Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Get What You Need..." - Let It Bleed by THE ROLLING STONES (2002 DSD/SACD Hybrid Remaster)
In the truly fantastic and illuminating 2013 movie "20 Feet From Stardom" - one of the great unsung heroes of backing singers MERRY CLAYTON recalls with a giggle being dragged into a Studio by The Rolling Stones in her mink coat at some ungodly hour in the morning and told to scream "RAPE! MURDER! IT'S JUST A SHOT AWAY..." into a microphone at the top of her formidable...
Published 4 months ago by Mark Barry

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review is about the vinyl
I ordered it because it was cheap. Now I know why it was cheap. The sound is just not right (an odd neither CD nor vinyl sound). I was very afraid when I saw words like 'Direct Stream Digital' and 'Super Bit Mapping Direct' printed on the vinyl cover. Absolutely makes no sense to make vinyls from digital sources. When will they ever learn. Fantastic album, though.
Published on 18 Mar. 2011 by 10G3N


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "...Get What You Need..." - Let It Bleed by THE ROLLING STONES (2002 DSD/SACD Hybrid Remaster), 14 Nov. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
In the truly fantastic and illuminating 2013 movie "20 Feet From Stardom" - one of the great unsung heroes of backing singers MERRY CLAYTON recalls with a giggle being dragged into a Studio by The Rolling Stones in her mink coat at some ungodly hour in the morning and told to scream "RAPE! MURDER! IT'S JUST A SHOT AWAY..." into a microphone at the top of her formidable lungs whilst heavily pregnant and still with her hair-curlers in. The film isolates her vocal track where she went up an extra octave to get the effect they needed - and you can hear her blowing the room out with her sheer power. Mick Jagger - who is also interviewed in the film along with Springsteen and many other rock beneficiaries - recalls it too and smiles wryly - Merry was damn good. In fact perhaps Clayton stood out as much as he did.

But whatever has passed into musical history since - nowadays both are quite rightly proud of the fabulous song "Gimme Shelter" that opens 1969's "Let It Bleed" by The Rolling Stones - what many lifetime fans feel is one of their finest hairy-assed reprobate hours. Merry Clayton would go on to have a short but sadly unnoticed Solo career of her own on Ode/A & M Records - even naming her debut album "Gimme Shelter" after her most famous moment with the grinning English boy (see separate review).

Back to this CD reissue... When the Decca label side of the Stones catalogue first came out on CD in 1986 on London - it was not the greatest moment for the new format. This 2002 reissue acknowledges this and advises that after 'long and painful' searches through tape vaults on both sides of the Atlantic - both time and technology had caught up enough to warrant a proper stab at it again - and man what a result.

Released August 2002 on Abkco 90042 (Barcode 018771900429) - it's a straightforward transfer of the album (42:21 minutes):

1. Gimme Shelter
2. Love In Vain
3. Midnight Rambler
4. Live With Me
5. Let It Bleed
6. Midnight Rambler [Side 2]
7. You Got The Silver
8. Monkey Man
9. You Can't Always Get What You Want
Tracks 1 to 9 are the album "Let It Bleed" - released November 1968 in the USA on London NP 4 (Mono) and NPS 4 (Stereo) and December 1969 in the UK on Decca LK 5025 (Mono) and LKS 5025 (Stereo). Only the Stereo mix is used.

Made by Sony and Phillips - the SACD/DSD Hybrid Disc actually has two layers - the first contains the normal CD playback - but the other layer has a SACD remaster which will automatically come on if your machine has SACD playback facilities (it doesn't require a special machine to play this disc). The three-way foldout card digipak unfortunately doesn't reproduce the inner sleeve or the sticker and poster that came with rare originals of the album. It does however take the figurines off the cake and dot them across the digipak and CD. But the real sweet tooth is the sound. Given a careful transfer/remaster/mastering job by Steve Rosenthal, Teri Landi and Bob Ludwig - the sonic transformation of Jimmy Miller's original production are awesome.

Right from the opening moments of "Gimme Shelter" with its atmospheric guitars and NICKY HOPKINS piano playing - you know you're in the presence of something special. Things get even better with the largely acoustic cover of Robert Johnson's "Love In Vain" featuring RY COODER on Mandolin to great effect .The lead in car-horns and fiddle playing of BYRON BERLINE on their countrified piss take of "Honky Tonk Women" (called "Country Honk") sounds suitably ramshackle. Bill Wyman's Bass and Charlie Watt's Drums kick in with power on "Live With Me" as does the piano playing of LEON RUSSELL. The two acidic Side 1 finishers "Live With Me" (with MICK TAYLOR) and "Let It Bleed" (with IAN STEWART) have that fantastic British Rock 'n' Roll swagger that only the Faces seemed to be able to get near with any conviction.

Side 2 opens with the killer "Midnight Rambler" - a concert pleaser to this day. I love the wickedly sly "You Got The Silver" with Keith giving it bottleneck slide and half-stoned half-jealous vocals. Reputedly about the actress Anita Pallenberg immersed in the filming of "Performance" with Mick Jagger - the song also turned up in the futuristic classic "Zabriskie Point" - a notorious bomb at the box office in 1970. There can't be many Stones who don't think "Monkey Man" one of their great, unheralded Rocking masterpieces - a snotty little number perfectly placed before the glorious symphony of "You Cant Always Get What You Want". What can you say about this album finisher - how many times has its opening magic been used in movies to elicit emotion - and worked! To this day the 7" single edit of it on the B-side of "Honky Tonk Women" can only be found on the 3rd Stones Singles Box 1968-1971 (see separate review). As Al Kooper bashes the keys and Doris Troy, Nanette Newman, Madeline Bell and The London Bach Choir sing the song out - I'll admit to blubbing little Glimmer Twin tears...absolute f***ing genius.

"This Record Should Be Played Loud" it stated on the inner bag of the original vinyl LP. Whether you go for the 2002 SACD/CD Hybrid issue or Japan's SHM-CD from 2010 (with all the repro artwork and 2002 remaster) - I'd apply the same code to this blindingly good remaster...CRANK IT!

PS: A young Delia Smith baked the cake on the cover...swear to God...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Rolling Stones, 7 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
Being a Rolling Stones lover ever since a very young age, I have to say that this music is timeless. The classic Rolling Stone guitar sounds produced by Brian Jones is cleverly mixed with blues sounds and rock rythm guitar. "Gimme Shelter" is one of the Rolling Stone's greatest songs, with interesting vocals and bluesy solo guitar, it creates a powerful yet paced song that to me will be the most defining song by the Stones and will be something I primarily relate with them forever. Love in Vain follows a more country and bluegrass sounding approach but doesn't sound too generic because of the vocals by Mick Jagger. "Live with Me" is a good song to mention, having an amazing bass emphasis and using a faster blues sound than most of the other songs it stands out from the rest of the album. "Monkey Man" then goes down a different route from the rest of the album, being stylistically different and slightly stranger, rather like "Their Satanic Majesties Request" album but not as diverse and alternative. Overall the whole album brings something slightly new to the table for the stones, maybe not as much as "Their Satanic Majesties Request", but definitely enough to listen to! Enjoy listening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review is about the vinyl, 18 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Let It Bleed [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I ordered it because it was cheap. Now I know why it was cheap. The sound is just not right (an odd neither CD nor vinyl sound). I was very afraid when I saw words like 'Direct Stream Digital' and 'Super Bit Mapping Direct' printed on the vinyl cover. Absolutely makes no sense to make vinyls from digital sources. When will they ever learn. Fantastic album, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic!, 12 Oct. 2000
By 
J. Leighton "Jimbo" (Warminster, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
Is there a better opening song to an album than Gimme Shelter! I don't think so. Let It Bleed has Keith Richards playing 95% of all guitars due to the exit of Brian Jones. Listen to Love in Vain, Monkey Man, You Got The Silver, to name but a few, to show what a versatile guitarist Keith is. (Keith discovered Open G Tuning which was used by old blues guitarist's. Keith turned it into a whole new way of playing guitar, which changed the sound of rock 'n roll for ever) If you appreciate excellent guitar work and want to buy a great blues-rock album, you'll love this. Total Quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb album, 15 Aug. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
from Gimme Shelter to the last track, good stuff. Very difficult to say something that has not been said already, hard to differentiate between the tracks and say this is better than that. Taken overall, none are better than any other, the whole is one perfect album as performed by the Stones, who are one perfect rock band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Version Yet, 26 April 2014
By 
D. Solomon "Film Buff" (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Blu-ray Audio)
I have the original vinyl album, the CD, the SACD and now this Blu-Ray Version. This is my favorite Rolling Stones album, and I have listened to it many times in its different formats.This is, hands down, the best yet. Every detail of the music is prominent. I cannot praise it enough. Just listen to the guitar at the beginning of "Love in Vain." You will be convinced that this disc is worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the three best Stones albums., 11 Nov. 2002
By 
Jason Parkes (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following great albums like Aftermath, Satanic Majesties Request & Beggars Banquet, the Stones went to another place with Let it Bleed. This album ranks along with Sticky Fingers and Exile on Main St as one of their best albums- that time when they were dangerous, had Mick Taylor & Ry Cooder on hand and there was all that Altamont business.
Each track is great, some will be familiar to those who've seen Goodfellas (Monkey Man is used along with Memo from Turner from Performance in the helicopter scene), while Gimme Shelter turned up in Casino. Country Honk demonstrates the influence of Gram Parsons (and bizarrely has Nanette Newman singing on it!)- though the epic Midnight Rambler and the Burrito-inflected Let it Bleed are my fave tracks (sorry, but I'm allergic to the last track...).
Let it Bleed is a great, great album and it is nice to see the Stones back catlogue getting a decent reissue- this album sounds fabulous; a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Stones in transition, 17 Mar. 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
Someone walked off with my vinyl of this in the early seventies (I still remember who, if you read this Tony) and it wasn't the first Stones CD I had to buy when converting everything to CD. When I did get and play it, from the opening of 'Gimme Shelter', I immediately saw what a gem I'd been missing. This is a transitional album, after Brian Jones had gone(he features on two tracks but only on percussion and Autoharp) but before Mick Taylor arrived (only features on Country Honk)

It's like the rest of the band have something to prove and Keith's lead vocal "You got the Silver" is brilliant - as featured in Zabriskie Point. A lot of keyboards, Nicky Hopkins, Leon Russel, possibly some of the last Ian Stewart and some rare Al Koooper. Keith does most of the guitars and the songwriting is some of their best. The weakest thing on here is 'Can't Always Get What You Want' which says much for the other tracks.

It's like when Ronnie Wood joined them they became a charicature of themselves - he was bought in as much for his bad boy image as his playing ability (a la Sid Viscious to the Pistols). This predates all of that and still has some innovative and delicate stuff, before everything became a bit musically formulaic. Even Country Honk sounds great & fresh. Maybe some of those Stones tribute bands should try including it in their repertoire as a medley with the more recognisable (and predictable)Honky Tonk Women.

PS - Much later I was given the book "The Making of Let it Bleed" by Sean Egan. A great companion read and explanation while your listning to this - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hangs together pretty well, 1 Dec. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
This album, like Black and Blue, saw the Stones effectively reduced to a 4-piece. Keith has to work that much harder and it shows in some strong songs.
"Gimmie Shelter" is not only, in my opinion, the best Stones song ever, but also one of the best songs ever. It is simply stunning. "Love In Vain" has a nice feel to it, although I rarely warm to Stones covers (apart from the adolescent charm of the early covers on their first and third albums). "Country Honk" is an uptempo country track that feels right and not contrived, while "Live With Me" showed the Stones with a snarl and contempt that was was still convincing when they were in their mid 20's. "Let It Bleed" is another great track and was written in the period when Jagger's lyrics still had resonance and feel. "Midnight Rambler" is good but not as great as it is sometimes made out to be. I think it is sometimes praised more for its concept than for the song itself. "You Got The Silver" is an atractive Keith song, rendered above average by Brain Jones's last contribution to the band on autoharp. "Monkey Man" I used to think was just filler, but my view has changed and I now think it is the Stones experimenting with heavy rock (as The Beatles did with Helter Skelter) and pulling it off. Finally, "You Can't Always Get What You Want" is another classic, which I can see in years to come being sung by professional choirs as a "traditional" staple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stones Best - A Must Have Record, 21 Jan. 2009
By 
David Wallace (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let It Bleed [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is the Stones at the peak of the powers captured magnificently by Glyn Johns behind the desk. There is not a bad track on the album and it has many classics with Let It Bleed an outstanding cover of a Robert Johnson song (whatever the purists might say), Country Honk showing their versatility and Gimmer Shelter their ability to deliver with power.

For me this is one the best rock albums of all time and one which should be in any self respecting rock fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let It Bleed
Let It Bleed by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews