Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has difficulty finding its feet, 2 Oct. 2002
By 
Andrew Fong (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Feet: The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2001] [1997] (DVD)
The sudden departure of a key cast member creates real difficulties for Mike Bullen in this season of Cold Feet, as it initially heads in one direction, and then has to turn in another to accommodate this departure and the arrival of another character. Between this, it seems to lurch unsteadily for one or two episodes. As such, it only seems to find focus in the second half of the season; when it does, however, Bullen returns to form with aplomb, and the season finale is both rich with joy and pathos.
The usual cold feet themes are tackled head on in this series; more than that, Bullen seems to indicate that a more cohesive lesson may yet be drawn by his viewers. At the outset of Series One, Jen and Pete seem to be the strongest couple whilst Rachel and Adam struggle with committment and infidelity. At the end of Series Four, it is slowly becoming clear that only those couples who are willing talk about the difficulties within their relationships are left standing after the smoke clears. As always, the season concludes on a cliffhanger, and seems to promise a wonderful conclusion to the entire series.
Three stars for the first half of the season, five for the second half!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series., 12 Jan. 2003
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Feet: The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2001] [1997] (DVD)
...I wish American dramas were this well-acted and well-written... truly addictive TV! The real standout in this season is Hermione Norris as Karen, an upper-middle-class housewife whose husband has cheated on her, and who discovers alcohol as a way to dull her senses. Pay special attention to the score as well -- Seasons 3 and 4 of COLD FEET give us some of the best music that composer Mark Russell has done to date; a perfect compliment to some fantastic acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Production values remain high, 27 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Feet: The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2001] [1997] (DVD)
Cold Feet is often described as a British 'Friends' which devalues it in some way to me. The programme is much more than canned studio laughter and designer sweaters. Series 4 if anything looks slicker and smoother in terms of production-craft and lighting than the others. The standard of the scriptwriting remains high and still fetched plenty of smiles from me even after all these years. The DVD has the usual easy access menu's though they have dispensed with the rather superfluous picture galleries we were treated to on the other series. There is a 20 minute documentary 'Backstage' which is quite amusing-if only for Jimmy Nesbitt's 1000 yard stare having been up most of the night. Even after recent newspaper stories, 5 years of familiarity with the characters and my own gathering maturity as a viewer I was still struck by the high quality of the series compared to its British and US competitors. After 4 series the task of keeping viewers hooked -to the same intensity and appreciation is awesome and Mike Bullen and the Cold Feet team made an extremely tidy job of it in 2001 -well worthy of 4 stars out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb classic, 20 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Cold Feet: The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2001] [1997] (DVD)
First time round on TV I thought it was good. We bought the box set on DVD, and second time round it strikes you how good all the series are. Quality casting and great writing. It is so much better than anything I have seen in TV dramas since. It can actually be funny enough to make you laugh out loud, and other times even make you cry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Feet Series 4 IMPORT (DVD)
Really enjoyed this DVD and the series as a whole :) the story just gets better and better with each series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 Aug. 2013
By 
Mrs. J. Thompson "Jean" (South England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Feet: The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2001] [1997] (DVD)
This was a Christmas present, and the recipient said it was super to watch, so there is not much else I can say about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic British comedy, 16 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Cold Feet: The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2001] [1997] (DVD)
Love this - funny, sweet, enchanting, a British friends without the US makeover and fabulous characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Feet: The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2001] [1997] (DVD)
Loved it, watched the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to spend hours in front of the TV!, 12 Jan. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Feet: The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2001] [1997] (DVD)
I knew I liked this series when I bought it, I only found out how much after sitting through all 5 series. There is a good mix of comedy, realism (well almost) and some great surreal 'out-take' moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An untimely finale that leaves you wanting socks?, 12 April 2003
By 
Ms. P. Ohnoutka (cheshire, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ahh, 'Cold Feet'. The grown-up's 'Friends'. The series I consumed within months, watching and rewatching my favourite scenes, hungry for each subsequent series which would develop the lives of three interlinked couples. Upon hearing series 4 was to be the final series, I was aghast. Having watched the last four episodes, I now realise that the lives of tv characters are not immortal. Of course David and Karen would pursue other avenues of happiness, of course a new baby would introduce changes to Rachel and Adam's blissful existence. Without giving away the plot to those who haven't yet enjoyed it, Jo and Pete was a surprise. The hilarious exchange with 'grandpa' at the fictious taxi rank is just one comic moment amid turbulent times. And I must admit to crying like a baby when the group walked along the beach of Portmeirion to scatter Rachel's ashes. The camera techniques were superb - the aerial shot across the sand, the merging of Rachel in most scenes, the flashbacks to the ashes...Three dimensional characters who lived on screen for not nearly long enough, David, Karen, Pete, Jenny, Jo, Rachel, Adam and fiery 'RRRamona' have certainly been spectacularly aired by the producer of the series. Cliched though it sounds, a must-view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cold Feet: The Complete Fourth Series [DVD] [2001] [1997]
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews