Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stop-motion Barsetshire
For beginners: Camberwick Green, Trumpton and Chigley were all made in the late 1960s and chronicled the doings of residents in three nearby settlements. They were made using puppets in stop-motion. Each series expanded on the characters and landscape of the previous one; coming to it again as an adult I'm surprised just how much interlock there is, with a lot of...
Published on 14 July 2005 by Earthshaker

versus
54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for nostalgia but remember it is OLD!
Bought this partly for my daughter and partly out of nostalgia for the TV of my youth.
The rating of this item is not a reflection of the original programme content - this is just as good as I remembered (5 stars!). The narration is spot on and the stories have a simple, repetitive beauty that children love.
However, buyers should remember that these programmes...
Published on 20 May 2003 by leftfooter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A stop-motion Barsetshire, 14 July 2005
By 
This review is from: Trumpton - Chigley - Camberwick Green. The Complete Collection [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
For beginners: Camberwick Green, Trumpton and Chigley were all made in the late 1960s and chronicled the doings of residents in three nearby settlements. They were made using puppets in stop-motion. Each series expanded on the characters and landscape of the previous one; coming to it again as an adult I'm surprised just how much interlock there is, with a lot of characters from one series cropping up in another. (Pretentiousness alert: you could compare them to the way Trollope interlocks his groups of characters in Barsetshire.) The time in which they are set is roughly that at which they were made, or perhaps an old-fashioned version of it, but in the same way that a child will play with a mixture of toys and not care that model cars are built to different scales or that a cowboy is defending a model castle, there are anachronisms: the boys at Pippin Fort military academy ride in an army lorry but wear 18th century grenadiers' outfits, complete with pigtail.

How well do they stand up today? Well, my five year old watched them with huge enjoyment, which has to be the best test of all. They are certainly of their time; you won't find black or disabled characters and attitudes to authority are pretty deferential. You're unlikely, however, to find anything that positively grates and the target group, infants of pre-school and reception age, will enjoy it.

What you get with this set of DVDs is the complete set of three series. Full marks for completeness; that is, however, all that you get. There are absolutely no extras (I for one wouldn't have minded just a little information on the people behind the names credited; the names Bura and Hardwick, in charge of photography, crop up in a lot of children's programmes from this era, and I'd like some background and maybe career highlights). More importantly, as previous reviewers have noted you get the films as they are now apparently dumped straight onto DVD with no attempt to clean them up or remove the wobble caused by old distorted film. It's something that one can live with, but it's not great. Also, the menu functionality is negligible: you can select the episode at which you start but from then on the disk will play continously (and start again once it reaches the end) so you only get to choose where in the cycle you start, not whether you want to play a specific episode only. Still less do you get to programme episodes to play in a certain order: an annoyance when one comes to the Chigley disk, since the first two episodes here are in reverse order.

Four stars - for the content. It doesn't have the haunting strangeness of Oliver Postgate and Peter Firmin's work of the same period, but it's a solid, fun piece of work that can still delight children nearly forty years after it was made. For the actual production - film quality and the amount of "customer service" you get in terms of menu, extras etc. - three stars. Spartan, but it gets you there, is the best one can say about that. Fortunately it is worth getting there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hours of gentle entertainment for toddlers, 14 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Trumpton - Chigley - Camberwick Green. The Complete Collection [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
With 9 hours of Camberwick Green, Trumpton and Chigley (all the episodes from each series) this is very good value. Obviously a 2 year old is not going to watch a marathon viewing of it but it provides lots of story variety rather than a video with four episodes on and is of slightly better quality to view than the video. Quite a memorable watch for mum too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia for my 2 year old, 22 Mar 2004
This review is from: Trumpton - Chigley - Camberwick Green. The Complete Collection [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
Our 2 year old daughter is now thoroughly enjoying the programmes her parents so enjoyed years ago. The simplicity of the animation and clarity of script makes it ageless and therefore still very watchable. Delighted that we can still share these classics today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for nostalgia but remember it is OLD!, 20 May 2003
By 
leftfooter "leftfooter" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trumpton - Chigley - Camberwick Green. The Complete Collection [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
Bought this partly for my daughter and partly out of nostalgia for the TV of my youth.
The rating of this item is not a reflection of the original programme content - this is just as good as I remembered (5 stars!). The narration is spot on and the stories have a simple, repetitive beauty that children love.
However, buyers should remember that these programmes were made DECADES ago. The quality of the playback is distinctly variable - some episodes are OK, but others are blighted by 'scratchiness' on the screen. Some episodes are noticeably darker than others. Worst of all, payback suffers from a sort of 'wobble' - this varies between episodes, but the worst ones made me feel a little sea-sick after a few minutes!
I can only assume that this is down to the quality of the original tapes from which the DVD was produced. I note that this is not a BBC product, and is not up to the standard of other collections I have seen (e.g., Bagpuss). Perhaps true fans should petition for a 're-mastered' edition from Auntie Beeb herself.
Summary:
Pros: Gotta love those puppets. Brian Cant's narration. 39 episodes on 3 DVDs
Cons: video quality variable, with disturbing 'wobble' on some episodes. Very basic menu function only - no notes or accompanying info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of some very happy memories, 15 Nov 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trumpton - Chigley - Camberwick Green. The Complete Collection [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
I bought all 3 DVD's mainly through years of 'ribbing'from my parents and sister alike about stories of my childhood and my love affair with Trumpton. You see, as a 1971 child, and one that was sports mad, not even a game of street soccer could ever stop me from running in to the sounds of "Dean, Trumpton is on".
Of course I purchased the set for my 3 year old son but a trip down memory lane was a factor for me and what a trip it was! The stories are still as I can vividly remember them - a make-believe world of goodness and friendliness, a world where the commuity holds together.
My son positively loved the characters and the models of the farmers truck, army wagon, fire engine and of Lord Bellboroughs "cho cho" and I strongly believe his speach and use of words have improved since viewing thanks mainly to Brian Cants clear and concise (and friendly) manner.
All in all I could not rate this highly enough for my son - he watches it so much I know the words (again!). One word - brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still good!, 18 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of those that has not becomse a dinosaur!

This is quality, lovely, childrens entertainment that for some probably has more value as a nostalgia trip for adults. Not all modern childrens telly is tripe and not all older series were great, but this one is.

Aging technical issues aside, I feel Chigley (+ Trumpton et al) are still watchable now. A lot of "retro childrens TV" is now available on TV, but do your review research well as you might not feel all series hold up to the test of time. An example for me is/was The Clangers, whose nostalgia wore off quickly and I didn't like it so much. Bagpuss though, is still great.

Then there's the cartoons. Has Dangermouse ever been topped? Discuss.... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A look back in history for younger children, 7 May 2003
This review is from: Trumpton - Chigley - Camberwick Green. The Complete Collection [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
It is great to see the complete Camberwick Green, Trumpton and Chigley available, especially in one DVD box collection. However, it really does show its age. According to my 2 year old, it is certainly no competition for the Teletubbies or the Tweenies!
The transfer to DVD also shows just how old the original programmes are (from the late 1960's) and the image wobbles at times and the opening titles are grainy and have the odd scratch. However, the sound is good quality and once past the opening titles, each story is clear to view.
The stories certainly reflect the age in which they were written and produced and I think many people below the age of about 30 will not find it the ideal type of learning tool for their children. However, for the rest of us it is a happy return to earlier times and the songs and music are still quite catchy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Praise for The Complete Collection, 20 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Trumpton - Chigley - Camberwick Green. The Complete Collection [DVD] [1969] (DVD)
Who would have thought that for a mere £19 we could own the complete Trumptonshire Trilogy? Aside from a few video glitches (the wobble in a few section is the worst of these) this is an extremely watchable set of DVDs. Having missed the series the first time round, now I have been able to see what the fuss was about. While the stop-motion animation by Bura and Hardwick is no comparison to Gordon Murray's earlier Rubovian Legends marionettes (1956 - 1964)(which I'd like to see on DVD too), this work stands as a children's classic, that should serve modern children just as well as their forebears. Try it and see for yourself...
An earlier reviewer wanted to see a R4 version. No need, as the set is Region 0, contrary to the product listing above. This set should therefore work quite happily in Australia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 19 Mar 2004
By A Customer
A great old timer that is just as much fun for children today. Good stories and fun characters that the little ones can identify with. May seem a bit dated by todays standards, but who says you need high tec productions and action to keep the smaller family members happy. They should be totally engrossed in the day to day happenings of Chigley (and its crossover into Trumpton & Camberwick Green)I know mine are and so am I watching it again after a good few years. Go on, treat yourself and the kids!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good stories, shame about the transfer to DVD, 22 July 2003
By A Customer
I bought this, along with the Trumpton and Camberwick Green DVDs to watch with my three year old son.
The stories are great, good characters, plenty of interaction between them.
Sadly, the transfer to DVD leaves a lot to be desired. Maybe the original film was in a bad state? The image stretches and compresses vertically, "wobbles" a little, and the soundtrack is muffled and varies in volume between stories.
Still, we both enjoy watching it enormously!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trumpton - Chigley - Camberwick Green. The Complete Collection [DVD] [1969]
Used & New from: £28.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews