Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful collection of characters and concepts
Certainly the best of the breed, this takes a simple concept (demolishing the Middlesborough transporter bridge) and weaves multiple themes and characters to make an engrossing story. It ranges from almost slapstick to good drama, with no character over-dominant, some wonderful one-liners (such as when Barry takes the Chief to the hotel reception) and classic comedy (such...
Published on 1 May 2004

versus
26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK TV series; great transfer; scandalous lack of extras...
Even though I'm a massive, massive AufPet fan I have to say I was very dissapointed with this new series. Don't get me wrong, I was entertained by it, but I will not kid myself that this new series is anywhere near the quality of the originals.
The way I see it, some of it was OK, a lot of it was bad, but none of it was great. Yeah, it may have been twice as good as...
Published on 12 Dec 2002


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful collection of characters and concepts, 1 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Brand New Series [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Certainly the best of the breed, this takes a simple concept (demolishing the Middlesborough transporter bridge) and weaves multiple themes and characters to make an engrossing story. It ranges from almost slapstick to good drama, with no character over-dominant, some wonderful one-liners (such as when Barry takes the Chief to the hotel reception) and classic comedy (such as when the drug squad surround the swimming pool). If you are looking for real entertainment that is more than a sitcom, with a blend of drama and story ... give this a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lads are Back!, 27 Nov 2002
By 
Miss R. Wood "Roz Wood" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was 12 years old when Auf Wiedersehen Pet first hit our screens. The first series was set in Dusseldorf and as my family had just returned from there, I suppose we were more inclined to watch it than most to see if we recognised anywhere. Anyone who has ever watched it will know that you don't see much of the scenery but that was when I fell in love with the gang.
I was delighted when it was announced that the BBC (what happened to ITV?) were producing a new series 20 years on starring all of the original cast but of course without Wayne. However, even here it was a touch of genius to introduce a son of the wayward rocker. What made this series for me was the fact that despite the bizarre storyline, the actors were totally convincing as their aged characters. While they had all moved down the road a few years apparently more sensible and worldly wise, flashes of old were constantly seen. This very clever (if slightly crazy) plot cannot fail to interest new viewers while original fans can enjoy the return of the gang that filled their living rooms on Friday nights 20 years ago. Perseverance is the key for the first couple of episodes as the plot is quite complex and doesn't grab quickly. It really is worth the effort though becoming totally addictive with a very satisfying end. Marvellous entertainment with Mark Knopfler's catchy theme tune throughout makes for a great viewing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Auf Wiedersehen Pet 3 Still Good after all these years!!, 25 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Brand New Series [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
As a Geordie I found the third series of Auf Wiedersehen to be brilliant especially after all of these years, alot of programmes have tried and failed but the third series was very entertaining. When it was first broadcast on TV a powercut hit Tyeside and Wearside and it had to be shown again due to the outrage of missing it, so this must say something to the popularity of the programme. The Geordie Boys especially Wor Oz is as funny as ever and still makes the jokes aimed towards our wearside neighbours - sorree!. I strongly recommend you to buy this and keep this in your DVD Collection with Series 1 & 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK TV series; great transfer; scandalous lack of extras..., 12 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Brand New Series [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Even though I'm a massive, massive AufPet fan I have to say I was very dissapointed with this new series. Don't get me wrong, I was entertained by it, but I will not kid myself that this new series is anywhere near the quality of the originals.
The way I see it, some of it was OK, a lot of it was bad, but none of it was great. Yeah, it may have been twice as good as anything else on the Box at the time, but it isn't even half as good as the first series, never mind the second - which was AufPets finest moment in my view and something that will never be beaten.
Some people may say that because it's got 'Auf Wiedersehen, Pet' as the title and is written by Dick and Ian, that means it's great; I'm sorry, they are kidding themselves, it's not and no amount of repeat viewing will change that.
As for the DVD: Actual episode content apart, the first thing I would say about it is that it does look and sound great. It's in Dolby Digital (2.0) Stereo and Widescreen 16:9 Anamorphic so it's more like a feature film than a TV series. The BBC cropped the image when it was broadcast, which did make some scenes look a bit odd on TV, but here it's presented in it's original 16:9 widescreen and looks miles better for it.
However, while it may have great picture and sound, the rest of this DVD transfer is a strictly bare-bones, cheapo affair.
Despite the fact that the BBC and (the AufPet production company) Ziji Productions must have had load's of interesting stuff, there's NO extras of ANY kind. The menus are silent\static and there are no subtitles. There's not even a booklet or leaflet about the programme inside. The cover has a small blurb about each episode and a couple of publicity shots of the lads, Wyman, Grainger and Joe - that's it, nothing else.
The lack of any extras is extremely disappointing, but they have added insult to injury by including an advertisement for Mark Knopflers' Ragpicker's Dream CD at the end of the last episode! Wonder who came up with that great idea?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series!, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Brand New Series [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
First I should mention that this is the series from 2002. The title is a little misleading if you are expecting the most recent series, but it was the brand new series when the DVD was released.

If you're hoping for lots of DVD extras, there are none to be found. It is simply the episodes spread across two discs and that suits me just fine.

I loved the first two series and it is always a gamble to revisit a successful series without ruining it. That said, this was done superbly and was thoroughly enjoyable viewing.

I won't spoil the plot if you haven't seen it, but if you enjoyed the earlier series' then this is well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The lads go West, 3 April 2009
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Brand New Series [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The revival of Pet wasn't universally approved of, but I think series 3 is as good it could possibly be. The characters have all changed a lot (as have the actors), but it has been nearly 20 years and you'd expect that.

Oz has become mellow, but he'd have to have done to still be alive. Barry is still a radish, but a rich one. Neville doesn't whinge as much, and we're all grateful for that. Dennis is still a natural leader, but time has beaten him down. Wayne has been allowed to die and be replaced with a son who doesn't really get a character. Moxie is no longer setting fires to things, but he is on the wrong side of the law, and Bomber, sadly, is no longer indestructible.

The laughs are less plentiful than before, but the story that runs through the 6 episodes works well and shows that Pet works best when everyone has something specific to do. The project of dismantling and then rebuilding the bridge has a nice flow to it. It's also nice to spot Annie from Life on Mars in an early role as someone for Neville to lust after.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Auf Weidersehen Pet - "The Complete Brand New Series", 9 May 2009
By 
H. Fancy (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Brand New Series [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is easily my favourite series amongst the splendid Auf Weidersehen output. The convoluted storyline builds up tension with every twist - the incident when Oz walks along a girder high up a skyscraper under construction is truly breathtaking. And Moxie delivers an immortal quip -when asked where he managed to obtain £10,000 in cash he claims "I sold my 'cello..." Anyone less likely to own a cello it's difficult to imagine! Sarcasm is certainly not the lowest form of wit with a response like that!

Harry Fancy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 26 Jan 2004
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Brand New Series [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
As someone who wasn't a big fan of the original so never really watched it, I decided to give this one a try. I have to say hats off to the Beeb. Absolutely brilliant. The story is good and although alot of fans of the original complain about the difference they have to remember that they cant be the same. All of them are nearly 20 years older for a start. The newest series just being shown on TV is also great and I can't wait till that is released too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Auf Wiedersehen Pet: New Series, 26 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Brand New Series [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
As a Geordie I must admit the new series of Auf Wiedersehen had a lot to live upto especially after the earlier series but it did just that as it was brilliantly created and entertaining, Jimmy Nail plays Oz brilliantly.
Auf Wiedersehen recieved rave reports in NE England and had to be reshown on Terrestrial TV in the NE especially when the final part was disrupted by a storm.
So go and buy it!!!!
auf wiedersehen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, 16 Jan 2008
This review is from: Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Brand New Series [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
All three series of Auf Wiedersehen Pet were very much "state of the nation" stuff. The first series showed a country crippled by a socialist government, the second series the changes Thatcherism brought and the third one now shows a world changed completely by the post 1989 events. The lads have all fallen on hard luck: Dennis is reduced to chaufeuring a drug dealer around, Neville's marriage is on the rocks and his business is failing, Wayne is dead, Bomber is terminally ill, Moxy wanted by the police (nothing new there) and Barry is married to a two timing Russian gold digger. To regain their self respect (and some money) they embark on a business venture orchestrated by a shady ex-politician ( a thinly disguised Jeffrey Archer). But Auf Wiedersehen is not just about the "state of the nation" but also about men, friendship and loyalty. So although they don't actually make any money they get back together and find themselves. As usual some of it is very funny, most of it very witty but it also shows the modern world in all its uglyness. For example Neville tells an embittered Dennis: This used to be coal mining country. Now half the men have donned a hair net and package airline meals. This story of friendship and camadery of these different characters leaves you feeling good. I don't think that there has ever been anything on TV that shows the nature of man (as opposed to woman) better and with more understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Auf Wiedersehen Pet: The Complete Brand New Series [DVD] [2002]
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews