Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Get What You Need..." - Let It Bleed by THE ROLLING STONES (2002 DSD/SACD Hybrid Remaster)
In the truly fantastic and illuminating 2013 movie "20 Feet From Stardom" - one of the great unsung heroes of backing singers MERRY CLAYTON recalls with a giggle being dragged into a Studio by The Rolling Stones in her mink coat at some ungodly hour in the morning and told to scream "RAPE! MURDER! IT'S JUST A SHOT AWAY..." into a microphone at the top of her formidable...
Published 3 months ago by Mark Barry

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review is about the vinyl
I ordered it because it was cheap. Now I know why it was cheap. The sound is just not right (an odd neither CD nor vinyl sound). I was very afraid when I saw words like 'Direct Stream Digital' and 'Super Bit Mapping Direct' printed on the vinyl cover. Absolutely makes no sense to make vinyls from digital sources. When will they ever learn. Fantastic album, though.
Published on 18 Mar. 2011 by 10G3N


‹ Previous | 15 6 710 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic Stones Album, 28 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
Each track is a gem, Gimme Shelter is my all time favourite, The Stones at their very best, love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Band My Dad said would never last., 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed [VINYL] (Vinyl)
What can one say about the Stones. The best Rock Band Ever. Every song they did was a classic one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stones Release From Their Classic Period, 5 Aug. 2006
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
While it's quite true that Let It Bleed contains some of the Stones most beautiful music (and most frightening) it is perhaps the least consistent of their classic period albums although in comparison with many albums around it's still worthy of the title.

'Gimmie Shelter', 'Love In Vain', 'Midnight Rambler' and 'You Got The Silver' are the Stones at the very peak of their powers and while 'You Can't Always Get What You Want' is also wonderful it is perhaps a little overlong. The other tracks (for example 'Let It Bleed', 'Live With Me', and 'Monkey Man') are also good but they aren't quite up to the standard set by many of their songs from the late sixties/early seventies period. There's also a fun alternate version of 'Honky Tonk Women' called 'Country Honk' which is a great deal of fun (but hardly essential).

'Let It Bleed' follows the blueprint set by 'Beggars Banquet' in the way the songs are sequenced yet it does come off sounding considerably more uneven. It is also similar in terms of musical direction (county/blues) although it has a slightly more electric feel.

A classic album overall that's for sure although there are a number of albums available that are more worthy of the title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought I might have to return it, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Received the album today and removed disc from cardboard sleeve for the first play.i was rather disappointed to see that the record was very dirty and marked both sides with apparent hand/ finger marks. Closer examination showed there were also several faint scratches again on both sides.Fortunately I have a record cleaning machine which vacuumed off all of the debris. Obviously the slight scratches remain but I was relieved that during play the scratches were not audible.I should emphasise this is not the fault of the supplier as the album arrived factory sealed and therefore it could only have been contaminated at the pressing plant.

As for the music content it has to be one of the Stones best albums and there is little I can add to previous favourable reviews.if you are a Stones fan , buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Rolling Stones album, 20 April 2006
By 
Mr. Stephen Carter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Six classics out of nine tracks make this the best Stones album. Keith and Charlie on brilliant form - the only drawback being the lack of Charlie on "You can't always get...". Probably Bill's best album too - even if he didn't play the best bass line (on "Live with me")! Even the three duffers aren't that bad - "Love in vain" is too slow and suffers in comparison to the original; "Country Honk" is approaching abysmal but the thought of Nanette Newman doing backing vocals perks it up a bit! "You got the silver" misses Mick and could have done without Brian (his only appearance on this album). But the classics - the flawless "Gimme Shelter" especially - and various excellent contributions - especially Nicky Hopkins piano work - makes it THE classic Rolling Stones album. I'm still listening to this album regularly after nearly 40 years while the rest of my Stones albums gather dust. That says it all really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
Great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let it Bleed, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
This order took some time to come but it did arrive in time for Valentine's day and my beloved was delighted. The disc is made from remastered studio tapes and is of very good quality. "Honky Tonk Women" was an acoustic version and I loved it, though he, being a rocker (I'm more Radio 3) prefers the rock version. The mix of tracks and the quality of the disc overall was very good, we will be listening to it a lot. As it says on the inside cover - This disc should be played loud. It will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Aug. 2011
By 
Scott Davidson (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
All reviews are relative. With any other band this would be their five star triumph. And at release it probably was. However, there was so much more to come. One of the five pillars upon which this band established its reputation. The others are, of course, Beggars Banquet, Exile, Sticky Fingers and Goat's Head Soup. The last of which is an acquired taste (acquired through listening to the other 4. If you only ever buy 5 albums - these are the one's to get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now, 16 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Great album. Well worth the money. A killer vinyl album. Loving it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You cant allways get what you want but if you try some times you find you get what you need!, 18 Jan. 2015
By 
Merlin (Gelligaer, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
One of my classic favourites...... takes me back to my youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 710 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let It Bleed
Let It Bleed by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews