Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical
I have to disagree with the last review on here, this is everything to do with Christmas, The Prince and the pauper is based at Christmas, yes some of the stories are old but that just makes it even more enjoyable, i love the classics and the last story "Small one" is very touching and perfect for getting into the Christmas mood :-D
My Son is 3 and half now and this...
Published on 2 Dec. 2009 by Ms. T. Solman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK film not really their best Christmas effort
I purchased Mickeys Christmas DVD part 2 last year and my 3 year old and myself loved it so much I thought I would purchase some other Disney Christmas offerings as I hoped they would be in the same vein. I am a bit disapointed in this DVD, it is just a rehash of some old Disney cartoons, with not much Christmas spirit involved. The only common thread is that all the...
Published on 18 May 2012 by Dustinb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 2 Dec. 2009
By 
Ms. T. Solman "Tammy" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Countdown To Christmas [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I have to disagree with the last review on here, this is everything to do with Christmas, The Prince and the pauper is based at Christmas, yes some of the stories are old but that just makes it even more enjoyable, i love the classics and the last story "Small one" is very touching and perfect for getting into the Christmas mood :-D
My Son is 3 and half now and this has been a fav of his for almost 2 yrs now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Countdown to Christmas, 3 May 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Countdown To Christmas [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I bought this DVD to get a copy of The Small One. I loved this Christmas cartoon as a child and, after watching it, still love it as an adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the hidden gems in Disney's many cheap DVD reissues that come out during the Christmas Season., 15 Dec. 2014
By 
Rebecca Gunn (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Countdown To Christmas [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Disney over the decade has made numbers of shorts and features that while great, are not really long enough to justify being on DVD alone. This has led in recent years to a huge number of Disney DVD's that tend to bundle a mix of winter and Christmas themed items together. Some of them, like the "Winter Wonderland" DVD - are cheap advertisements for other Disney titles, While titles like this one contain the real Christmas gems.

Prince and the Pauper is a featurette film, it's longer than your traditional short at 25 minutes, but a masterful adaptation of the classic tale of a king and peasant who switch lives for a few days. It premièred in theaters in 1990 with Rescuers Down Under, but still looks fantastic to this day. Plenty of great songs and character interaction between Mickey, Goofy and Donald.

The shorts are general issue ones from the list of many Disney have in their vaults. The stand out stars are the very fun "Donald's Snow Fight", a rare showing for one of the less popular "Silly Symphony" series - "Wynken, Blynkin and Nod", and the very much respected "The Small One"

"The Small One" is special in that it's one of the very few times Disney has tried to tell it's own take on a religious story, in this case, the birth of Christ. Rather than actually focusing on the Nativity, the story is instead about a young boy looking to sell his beloved old Donkey that his father can no longer afford. He resolves to sell him to someone who will love the animal as much as he does. One of the last projects Don Bluth worked on before setting up his own studio, it's a heart-warming, but bittersweet story much like the later films he worked on. It never seeks to expressly preach or push it's point, letting the story and characters themselves tell the story.

In short plenty here you'll have likely not come across on other Disney DVD's if you are looking for something new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Countdown To Christmas, 15 Dec. 2002
This review is from: Countdown To Christmas [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Countdown to Christmas says it all. A wonderful collection of classic Disney cartoons for young and old alike. Whether you are a youngster discovering Mickey,Donald and their sidekicks for the first time, or seeing them again and remembering those carefree days of your youth it doesn't matter. The enjoyment is there for the taking what ever your age.I wholeheartedly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK film not really their best Christmas effort, 18 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Countdown To Christmas [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I purchased Mickeys Christmas DVD part 2 last year and my 3 year old and myself loved it so much I thought I would purchase some other Disney Christmas offerings as I hoped they would be in the same vein. I am a bit disapointed in this DVD, it is just a rehash of some old Disney cartoons, with not much Christmas spirit involved. The only common thread is that all the storys seem to be set in the snow. But my 3 year old seems to enjoy it, so I would not recommend it for the Christmas content, but it is good classic Disney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas DVD, 9 Feb. 2013
By 
Mrs. R. Sargent "Rosemary" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Countdown To Christmas [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
All of the sections in this DVD are suitable for all. 9 year old grandson loved all of this. My favourite is still "Small One".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD for christmas, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Countdown To Christmas [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Bough this for my 2 year old daughter and she was happy with it
bought before christmas and thought would be good idea to prepare her for christmas and it worked
she was looking forward to it and there is a lot of things to learn from the stories like being good to others and sharing and trying to help others
great buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very little to do with christmas, 15 Oct. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Countdown To Christmas [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I bought the DVD because of a review but found out that it had very little to do with christmas whatsoever.It's made up of six stories,some of which appear in Disney Fables too.They are rather old and I simply could not understand how the"Prince and the Paupper" get in a holiday DVD.If you really want christmas fun and Disney magic,try "Mickey's Once upon a time" istead!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Countdown To Christmas [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
My grandson loved this DVD. Made him laugh so much. He's watched it many times. Very good value and very pleased with the delivery service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars on the 12 day of christmas, 27 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Countdown To Christmas [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
a great dvd where mickey and all his friends bring and sing the 12 days of Christmas and add the sparkle of santa coming to all children,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Countdown To Christmas [DVD] [2002]
Countdown To Christmas [DVD] [2002] by Alison Cork (DVD - 2003)
£3.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews