which they created their best music. The appearance of Mick Taylor in the band gave it a whole new direction...
Published on 21 Mar. 2011 by Keith Spillett

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The original album is still excellent. I dont think the extra tracks are special ...
The original album is still excellent. I dont think the extra tracks are special
hence the omission from first release & the warm album is'nt the greatest
performance from these artists.
As for the delivery by all your music, one word appalling.
Published 4 months ago by kim billings


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gaa til den, 10 Dec. 2009
By 
Karsten Maehle (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is absolutely one of the greatest rock live albums. Stones in the prime of their time, I can't add much to what other reviewers already haven't said.

I can however bring a Danish angle to it, which I have not found in any of the other reviews.

Just before a fantastic version of Midnight Rambler start (at 00:18 on my CD)
you hear at danish girl with at Jutland accent scream 'gaa til den' which translated means 'go for it' or 'do it right' or something like that.

I played this to many people and all the Danish speaking people could hear it and anybody else could not make any sense of it - so I guess it right:

A girl from Jutland in Denmark was present in the Big Apple in 1969 and cheered for Stones to do their best !

Anybody out there has an other interpretation ?

This is very serious stuff ;@)

If you don't have this and like the Stones BUY IT or the 40th Anniversary version.

KEEP ON ROCKIN' IN THE FREE WORLD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best live album by the Rolling Stones!, 7 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Get yer ya-ya's out! (Audio CD)
Track Listings:
1. Jumpin' Jack Flash 6. Sympathy for the devil
2. Carol 7. Live with me
3. Stray cat blues 8. Little Queenie
4. Love in vain 9. Honky tonk women
5. Midnight rambler 10. Street fighting man
This CD is the Rolling Stones in concert in 1969 at the end of their first proper tour for nearly three years, and these live versions are generally better than their studio counterparts. Mick Taylor, who plays some beautiful blues licks, has replaced Brian Jones on guitar; Keith Richards also plays some brilliant solos, especially on the two Chuck Berry songs. Mick Jagger sings, as opposed to the "shouting" on some later live albums. Charlie and Bill are, of course, irreplaceable. This album is one of the best live albums around, along with The Who's "Live At Leeds" and Deep Purple's "Made In Japan".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ya-Ya it's good, 3 Jan. 2010
Really great re-mastered CD ... the original was good if you are a stones' fan (or not) but on this you can hear every instrument with clarity. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my fave stones album, 16 April 2010
By 
W. Driebergen "music collector" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has always been my favourite stones album, live, messy and very bluesy! This special edition is a very nice boxset. Great for the collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play very loud, 25 April 2006
By 
freewheeling frankie (north London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I've always loved this album but this remastered edition just blew me away. It's the Stones' best live album by several light years, both because of the songs they play and because as a live band they were at their absolute peak, with the newly recruited Mick Taylor firing on all cylinders and Keith ... well, Keith does what Keith does, arguably better than on any other Stones record - check the solos on Little Queenie for starters. The real revelation of this remastered version, though, was Bill Wyman, whose bass playing is far more creative than you'd think from his reputation as the boring quiet one. He simultaneously locks in with Charlie Watts to provide rock solid rhythm while playing some fascinating and at times quite leftfield variations on what you'd expect him to be doing at any given point. Did I fail to mention Mick Jagger? Well he's on pretty damn fine form too.

The selections from the then new Let It Bleed (Love In Vain, Midnight Rambler, Live With Me) equal or improve on the studio versions, the two Chuck Berry covers are an easy excuse for Keith to do what he does best, the opening Jumping Jack Flash is superb ... really, the only bum note is the (to put it mildly) politically incorrect lyrics to Stray Cat Blues, wherein Jagger reduces the female protagonist's age (15 in the studio version) to 13. I don't imagine for one moment that he'd write a lyric like that now, but it is a bit cringeworthy. Maybe it was about Bill Wyman ...

This superb album is a worthy member of the sequence of great Stones albums running from Beggars Banquet to Exile On Main Street and is as good as any of them. In fact it's one of the greatest rock albums ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant performance, 8 Jan. 2010
By 
Alwyn Pickard "boris" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Forgotten how good the Stones are live.Terrific guitar work.
Bit pricey though but I suppose if you like something enough you'll pay whats asked
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charlies good tonite, inne?, 6 Mar. 2003
Before the Stones became showmen and when the music was still of great social significance, this is one of the greatest live albums ever. if you've ever seen the movie GIMME SHELTER and loved this wonderfully raw and dangerous Stones period then this is the album to get as it comes from the same tour which climaxed at Altamont with the tragic murder of someone in the crowd. Keef plays a savage buzzsaw rhythm whilst Mick Taylor plays lick after lick of classic rock guitar play. Street Fighting Man actually is my favourite on the album and for me is far better amped up and rearranged than the predominantly acoustic version on BEGGARS BANQUET. this CD is not to be missed. dont be put off by LOVE YOU LIFE or STILL LIFE, this is rock music and the Stones at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally the album as it was Originally Conceived!, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the last 'original' album delivered to Decca by the Stones and they might have stayed if the Decca executives had allowed this to be a double vinyl with BB King and Ike and Tina as the Stones wanted. The BB and Ike and Tina tracks are first rate and the original Stones set has been remastered to run without the break which was on my older CD version which reflected Side 1 and 2 of the vinyl set. Pity they can't make records like this anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More please, 17 Oct. 2011
By 
Thorsten Holm - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this compilation and the chance to hear performances by B.B King an Ike & Tina Turner, but the most entertaining part is the DVD, where you can watch the Stones in full action, doin' some classic numbers. I don't rate it a five star 'cause you don't get the whole concert, but put it together with the Gimme Shelter movie and you get a couple of true highlights from the 1969 American Tour.A highly recommended item for all hardcore Stones fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get your rocks off!, 14 Mar. 2007
By 
Rico S (Aberdeen,Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 'Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out!': The Rolling Stones In Concert (Audio CD)
What to say?Recorded during the bands 1969 tour of the US after three years away from playing live , this is the moment the Stones jumped from being a pop/blues band to an all out Rock band. New boy, Mick Taylor is on fire and as a result Keef ups his game to the best he has ever been.The rest of the band keep the pace to produce a fantastic document of this era.Midnight Rambler is the best track without a doubt but the other tracks also are a delight with 'stray cat blues','sympathy'and 'honky tonk' being the highlights. Shame there's not more.Definitely up there with the top live albums of all time ,and if your a stones fan this is the only live album of theirs officialy released that you will need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

'Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out!': The Rolling Stones In Concert
'Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out!': The Rolling Stones In Concert by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews