Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing quality blu ray for an amazing film A+++
First and foremost this is my favourite movie of all time and has been from the age of 6.. im only 20 years old but nonetheless the universal monster movies have captured my heart from the word go... but none moreso than this timeless classic... it would have to be bela lugosi's definitve portrayal of dracula that i can account to me being enchanted by the film... so i...
Published on 7 Oct. 2012 by GERARD HEANEY

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why the missing Spanish version ???
I echo A Customer's review.. This is a great dvd with one major flaw: the missing Spanish version of Dracula that is included on the Region 1 edition of this release. The accompanying documentary & commentary even refers to this little seen version.. really rubbing that salt into the wound. Why Universal deemed that we Brits didn't deserve to see this version is a...
Published on 30 Mar. 2008 by Jay65


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing quality blu ray for an amazing film A+++, 7 Oct. 2012
By 
GERARD HEANEY (belfast, ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First and foremost this is my favourite movie of all time and has been from the age of 6.. im only 20 years old but nonetheless the universal monster movies have captured my heart from the word go... but none moreso than this timeless classic... it would have to be bela lugosi's definitve portrayal of dracula that i can account to me being enchanted by the film... so i was VERY excited when the news broke that they where finally restoring these gems for blu ray but a bit wary as to what the quality of them would be (i need not have worried) the transfer is stunning on this (and the rest available) and the film looks as though it was made yesterday... we can finally appreciate this film as it was fully intended to be seen and heard by director tod browning.. the picture quality has to be seen to be believed and the sound is phenomenal as well.. i couldnt have asked for a better release of this movie... also the spanish version is also included and has been restored in the same vain as the english and it too looks stunning... the special features are an amazing bonus with a documentary on the making of the movie and one on lugosi.. there is a commentary by horror historian david j skal and also a score that can be listened to which some people may prefer as the film has no music in it apart from the opening title..

all in all Buy this blu ray as you wont be dissapointed

take care
xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great DVD for fans of Dracula., 29 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
If you're a fan of Dracula, and particularly this 1931 version, then you should definitely seek this out. Restoration has produced an excellent print with no visible signs of damage. The sound, while never going to be DTS, is perfectly fine.
Extras -
The DVD shows of its true strength as a format with the extras Universal have provided. First, there's an entertaining 45 minute 'making of' documentary, which provides a fascinating insight into the movie's conception and production. There's also a commentary track by film historian David J. Skal, and though while scripted, tells us more than enough about the action on screen. There's the trailer and some production photographs, and last there's the opportunity to have a new orchestral score played with the film as you watch (the original features no music, except the opera scene).
Why not 5 stars?
The Region One version features the complete Spanish version of the movie, shot at the exact same time on the same sets (and reportedly superior) and is referred to frequently throughout the documentary and commentary. Why Universal, after taking so much care over this Region Two verson couldn't have provided us with this further look into Dracula's history is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Groundbreaking, Pioneering - Could've Been So Much More, 28 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
When Universal Studios released Dracula in 1931, it sent shockwaves throughout the movie industry. The film started off the famous 'Horror Cycle' which saw the studio produce so many greats of the genre of which I am a big fan (and a few bad ones as well!). It also created nearly every stereotype and cliché associated with the Dracula legend. And yet it has not aged well, and many limitations hold the film back.

Starting with the strong points: Bela Lugosi is without any shadow of a doubt, the greatest Dracula of all-time. He could convey in a single, hypnotic look what Max Schreck could do only with heavy makeup and wonderful photography, what Christopher Lee could do only with gore galore and Gary Oldman could only do with all of modern film-making on his side and more. People sometimes forget that the legendary line 'I never drink...wine' is not from the book, but from Bela Lugosi (in the book he says 'I have already dined and I don't smoke'). His accent is captivating and his very movement draws you in and makes you want to expose your neck. While many movie fans are tempted to praise Boris Karloff higher for his role as the creature in Frankenstein, I will always prefer Lugosi in Dracula who turns in one of the greatest performances of all-time.

Dwight Frye is also a winner as Renfield. Like Lugosi, he is the best version yet seen of this demented madman with a laugh that will send shivers down your spine. His line about the rats is also a classic. It is perhaps little wonder that Frye was immortalised in song by Alice Cooper in the 1970s in the famous 'Ballard of Dwight Fry' (sic).

Edward Van Sloan is also a very fine Van Helsing and although the acting style of the day has aged somewhat he nevertheless puts in a fine showing.

Tod Browning may have to play second fiddle to James Whale in the pantheon of horror directors, but his work is also noteworthy here.

Sadly, despite these fine points, there are numerous faults although very little of it can be blamed on the film. The acting (apart from Lugosi, Van Sloan and Frye) is awful. It is wooden, bland and looks like a first take read from a dummy card. But then this was only four years into the 'talkie' era when studios still made films with title cards in-between lines as so many cinemas did not have the technology to play sound. All the established screen actors simply did not know how to talk and stage actors who were drafted in found it difficult to adapt to the screen.

The other major fault is the story and script which is based on the stage-play rather than the book. This was due to financial reasons as the studio's budget in the great depression was limited, and the elaborate tale dreamed up by Universal in the 1920s, did not fit the world post Wall Street crash. As a result, the film lacks all of the panic and frenzied crescendo of the book and the film nearly dies a death once the ship docks in Whitby (which is in London all of the sudden!). The ending is also a huge anti-climax due to the sensibilities of the day.

The extras on the DVD are enough for me to want to replace my old VHS copy and are a worthy treatment for such a memorable film.

To sum it all up it must be said that you must appreciate the circumstances in which the film was made. When you can look past that, you will see Dracula as he was meant to be seen, not with a ridiculous hair-do or over-done blood but able to make your skin crawl with a single glance. What I wouldn't give for a time machine that could take Bela Lugosi and Dwight Frye into the modern era to make this film now as it was meant to be made.

Lugosi never lived this part down and was buried wearing a Dracula cape. Re-watching his performance, you half expect him to rise from the grave as the un-dead to drink your blood while you sleep. He came to the screen with the immortal line: 'I am Dracula'- truer words were never spoken.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Disc lacks only one thing..., 4 Feb. 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
...namely the Spanish version of the film, included in the US release.
When this film was made in 1930, it was common practice for Hollywood studios to make alternative versions of their films for foreign markets - a Spanish language version of Dracula, with a different cast and crew, was filmed simutaneously, using the same sets and script but working at night with a different cast and crew.
The Spanish version was included in the US release of this disc but someone in their wisdom has decided not to include it in the region 2 release. For that reason this is a very frustrating DVD - especially since the US disc is now unavailable.
Moving away from that point of contention, this is a very good DVD of an historic film with a memorable star performance, which is still very creepy and atmospheric if you can overlook its primitive technical level and stagey production. The commentary adds immeasurably to the viewer's appreciation, and the alternative soundtrack with Philip Glass's new musical score gives an additional, haunting dimension to the film, complementing Lugosi's theatrical manner rather nicely, though purists might find it a little inappropriate or intrusive. Definitely a worthwhile addition though.
An essential addition for any collector of classic movies - but again, very, very disappointing and frustrating that the Spanish version isn't here - especially since the commentary repeatedly refers to it and presupposes that the viewer has it to hand. When are we ever going to stop getting inferior releases over here?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best adaptation of Stoker's novel, 5 April 2011
This review is from: Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
Wow! Definitely my favourite Dracula movie. Simple but effective. I'm a huge black and white horror fan and this is defintely one of my all time favourites thanks to one of my closest friends. You know who you are! Although Christopher Lee is very good the Hammer version of Dracula is very inaccurate and misses out huge chunks of the book. Lugosi portrays Dracula like he is supposed to be. Cold (literally!), intelligent, mysterious and powerful. The way Lugosi commands the film with his presence is second to none. I don't think there will ever be a more convincing actor playing the Count. You can definitely see why this film put Lugosi on the map as an actor! Whatever you do at least give this version of Dracula a chance and I promise you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why the missing Spanish version ???, 30 Mar. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
I echo A Customer's review.. This is a great dvd with one major flaw: the missing Spanish version of Dracula that is included on the Region 1 edition of this release. The accompanying documentary & commentary even refers to this little seen version.. really rubbing that salt into the wound. Why Universal deemed that we Brits didn't deserve to see this version is a complete mystery. This ruins what is otherwise a very good release.. BTW special mention goes to the very informative commentary. At under £4 this is still a good purchase. However I still think I'd want to order the Region 1 edition for completeness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, 11 Sept. 2012
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
Made in 1931, this classic version of the Dracula story may be old but it is still a marvellous version of the classic story.

While I generally prefer the Christopher Lee version of Dracula, I must admit that Bela Lugosi gives one of the definitive versions of the character in this film. Despite the films age, it still comes off as a marvellously atmospheric piece of cinema that sets the standard for many other vampire films throughout the years. As well as Lugosi, the stand out performance in this film is Dwight Frye who gives a brilliantly unhinged performance as Renfield and is definitely one of the highlights of the film.

The only real problem with this film is that there are some plot points that are left unfortunately hanging but this is only a minor irritation in an otherwise enjoyable film. I feel it is definitely worth at least four stars if not more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I never drink... wine, 9 Mar. 2007
By 
EA Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dracula [DVD] (DVD)
Bram Stoker's vampire novel has been remade dozens of times, but perhaps the best adaptation is the classic Bela Lugosi version. Fairly faithful to the novel and dripping with gothic atmosphere, what really makes "Dracula" stand out is the bone-chillingly charming performance by Lugosi.

A solicitor, Renfield (Dwight Frye), is travelling to Count Dracula's castle for a real estate deal, despite the locals freaking out and crossing themselves whenever Dracula's mentioned. He soon finds out why -- the Count (Lugosi) is a vampire, who enslaves a mad Renfield to his will. Soon after, a ship with a dead crew (and Renfield and Dracula in the hold) arrives in England.

Soon Dracula has moved into his new home, Carfax Abbey, and is insinuating himself with the Seward family -- and especially with pretty Lucy Westenra, who dies of blood loss and is reborn as a vampire. Only the intervention of the mysterious Dr. Van Helsing (Edward Van Sloan) can stop Dracula's attacks in London.

Technically "Dracula" wasn't the first adaptation of "Dracula" -- that honor belongs to "Nosferatu" -- but it was the first to actually tackle the storyline in Stoker's book. And to date, it's perhaps the only to portray everyone's favorite vampire with the necessary atmosphere -- ominous, dignified and creepy.

Tod Browning sets it in all the necssary places -- crumbling castles, savage mountainous villages, foggy London streets, and sumptuous Victorian drawing rooms with eerie noises from outside. Granted, a fair amount of stuff is changed -- Jonathan Harker is partially replaced by the mad Renfield -- but none of these really detract from the storyline.

And Browning pours the creepiness on thickly, such as Dracula's seduction of young women, which keeps up the whole idea of vampiric sexuality. But Browning also knows how to pour on the subtle horror, without blood or violence -- like any scene with Renfield.

The script is just as great as the direction, with some unspeakably good dialogue ("For one who has not lived even a single lifetime, you're a wise man, Van Helsing"), usually from Dracula. But the best scenes and dialogue are made up of highlights from the novel (such as Dracula saying dreamily, "Listen to them, the children of the night. What music they make!").

But the star of all this is Lugosi himself, one of the two quintessential vampire actors (the other being Christopher Lee). While he doesn't resemble the book's Dracula, his hypnotic stare and charming, intense manner make him an ideal vampire count. And Frye deserves a nod for one of the nastiest, maddest, creepinest performances in cinema history. Sort of a nuttier, bug-eating Gollum ("Not when I can get nice fat spiders!").

But what does it lack? Well, if you can play American DVDs, then you'd be well advised to either get the "Dracula Legacy Collection" or the 75th anniversary version from the United States, since both of these have the gorgeous Spanish-language edition. This was shot during the hours when the English-speaking "Dracula" cast were asleep. Same sets, same marks, much the same cinematography, but a bit more fleshed out, and very well acted.

The original "Dracula" is still the best, more than seventy years after it was made. Dripping with Gothic atmosphere and seductive charm, this is a magnificent piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lugosi never-bettered as Vampire King, 13 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
Many people often say that Dracula (1931) as a film is technically inferior to the other classic Universal monster films of the 1930s and 1940s. (I think that's just another way of saying that it's boring!) Upon the first viewing of this remastered cinematic milestone (see I can talk like that too!) one is tempted to agree with this opinion, however the images - once the video has faded - remain with you forever. I believe that the opening sequences of Tod Browning's 'Dracula' have never been bettered. Cobwebs, crumbling castles, crazy coach ride, vampire bats. All these images have now entered popular culture and are the mainstay of our annual Hallow'een festivities...and what about Count Dracula himself? Immaculately dressed in pristine evening suit with carefully greased-back hair (how DOES he stay so smart lying in that dirt-filled coffin all day?) and that strange, phonetic way with his tongue. You only have to THINK of the vampiric Count, and you can HEAR him speak..."I - Am - Drac-u-la!"
But this is not Stoker's conception; the popular image of Count Dracula is due to Lugosi's amazing portrayal. A portrayal that forever associated him with the horror-genre. His face WAS that of Dracula's. His voice WAS the sound of evil. Is it any wonder that he was typecast for the rest of his life? Poor man couldn't escape from those things - at least Karloff could take off the greasepaint at the end of filming! Thankfully we can all enjoy his flim-star-making, career-breaking performance once more when viewing this fantastic video. So what if the middle gets a little stagey and the ending is a tad dull? Lugosi and the first reel of the film make this an essential piece of horror history. It's influence and lasting appeal only proves just how effective these two factors were. Finally Dwight Frye is superb as the demented Renfield; his laugh is an aural delight from start to finish and his acting in this role is the stuff of legend. Ignore the negative comments that the critics say, don't even feel obliged to watch the film as a whole; just buy it now, relive it's magic, and pay thanks to the creature-feature that started it all.
What? Bela Lugosi's dead? See the film and make up your own mind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old classic scrubs up nicely, 9 July 2003
By A Customer
the new soundtrack is terrific and the film looks better than ever. great restoration work - thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dracula [DVD]
Dracula [DVD] by Tod Browning (DVD - 2002)
£5.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews