Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highlights the poverty of music on television
Later...with Jools Holland
10 years is very impressive for a man who has no dress sense, no interviewing technique and a sense of humour so incomprehensible his jokes leave his guests shuffling with embarassment. Nevertheless, the BBC have given him nearly twenty series of Later..., a sort of 'Top of the Pops with pubes' as Robbie Williams describes it in his...
Published on 3 Dec. 2003 by Jeremy Williams

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad sound
Don't know whether its a limeter or compressor causing the
problem, but volume is changing way too much in the transition
between fairly quiet moments and loud ones!
Really annoying!
Published on 29 Nov. 2007 by Torben Hellborn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highlights the poverty of music on television, 3 Dec. 2003
By 
Jeremy Williams (Luton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jools Holland: 10 Years Later [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Later...with Jools Holland
10 years is very impressive for a man who has no dress sense, no interviewing technique and a sense of humour so incomprehensible his jokes leave his guests shuffling with embarassment. Nevertheless, the BBC have given him nearly twenty series of Later..., a sort of 'Top of the Pops with pubes' as Robbie Williams describes it in his interview on disc one. This three DVD series rightly celebrates what has become a rich catalogue of live music.
Disc one, '10 years later...with Jools Holland' is a retrospective, selecting 30 memorable performances and mixing them up with the occasional comment from the man in question, who leans on his piano and says things like 'music is of course the universal language.' Jools has, obviously, always been about the music, and the thirty cuts here do offer something for everyone. The Verve's 'Bittersweet Symphony' with full orchestral accompaniment, a note perfect 'Glory Box' from Portishead, the majesty of Ladysmith Black Mambazo's 'The Star and the Wiseman'. If it were anyone else stepping about in their white shoes like a slow-motion haka it would be daft, but they look great. Psycho pixie Bjork licks her lips and sings 'The Hunter'. David Gray may wobble like a parcel shelf plastic dog, but he reminds us that he actually is quite good. Blur deliver possibly their best ever rendition of Parklife, Nick Cave's Bad Seeds gather round his piano and sip red wine while he muses about kittens in trees and women mayors in 'God is in the house'. The Blind Boys of Alabama sing 'run on', which will be familiar to fans of Moby's Play, and Jools justifies his job with an appearance with his Rhythm and Blues Orchestra.
You may raise an eyebrow at Norma Waterson's bluegrass or aging latino gentleman Ibrahim Ferrer, but when Baaba Maal follows Coldplay's predictably professional 'Yellow', it starkly highlights the poverty of our experience of music on television. For broadening our horizons and showcasing music we'd never otherwise hear, thank you Mr Holland, and here's to series 21.
5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad sound, 29 Nov. 2007
By 
Torben Hellborn "EarWax" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jools Holland: 10 Years Later [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Don't know whether its a limeter or compressor causing the
problem, but volume is changing way too much in the transition
between fairly quiet moments and loud ones!
Really annoying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mainstream artists - extraordinary performances, 21 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jools Holland: 10 Years Later [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I agree that the list of contributors looks pretty mainstream and that one of the charms of Later is the exposure to the unexpected. What I found with the selection of performances that was shown on Channel Four is that they were all much beyond what I expected, and many of them gave me a new respect for the talent of people that I would normally have ignored. I'm not at all a Mary J blige fan, but found her performance electric and I also really admired the performance of Radiohead, a band which I had put to the back of the CD rack. Many of the tracks that were showcased were done in a much different way compared with the usual.
There were also lots of more unusual artists featured - the Fado singer from Portugal and the Alabama Blind Boys were both well out of the ordinary.
All in all I found the mix was much better than I expected, and I am ordering the DVD to get the all the bits they couldn't fit in on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 22 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Jools Holland: 10 Years Later [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a fantastic DVD, and perfect representative of what has prooved to be the greatest music show of the past decade. This DVD contains performances from just about all of my favourite bands. There are some inevitable lesser-known performers, but this just goes to show the diversity of the show. The stand-out performances for me are Radiohead performing my favourite song ever, the six-minute "Paranoid Android" (surely one of the greatest performances by any band ever), the Verve`s "Bitter Sweet Symphony" and Massive Attack performing their brilliant, lesser-known song, "Karmacoma". Their are also performances from bands and singers before they became world-wide super stars, the highlights being Coldplay and, surprisingly, Robbie Williams, performing their break-through singles, Yellow and Angels respectively.
Buy this now and experience some of the greatest live performances you`ll ever see. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 8 May 2007
By 
Griff (Kidderminster, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jools Holland: 10 Years Later [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a great DVD, plenty for everyone. Of course there are many omissions for regular Later viewers...

To echo another review, No More Drama by Mary J. Blige is astounding. I was fairly unimpressed by Mary before I saw this performance on TV, I can't say I'm a fan of hers now, but this is a must see. Pure - 100% commitment by Mary and her band.

Other highlights for me are: REM, Radiohead and David Gray. Nick Cave is great - which I was surprised by. Robbie Williams' Angels is also a surprisingly entertaining performance. I did think Colyplay with Yellow were a little rough around the edges, but this performance is quite early in their careers.

I confess I'm not particularly enamored by some of the more 'worldy' stuff on this DVD, I've watched them lots of times, but I'm obviously not cultured enough to 'get it' :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Later with Jools Holland in general then you will ..., 27 Nov. 2014
By 
Mr. D. Pell "S.pell" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jools Holland: 10 Years Later [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
If you like Later with Jools Holland in general then you will love this collection of varied musical tallent.

Already watched it twice!! Its worth it just for Mary J Blige performing "No more drama".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eclectic mix - but at times, awsome!, 25 Dec. 2002
By 
Joe Slane (Sittingbourne, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jools Holland: 10 Years Later [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Having been a regular viewer and admirer of 'Later' of the period covered by this DVD it does come across as a broad and eclectic mix, but then this is one of the major attractions of the show - one of the few quality live music shows on UK TV, these days, and to be honest, for years now. The absolute highlight track for me, is the incendiary performance of Mary J Blige. The majority of 'Later' performances were captured in one take. I somehow doubt that even an artist of the quality and integrity of Mary J could have maintained the earth shaking intensity of her performance over several takes. Buy it, watch it, time and again, and gasp in amazement at the shear sincerity of her performance. If you remain unmoved, go check you pulse. Artists normally perform two or three tracks on the show, so picking one track from 30 artists must have been painfully hard. Nonetheless, there are many other quality performances. Beth Gibbons with Portishead would normally have shone brightly, but having been sequenced directly after Mary J she/they had an lot to beat. Top quality show. Representative release and great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Had to get it again!!!,, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jools Holland: 10 Years Later [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Always loved this DVD and when it got scratched too much I bought a new one, as I missed having it to listen to. Great collection of tunes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Listen and Enjoy, 3 Mar. 2009
By 
Cupid Stunt (Uppsala, Sweden) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jools Holland: 10 Years Later [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Ignore the music snob and the Finn fan...this is just great music accross several styles that is simply great to listen to when you just want to kick back and relax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Subtitles, 4 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Jools Holland: 10 Years Later [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Well I should say they have only subtitled the dialogue and not the performances themselves - WHAT IS THE POINT! This item is 'Subtitled Dialogue Only', to avoid other deaf and hard of hearing people making a mis-informed purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jools Holland: 10 Years Later [DVD] [2002]
Jools Holland: 10 Years Later [DVD] [2002] by Jools Holland (DVD - 2002)
£27.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews