Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Era
'Get your Ya Ya's Out' is one of the finest documents of a band at the top of its game ever recorded. Following the death of Brian Jones, and his replacement by Mick Taylor, the US tour that this comes from marked the beginning of a new era for the Stones, during which they created their best music. The appearance of Mick Taylor in the band gave it a whole new direction...
Published on 21 Mar 2011 by Keith Spillett

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best...
A moving and nostalgic document of a very important moment in the history of rock music, and, unfortunately, as has been pointed out before, the only legitimate recording of the Stone's best lineup when they were in their pomp and when they were producing their absolutely earthshatteringly best music.
Unfortunately, as a live set it has some great moments but is...
Published 17 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Era, 21 Mar 2011
By 
Keith Spillett (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
'Get your Ya Ya's Out' is one of the finest documents of a band at the top of its game ever recorded. Following the death of Brian Jones, and his replacement by Mick Taylor, the US tour that this comes from marked the beginning of a new era for the Stones, during which they created their best music. The appearance of Mick Taylor in the band gave it a whole new direction. Keith Richards was able to cement his position as the greatest rhythm guitarist EVER, and the rest, as they say, is history. 'Ya Ya's' captures the very essence of what the Stones were about. There isn't a bad track here, but highlights, for me at any rate, are 'Love in Vain' and the quite extraordinary 'Midnight Rambler', both of which demonstrate the incredible interplay between the strengthened guitar lineup. However, frontmen by themselves 'do not a band make', and the tightness of the Watts/Wyman rhythm section should not be underestimated, as they give the rest of the band the strongest bedrock in the business to build on. On the whole, a stunning achievement, and one to which I, for one, will return to frequently in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AS CLOSE AS WE'LL EVER GET TO BEING THERE..., 6 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
November 27th/28th, 1969. The Rolling Stones take to the stage at New York's Madison Square Garden and blow the house down with a set that drew heavily from their most recent albums, BEGGARS BANQUET and LET IT BLEED. The tapes from the shows produced certainly one of the greatest live albums ever made and, with this release, it just got even better.

The sets by B.B. King and Ike and Tina Turner got the evenings' entertainment off to great start. To me, B.B. King sounds on great form, while hearing Tina Turner sing the likes of 'Son Of A Preacher Man' and The Beatles' 'Come Together' is a real treat indeed. As for the Stones themselves, well, 'Midnight Rambler' is awesome and arguably the highlight of the original album, perhaps followed closely by a really funky 'Sympathy For The Devil'. Of the outtakes contained on disc two, I particularly enjoyed Mick and Keith doing the acoustic 'Prodigal Son' justice with a really punchy performance.

The DVD is composed of unused footage from the movie GIMME SHELTER but this is far from disposable; the rendition of 'Prodigal Son' captured here is lovely as Keith finishes the song too early which prompts a reaction of surprise from Mick! It's a lovely moment as the two share a giggle in recognition of the mistake.

Finally, the hardback book contained in the box is a nice souvenir, containing personal recollections from, among others, the photographer Ethan Russell, a reproduction of the unused sleeve design for GET YER YA-YA'S OUT! and a typically florid contemporary review of the LP from that late, great music critic Lester Bangs.

All in all, this a lovely time capsule of The Rolling Stones at a performing peak and, if you start by playing the support sets by B.B King and Tina Turner on disc three first, it's the closest you'll ever get to accurately re-living two nights of great music at the end of the 1960s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good And On Occasions Truly Great - By Far The Best (officially) Released Live Stones Album, 2 April 2007
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 'Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out!': The Rolling Stones In Concert (Audio CD)
For a group renowned worldwide as 'the greatest rock 'n' roll band in the world' the Stones have struggled to show much in the way of evidence in their released live output, however i'm pleased to say 'Get Yer Ya Yas Out!' proves to be a happy exception.

The 1969 tour was far more sophisticated than the Stones earlier tours where the audience had come as much to hear the Stones perform as to scream. The level of sophistication in the Stones performance was improved no end with the arrival of virtuoso guitarist Mick Taylor as well as the Stones having a better sound system.

'Get Yer Ya Yas Out!' shows the Stones as they are nearing their peak as live performers and mixed in with the many really good performances are a few truly great ones - my favourite, perhaps, being 'Sympathy For The Devil' which has a different arrangement to the studio version yet is no less effective. Keith Richards and Mick Taylor's playing here is truly memorable with their guitar interplay as much of their sound has a harder rock approach than had been typical of the Stones up until this point. Taylor's stinging lead on 'Stray Cat Blues' is another perfect example along with the delicate 'Love In Vain'. The two Chuck Berry covers 'Carol' and 'Little Queenie' are slowed down a little to reveal a real swagger in their delivery which is typically the essence of the classic Stones sound. Add to these great versions of 'Jumpin' Jack Flash', 'Street Fighting Man' and the dextrous 'Midnight Rambler' and it's really hard to go wrong.

I'm not entirely in agreement with the view that 'Get Yer Ya Yas Out!' shows the Stones at their absolute peak however, especially in light of the many live Stones bootlegs which have been circulating over the years. There has been a lot of overdubbing on many of the songs and a few do sound considerably better in the 'Gimmie Shelter' film from the same concert performances ('Jumpin' Jack Flash' for example). Also the Stones are a little 'stiffer' sounding on this tour than some of the later Mick Taylor period tours (particuarly 1972-73) when they really did exemplify the essence of rock 'n' roll.

However, what 'Get Yer Ya Ya Out!' proves is that by 1969 the Stones live experience was just as unique as their run of classic albums from this same period and the purpose of these performances were not really about recreating what was achieved in the studio. The Stones live sound was far removed from their studio sound with the emphasis being on a more hard edged bluesy rock feel with different arrangements (unlike in more recent years) and this makes for some fascinating listening. These live versions offer some nice alternatives.

No other (officially) released live Stones album comes close, although there are a few concert performances hiding in the vaults which could give 'Get Yer Ya Yas Out! a good run for its money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Have you seen the sell-by date on these marshmallows??, 29 Dec 2003
This review is from: Get Yer Ya Yas Out (Audio CD)
Stones' 'live' LPs are ten-a-penny, however while few 'live' albums are essential, this is one of my faves!
From an era when the Stones were the self-proclaimed 'Greatest Rock n' Roll Band in the World', the album opens with a feedback-strewn soundscape from which the band launch into a swaggery rendition of 'Jumping Jack Flash'.
They journey back to their roots with a cover of Chuck Berry's 'Carol' - they also pay tribute with 'Little Queenie' later in the proceedings, however the rest of the set is comprised of classic Jagger/Richards compositions from the band's purple patch.
'Stray Cat Blues' is an interesting down-tempo cut; 'Sympathy for the Devil' is rid of piano and congas and is served up instead on a platter of phat guitar chords and with a juicy solo on the side... delicious. By which point the Stones seem to be at the required level of innebriation to have a stab at 'Honky Tonk Women' - good work boys!
Bluesy, shambolic - frankly all over the shop - but that's what the Stones were about in 1969!!
Essential Stones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie's good tonight, 2 Dec 2009
Sound quality is awesome espically the bonus material with an amazing version of Under My Thumb/I'm free - as usual we want more from the recorded two nights!
The BB King and Ike & Tina Turner disc offers a standard BB King set with great sound quality but what a true delight is the Ike and Tina set - just wonderful.
The DVD at around 30 minutes is an interesting if dispensible addition (you have to feel sorry for Jack the donkey stuck out on newly finished M5 in the cold and wet) but the whole box is nicely packaged, first rate sound quality, the stones billed as the greatest rock n' roll band in the world delivering a fine performance. And for once well done ABKCO!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live Album ?, 24 Aug 2007
By 
D. Baker (Portsmouth, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 'Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out!': The Rolling Stones In Concert (Audio CD)
This really is probably the best OFFICIAL live stones album you'll hear,but then I'm biased given I love the stones more bluesy sound this era encompassed. Mick Taylor's playing is sublime,just listen to the slide on Love In Vain , its worth buying for this alone BUT the best live album? NO!!. Do yourself a favour, buy this,whet your appetite , then as already mentioned search out the "unofficial" concerts, namely " Brussels Affair 1973", a soundboard quality bootleg where Mick has REALLY settled in and stamped his distinctive style on what is now a very tight and awesome sounding band,you will not believe how good this sounds !! (with apologies to Ronnie).Go on ,do yourself a favour ,get on ebay now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 14 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did not used to be such a fan of live albums. I guess because when I grew up I could never afford to buy many LPs so those that I and my friends had were played over and over and so I got accustomed to the studio version as a fixed thing. Only after I broadened my collection and got more heavily into jazz and other more improvised music did I become happy with live albums.

I did like the Stone on film, Gimme Shelter and other live performances but there was something about live albums that took me some time to come around to and I find the recent DVD of Shine a Light much more satisfying than the CD soundtrack album.

Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out! is a true masterpiece, although I have often worried about the apostrophe.

I first bought my own copy of this album on the original so called remastered CD which is okay but the packaging is ugly with the horrible black strip at the foot with the red writing and the sound quality is okay, much better than the first post Decca Stones CDs.This new version sounds great and the bonus track by the Stones are a real treat.

It is also great to hear the B.B.King and Ike an Tina Turner songs which demonstrate the context of this period of the band's career well. The Stones would not have had a career without the inspiration and music of these artists and their peers.

The DVD footage is the icing on an already rich cake. If you have fond memories of the Stones from your youth or just want to see the Greatest Rock and Roll Band in the World at a time when that title was universally acknowledged then this is the package to get and you should get it while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 13 Jan 2011
By 
Andre Nunes (Sao Paulo, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Get Yer Ya Yas Out [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I was lucky to buy all the recent vinyl reissues from this period (Their Satanic, Beggars Banket, Let it Bleed, Get Yer...) and they sound soooo good on vinyl. I also have the DSD remastered CDs but the vinyl records are even better. I was never very fond of Get Yer, I always felt the performance was a little sloppy, but it sounds so great now that I started to really enjoy it. Do yourself a favor! Get these records right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my fave stones album, 16 April 2010
By 
W. Driebergen "music collector" (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has always been my favourite stones album, live, messy and very bluesy! This special edition is a very nice boxset. Great for the collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I think I lost a batton on me traasers!, 7 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This is the best chance to hear what the stones were like live in the 60's (except for the DVD, 'stones in the park') as the sound on 'got live if you want it' is not too good. To be totally honest i think this is one of the best live Stones shows ever recorded. It is very different to more recent live albums such as 'No Security' as it is totally raw. No backing singers, no jazz band, just the band on stage playing their classics.
Recorded in 1969, Mick Taylor replaces Brian Jones and does a fantastic job.
The highlight, in my opinion, is the excellent version of 'Love in vain'.
They perform a version of 'Sympathy for the Devil' which is very different from more recent and they finish off with 'street fighting man'.
Although only ten songs long, it is a true classic. Ofcourse the sound is not as good as newer live albums but what the hell. It Rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

'Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out!': The Rolling Stones In Concert
'Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out!': The Rolling Stones In Concert by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews