Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars113
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 October 2009
I was a teenager when I first watched Clueless on VHS and at 27, I still love it. You might not think that a film about a rich teenage girl living in California sounds like a classic, but I assure you, you're wrong. This film is simply one of a kind. No film has been made since Clueless that even comes close to it. It is loosely based on Jane Austen's Emma, a premise that you might think sounds bizarre in an American film set in Beverly Hills High, but it actually works quite well. Alicia Silverstone is 15 year-old Cher, a girl who thinks she knows everything. She successfully plays matchmaker to two lonely teachers, while kindly takes new girl Tai (Brittany Murphy) under her wing and gives her a makeover while attempting to set her up with one of her friends, Elton, who has a thing for Cher himself. Then there's her relationship with Josh who is about as different from her as can be, and her best friend Dionne, who constantly has guy drama in her life. Somehow, this film doesn't look dated in spite of the passing of time since it was first released, though of course some of the fashion has. But in a weird way, it sort of works.
What makes Clueless stand out has a lot to do with the wonderful characters and of course the script. It's much smarter than most films aimed at 'young' audiences today but it doesn't try to be. Clueless makes me feel safe. It's a world of sunshine, palm trees, shopping sprees and friendships in which nothing bad really happens. Watch it, escape and enjoy.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 February 2007
'Clueless' is an adaptation of Jane Austen's 'Emma', transferred to an American high school. It is beautifully scripted and directed (by Amy Heckerling), and all the main elements in the book are very naturally and convincingly paralleled. There's a first-rate central performance from Alicia Silverstone as Cher, the well-meaning but naive and managing Emma equivalent with Paul Rudd a good foil to her in the Knightley role. Special mention for Dan Hedaya as Cher's Dad, a high-powered lawyer putting in a lugubrious but in the end kindly portrayal. But the whole cast are good and there's some very nice ensemble playing. It's something of a feel-good film - nothing wrong with that - but genuinely witty and fresh. Very enjoyable, well worth seeing.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2003
I thought this combination of films was great for all lovers of romantic comedy. Clueless tells the story of a rich girl in Beverley Hills, who, along with her well to do friends, learns a lesson or two in life and love, and eventually, inevitably finds true love herself. Clueless had me laughing all the way through, and is worth watching over and over again.
Save the Last Dance is another feel-good film, with a wider range of emotions drawn in. It stars Julia Stiles, playing a ballet dancer who has to move to Chicago following her mother's death. Away from the life she has known, she vows never to dance again, until she meets someone who teaches her not only to dance, but to love as well. This was a fantastic film, with great music and cool dance moves. Some moments I laughed, others I cried. Definitely a must-see movie
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I can't get enough of Clueless, despite recently being told I shouldn't like it because it's a "girl film". It's right at the top of the teen movie pile alongside Dazed And Confused and The Breakfast Club. What little story there is (courtesy of Jane Austen) is padded out with great dialogue (the film has an exceptionally high rate of gags), hilarious characters and plenty to identify with, if you live in California in the nineties and are rich. That cheap criticism aside, seriously, the film's classic, a really rewatchable comedy, so if it's £4 or so, definitely pick the DVD up.

Ah, the DVD. 10th Anniversary or thereabouts equals new interviews are retrospective featurettes on everything from casting to vocabulary (much maligned since, remarkably fresh at the time) with input from all the key players except for, predictably, Alicia Silverstone, who was presumably busy filming...er...Excess Baggage 2? Seriously though, based on her performance in this film alone, Silverstone should have been a HUGE star, but one bad choice led to another and soon enough she was fighting Arnie alongside Bat-Clooney and hasn't made anything noteworthy since. Director Amy Heckerling (female Tim Burton) has plenty to say, as do Breckin Meyer, Stacy Dash (28 when filming!) and the rest, plus there's plenty of archive footage if you need your Sliverstone fix.

This movie is an easy watch for obvious reasons, and the extras on offer manage to remain informative without slipping into "he's so great, she's so great" territory. A great few hours' entertainment then, even if it is a "girl film".
22 comments|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2003
A wonderful up to date retelling of Jane Austen's, 'Emma'. Cher (Silverstone) has a privileged life, she goes to a great school and is popular along with her good friend Dionne (Dash).
She lives with her widowed father (Hedaya) and the only pebble under her perfectly manicured feet is her ex step-brother Josh (Rudd).
Cher loves to play matchmaker and can't resist the challenge when she meets the new girl in school, Ty, who isn't exactly 'popular' material at first glance. Having taken her under her wing and given her a complete makeover, Cher then tries to match her up with various boys.
This is alright until Ty takes a fancy to Josh and then Cher suddenly realises that she has feelings for him herself - but who will get the man?
Silverstone is absolutely fantastic in this film. She handles the difficult role SO well and you can't help but really like Cher and want her to get the man of her dreams for all her obvious flaws.
Add a brilliant combination of comedy, both oneliners and visual, and the fact that it's literally such a colourful movie and you've got yourself a film that will leave you smiling for ages afterwards.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2003
Who can ask for more with the classic comedic activities of Cher and Dionne with their makeover magic and the more intellectual film Save the Last Dance to create an unstoppable combination.
Starring Alicia Silverstone, Clueless shows how seemingly materialistic and popular teenager girls actually have a heart of gold.
Save the Last Dance, by far the best of the two has several themes running through the film regarding racism, tolerance and acceptance and how determination means you can achieve your dreams.
Why have you given it four stars I hear you say?
Well, I would however say that these films (Clueless in particular) are aimed at the female population though I'm sure if the men had their girlfriends cuddling up to them they wouldn't mind what they watched, even if they really would prefer Die Hard or Terminator!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 August 2011
Jane Austen's Emma gets a Bronson Alcott High School makeover......

Much like Mean Girls that would follow nine years later, Clueless has a lot more beneath its pastel coloured surface than merely High School coming of age froth. Firmly cloaked in satirical winks, Amy Heckerling's {Look Who's Talking} film is a sharp parody of the wealthy whilst cunningly observing the life essentials such as friends, family and the four letter word that is love. Told from the perspective of Cher {a delightful, pretty and breezy Alicia Silverstone}, Clueless follows the Austen formula of a young girl who means to do well for others without realising she is sacrificing her own destiny. Cher is a wonderful jumble of contradictions, but in a good way. She's brainy but stupid, sophisticated but totally ignorant. She is a character that in the wrong hands could really have sank the movie's motives. So it's with great credit that Silverstone, guided by Heckerling's writing and direction, makes Cher utterly adorable in spite of her deficiencies. In fact it gives the film its strength. The ending for sure is never in doubt, but with the sharpness of tongue {the sassy teen dialect is a metaphoric joy} blending in with the air of sweetness throughout, Heckerling has crafted an alternative, modern day classic of her own.

Backing up the fine work from Silverstone is the equally pretty Stacey Dash as best pal Dionne {a 30 year old playing a 15 year old!}, Brittany Murphy, Paul Rudd, Dan Hedaya {joyous as Cher's father}, Donald Faison and Breckin Meyer. A rocking sound track helps the movie flow, and Bill Pope's photography of the California locations looks pristine in High Definition. It's a warm and intelligent picture is Clueless, far from perfect, but in itself most definitely not clueless. 7.5/10
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I can't get enough of Clueless, despite recently being told I shouldn't like it because it's a "girl film". It's right at the top of the teen movie pile alongside Dazed And Confused and The Breakfast Club. What little story there is (courtesy of Jane Austen) is padded out with great dialogue (the film has an exceptionally high rate of gags), hilarious characters and plenty to identify with, if you live in California in the nineties and are rich. That cheap criticism aside, seriously, the film's classic, a really rewatchable comedy, so if it's £4 or so, definitely pick the DVD up.

Ah, the DVD. 10th Anniversary or thereabouts equals new interviews are retrospective featurettes on everything from casting to vocabulary (much maligned since, remarkably fresh at the time) with input from all the key players except for, predictably, Alicia Silverstone, who was presumably busy filming...er...Excess Baggage 2? Seriously though, based on her performance in this film alone, Silverstone should have been a HUGE star, but one bad choice led to another and soon enough she was fighting Arnie alongside Bat-Clooney and hasn't made anything noteworthy since. Director Amy Heckerling (female Tim Burton) has plenty to say, as do Breckin Meyer, Stacy Dash (28 when filming!) and the rest, plus there's plenty of archive footage if you need your Sliverstone fix.

This movie is an easy watch for obvious reasons, and the extras on offer manage to remain informative without slipping into "he's so great, she's so great" territory. A great few hours' entertainment then, even if it is a "girl film".
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2001
I love this film. It's just so totally great. My best friend at College and I got a terrible reputation for wondering around going "whatever" and "I totally love that....".And yes, Cher is daft as a brush, but you can't help liking her. Shallow can be good.And let's not foget the adorable Josh - now you KNOW why you don't date high school boys. There are so many brilliant moments it's hard to pick a few out, but how about:Cher's Dad to Christain:"If anything happens to my daughter I've got a 44 and a shovel. I doubt anyone would miss you."That smile that Josh gives her in the car, which you get a slo-mo of later on. And when Cher goes off to the party in the little white dress and Josh looks sick with jealousy.Watch it, buy it, you'll love it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2006
I first saw this film when I was 30 and it made me laugh - I watched it again more or less straightaway and have never stopped loving it - I'm 40 now and STILL rate it in the top 10 - never has a movie been more quotable and I can only think that if you haven't loved it you haven't watched it properly!!Silverstone is superb - it shouldn't be written off as for airheads!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.75

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.