Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars127
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2002
This has to be the funniest Zombie film of all time.
When Lionel's overbearing mother gets bitten by a Sumatran Rat Monkey, a chain of events begins which will change Lionel's life forever. Lionel's mother becomes very ill and dies, only to return only moments later as a flesh-eating zombie. In spite of Lionel's attempts to keep his mother under control she infects several other people. Lionel manages to keep them all under control until his deeply unpleasant uncle Les throws an impromptu party at Lionels house - triggering a gory chain of events which ends in the infamous "Lawnmower scene".
As well as being possibly the goriest film I have ever seen, this is one of the funniest films I have ever seen. The gore doesn't come across as horrifying, it is used in director Peter Jackson's (yes, the Lord of the Rings guy!) warped interpretation of slapstick humour.
If you enjoy zombie flicks and like a good laugh then this film is for you. I would also recommend Peter Jackson's first feature film "Bad Taste".
Oh, and it's true what several of the other reviews say...after seeing this film you'll never think of lawnmowers in the same way again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
Gory and funny from start to finish. Also a little scary in places. A little gem of a movie. Horror fans will love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2000
A brilliant funny, sick over the top love story of a couple who have to deal with zombies every where they turm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2004
Trust me, if u call yourself a horror fan & u aint got this, u should be ashamed of yourself. Honestly, this is also one of the funniest films ive ever seen, & believe me, mark my word: YOU WILL NEVER EVER SEE A MOVIE THIS DAM GORY IN YOUR LIFE! Its the ultimate gory movie ever, it is so violent, i cant believe it was ever allowed to be released. Probably cause it was so funny, instead of bieng all serious like other horrors try to be! This movie is TWISTED & i urge u, its not for the faint hearted, even i almost had times where i almost couldnt to watch, but it a really good way. But u get over the wrong nature of this film, you'll watch it over & over & be amazed. It has won best special FX awards four times over, its amazing. I cant believe its from the maker of Lord of the Rings, Peter Jackson...Once again, if u like horror & have not got this, kick yourself in the head now & GET IT! You wont be dissapointed....... Genius.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
This movie I saw many years ago, and could not stop laughing, so I had to have it !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2002
Well well well, Peter Jackson has taken the zombie genra one step further. Small town boy Lional developes a problem that erupts into his worst nightmare as his Norman Bates style mother is bitten by the nourtorius Rat Monkey. His mother slowley begins to deteriarate into a braindead monster. This is the genius of Jackson as the transformation is a slow one and we delve into the mind of someone whos mind is decaying at slow rate. When the transformation is complete it seems everyone she comes in contact with becomes the undead. Poor old Lional has to gather the bodys in his basement and is not quite sure what to do with them. Are they dead? or are they alive?
Highly reccomended stuff.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
thank you very much for the wonderful film which i enjoyed very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Perfect movie for a lazy Christmas day morning. Genius
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
A good old fashioned, slap-stick, gore-fest comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2002
the film is great, its cheesy, its gory and funny. the style is in a spoof format (the use of a lawnmower instead of a chainsaw), do not take the film seriously, just sit back and enjoy. Set in New Zealand, with some great one-liners that can only be appreciated along with the visuals
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)