Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for those who wanted the stage performance
At first you might feel a bit conned. After all, it was only recently that I acquired his England, Ireland and Wales DVD and so I recognised some of the material from that release. To be honest, I only really wanted the live stage bits anyway and this title puts them all together, making my previous purchase seem obsolete. But that other title does include lots of...
Published on 23 Dec 2002 by davida.mitchell@btinternet.com

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Billy
As a big fan of the 'Big Yin' I was a little disappointed with this latest video. Whilst some of the old magic was there, some of the material was not up to the great man's standards. I was also surprised just how many time Billy used the 'F' word, you always expect it, but it appeared as though he was being paid for the amount of times he could say it. There was still...
Published on 21 Jan 2003 by I. W. Robinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good for those who wanted the stage performance, 23 Dec 2002
This review is from: Billy Connolly: Live In Dublin [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
At first you might feel a bit conned. After all, it was only recently that I acquired his England, Ireland and Wales DVD and so I recognised some of the material from that release. To be honest, I only really wanted the live stage bits anyway and this title puts them all together, making my previous purchase seem obsolete. But that other title does include lots of interesting tour guide type information which Connolly has earned a reputation for doing so well.
This title includes continuous footage from Dublin as well as sizeable clips from other shows, all run together to make an hour and 45 minutes of comedy. Connolly's occasional habit of reusing old material, understandable for someone who's been doing it for 27 years, is absent. Yep, that's right. Not a trace of recycled jokes anywhere. Every gag is nice and fresh like baker's bread. And if you happen to spot the odd one that you're sure he's used before, what's the fuss? Connolly can make it sound as new as the day he thought it up. If you liked the tour show but really just wanted to see him on stage again(it has been a while since he last released a live stage show video) then this one is worth collecting and adding to the other half dozen titles on your shelf with the Big Yin's name on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious !, 3 Jan 2003
By 
WeeTony (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Billy Connolly: Live In Dublin [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Don't watch this DVD if laughing aloud will be a problem. The only complaint I can come up with, after now watching the DVD twice, is that it ends.
An hour long live performance in Dublin starts the DVD, which is then followed by clips of shows from Billy Connolly's 2002 tour.
All audiences will enjoy this product, the young, the old, men and women, anyone!
Top sketches include a trip to the doctor's, gynaecology, The encyclopedia on CD Rom, Going to the beach and men shopping. On the whole, this is a DVD no Connolly fan wants to be without, and anyone in need of a hearty laugh wants to have.
The DVD doesn't offer any extra features, but is still worthy of a 5star rating, as it delivers exactly what is written on the box....Billy Connolly Live (and brilliant).
Order now, you need this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous !, 26 Nov 2002
This review is from: Billy Connolly: Live In Dublin [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I have been a life long fan of Billy Connolly and actually went to see one of these particular performances live in London.
This Dvd does not disappoint. It's Billy at his best talking about thing's that naturally happen in life rather than just telling jokes. An excellent live comedy performance , highly recomended. Keep up the good work Billy !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very, very funny, 14 Dec 2002
By 
Aaron Gatt Floridia (Houston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Billy Connolly: Live In Dublin [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Billy is just brilliant. This DVD has some excellent cuts from his 2002 tour. My favourite is his hysterical commentary on the modern world of computers and the internet as he describes how difficult it is to buy an airline ticket nowadays.
The sound and picture quality are very good. Any Connolly fan will love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Billy, 21 Jan 2003
By 
I. W. Robinson (Yorkshire. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a big fan of the 'Big Yin' I was a little disappointed with this latest video. Whilst some of the old magic was there, some of the material was not up to the great man's standards. I was also surprised just how many time Billy used the 'F' word, you always expect it, but it appeared as though he was being paid for the amount of times he could say it. There was still enough for Billy fans to enjoy, but as my teacher used to say 'Could do better'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 23 Jun 2014
This review is from: Billy Connolly: Live In Dublin [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
you will be rolling around with laughter and that's the best night in any one could have go for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Billy at his best, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Billy Connolly: Live In Dublin [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This dvd contains an hour of Billy's stunning 2002 performance at Dublin and approximately 45 minutes from various venues in Britain during the same year. "The Big Yin" does not disappoint in this tour de force and if you love story telling with charasmatic delivery then this will have you in tears of laughter.

I found there to be many laugh out loud moments including the hilarious routine about the man who works in the mortuary, but I won't start listing other highlights as I don't wish to make this a long review. Suffice to add that this is laughter filled stand-up at it's best.

I bought this brand new from a seller on Amazon to replace my vhs copy for 2.25 which included postage - a bargain. This excellent dvd would bring many a household much laughter and would be enjoyed by anyone with a good sense of humour.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill site, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Billy Connolly: Live In Dublin [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Cant get over after trying to find these after months of trying..i found them for my hubby and great price too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The genius that is Billy Connolly., 17 April 2013
By 
Rachel 90 (Barrow-in-furness, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Billy Connolly: Live In Dublin [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I love Billy Connolly. I think he is one of the most funniest people ever. I love how he can be talking about one thing then move onto to something else but then go back to the original thing. Pure Gold
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Add this to your collection, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Billy Connolly: Live In Dublin [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Another great helping of the inimitable Billy Connolly. Perhaps not quite as laugh-out-loud funny as some of his dvds but well worth watching.

I've only given it four stars because of some glitches on the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Billy Connolly: Live In Dublin [DVD] [2002]
Billy Connolly: Live In Dublin [DVD] [2002] by Billy Connolly (DVD - 2004)
2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews