Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars36
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 16 November 2009
The only one of The Stones's first five US albums to share its title with one of the UK releases, 'Out Of Our Heads' nevertheless features just six of the same tracks on both releases. This version is undoubtedly stronger, simply because it features the tracks from their first two big, self-penned hits. 'The Last Time' and 'Satisfaction' are among their finest moments, but the b-sides 'Play With Fire' and 'The Spider And The Fly are also superb. The restrained, dramatic qualities of 'Play With Fire' crept increasingly into their writing, and at first proved valuable, but were perhaps later overused.

From the first two cover tracks, it's clear that the band were a lot more confident and competent at tackling a wide range of material than on their first album. For me, every track is a winner, with the exception of 'Good Times', though that probably has a lot to do with my aversion to Sam Cooke songs. A great CD, which shows that there was a lot more to the early Stones than just a string of number one singles.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 April 2007
'Out Of Our Heads' is the final Stones album that was a mixture of covers and original material. In 1965 the Stones still considered themselves primarily a singles band so much of their attention was still being focused on those three of four single releases a year. That's not to say 'Out Of Our Heads' is not a good album - it does have much to offer but it's rather an uneven album in many ways particuarly when compared with the albums that followed.

Much like the Stones debut album 'The Rolling Stones' much of 'Out Of Our Heads' displays the rock 'n' roll vitality and occasional blues sound which had always been a striking feature of their early style. However, 'Out Of Our Heads' also displays a strong soul element which the Stones managed to incorporate very well into their rock 'n' roll grooves.

'She Said Yeah', the opening track really does reflect the Stones fidelity as hard edged purveyors of the rock 'n' roll sound. Its manic sound is a perfect early example of their raw energy. 'Mercy, Mercy' and 'Hitch Hike' also have that hard edged rock 'n' roll sound but there's also an element of soul, too. 'Good Times' has a softer soul sound. The Stones also include a more typical Chuck Berry cover 'Talkin' 'Bout You' which is perhaps not their most inspiring take on a Chuck Berry song and also 'Cry To Me' and 'Oh Baby (We Got A Good Thing Goin') which are good if not particuarly arresting.

Their own songs 'Gotta Get Away', 'Heart Of Stone' and 'I'm Free' continue the soul theme and if these songs aren't quite Stones classics they do display a degree of promise for things to come. The Stones other original 'The Under Assistant West Coast Promotion Man' is an effective blues influenced song. The highlight of the album though is another Stones cover - 'That's How Strong My Love Is' in which Mick gives a fabulously effective vocal to this fine soul song. I'd say it's this performance more than anything else on this album which shows how genuinely convincing the Stones can be even when attempting to emulate the rugged black soul sounds of the day.

Overall 'Out Of Our Heads' isn't exactly an essential Stones album as they would go on to bigger and better things - yet it is a nice addition to any collection. It's a little uneven in places yet there's an authentic raw spontaneity which shines through most of the time which, with a little refinement, ultimately points the way to their classic sound on albums like 'Exile On Main Street'.
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
This was the last Stones album to feature R & B covers as well as their own material. After this Andrew Oldham ordered them to make their next album (Aftermath) Stones only which ushered in a new creative era with Between the Buttons, Satanic Majesties, and an their ensuing golden period.
The photo is Ealing Club (I think) where my sister used to ogle Brian Jones. I still have the vinyl version from 1965 but be sure and buy the definitive version CD as manufacturers tend to mess about these days (adding and removing tracks) for commercial impact.
My son (born 25 years after the album was made) loves it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2010
The first time I heard this album was on a mono version back in 1966. I had bought it second-hand from a friend and it quickly became one of my favourite LPs.

This album has the rawness of early Stones albums, with some classic tracks that sound as fresh today as they did back then, with one caveat - the digital re-mastering has shone new light on the excellent production.

I remember lending the LP to someone back in the 1970's and never saw it again (lessons to be learnt). It was only because my favourite track on the album 'The Underassistant West Coast Promotion Man' came into my head one day recently after thirty-odd years(who knows how the Human brain works sometimes), that I searched the Internet and found this re-mastered album at Amazon. There are several versions of this album, but for me it had to be the one with the cover used on the LP I acquired in 1966.

There's not a track on this album that I dislike, 'Mercy Mercy' running second place favourite for me as it has a solid drum line throughout, demonstrating Charlie Watts skills and excellent guitar work. If you want to hear early Stones tracks at their best, you won't be disappointed by this album
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2010
Which album are Amazon advertising here?? The US or UK version of this album?? Both were different.

The American cover sleeve is on display, but the UK track listing is advertised.
22 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2005
This really is a great album which doesnt get the credit it deserves, there isnt a duff track on it and I think it's better than the UK version. Of particular note is the track The Spider And The Fly, which is said to have been a favourite of the Yorkshire Ripper Peter Sutcliffe back in the day. It's a good song and I believe this is the only album you'll find it on.
But all these tracks are good, and the sound quality of the remaster is top notch, recommended.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2009
The Stones third U.K. LP crackles with raw energy. Almost too raw in places. The frenetic opener 'She Said Yeah' is the kind of performance that a modern-day band just wouldn't get away with. A coruscating,one-and-a-half-minute thrash that is so ramshackle musically it should be awful (all the band seem to be playing at a different tempo to each other) but succeeds through sheer energy. In fact, it could be the first 'Punk' song ever made. The next two songs show the wildly varying recording quality of early Stones material. 'Mercy Mercy' sounds fabulous,with rumbling bass, trebly,stinging guitars and drums and crisp vocals. 'Hitch Hike' which follows, is the complete opposite and sounds like it was recorded underwater (an unfortunate feature of many Stones tracks recorded at RCA Studios). Johnny Marr,incidentally, copied the staccato intro of 'Hitch Hike' for the Smiths masterpiece 'There Is A Light That Never Goes Out'. The album has many other highlights including 'That's How Strong My Love Is' which features one of Jaggers best ever vocal performances. There's also an excellent cover of Sam Cookes 'Good Times'. The languid 'Gotta Get Away' whose simple tune masks a lyric full of desperation, the brilliant 'Heart Of Stone' (another acidic Jagger lyric) and the humourous 'The Under Assistant West Coast Promotion Man', written about George Sherlock, who amused the band by accompanying them on a tour and seemingly doing nothing the whole time. The closing track is 'I'm Free' which was very popular with audiences at the time. Presumably, the live renditions were far better than the lugubrious studio version, which is stiff,lifeless and totally lacking in energy. Charlie Watts makes such a huge ricket at one point that the whole song almost lurches to a stop. Surely the band could have done a few more takes? As a whole though, this is an excellent album and the new Re-master sounds very true to the original vinyl mix (it's in glorious Mono too.) If you're a Stones fan and you don't have this record you are truly "OUT OF YOUR HEADS".
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2014
Excellent value for money as you get both versions of the album for the price of one. The free auto rip version has some totally totally different tracks on it to the cd version I received which states on its cover its the UK version so I assume the auto rip version I downloaded must be the US version.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2004
I wake up dancing to this shining display of mastery + hormones - with roots like these, what *could* the Stones evolve into but the greatest rock & roll band ever? From the raucous kicker "She Said Yeah" to the freaky-before-its-time "I'm Free", here are 12 elucidations of why this music in the Stones' utterly intent hands shook the whole world for good.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
The Out Of Our Heads LP, the British version, is a gem (5/5) and, rather than being a signal to greater things as hinted at elsewhere, this is the greatest era for the Stones, and pop music, bar none.
1965 v. 1972.....behave!

However, just this page alone shows the utter confusion that the re-issues of 2002 (1/5) still perpetuate.
Is it the SACD version?
Is it the UK or US version?
Is it Mono or Stereo?

The bootleggers know how to do it, because they're fans and actually, and perversely, they seem to care.
Isn't it time that whoever currently runs 'The Stones plc' cared as well?

(And, no, expensive live box sets from the post-Brian years don't count.)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)