Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I wish I could do the splits like he can!
I think this is Jean Claude Van Damme's best film based on the life of Frank Dux. It is action packed with a good storyline, the only character that irritated me was the news reporter, speaking into a dictaphone at a secret kumite - as if no-one would see her do that and chuck her out is beyond me! Other than that, I thoroughly enjoyed the film and would recommend it to...
Published on 3 Dec. 2002 by Diane Parsons

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars better than the previous DVD but not excellant!
I just had to get this on bluray being a great Van Damme fan and a fan of this movie!-I was a little disappointed to be honest!-I compared it to the KICKBOXER bluray and its not as remastered as kickboxer was,the picture quality was good but not excellent for a bluray;it has a theatrical trailer as a bonus feature but nothing else..is it worth spending the money and...
Published 3 months ago by samo


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I wish I could do the splits like he can!, 3 Dec. 2002
By 
This review is from: Bloodsport [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I think this is Jean Claude Van Damme's best film based on the life of Frank Dux. It is action packed with a good storyline, the only character that irritated me was the news reporter, speaking into a dictaphone at a secret kumite - as if no-one would see her do that and chuck her out is beyond me! Other than that, I thoroughly enjoyed the film and would recommend it to all the martial arts fans out there. Watch out for the small write up at the end of the film, explaining how many fights the real Frank Dux did win in his life and the speed of his knockouts - quite amazing really!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is My Favorite Van Damme Movie Besides Kickboxer!, 30 Nov. 2004
By 
Julian Tito Sanchez (Whittier, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloodsport [DVD] (DVD)
I want to make this brief. The fight scenes are great, and the soundtrack is right on. I remember watching this movie over and over again when I was young. I knew every word that was going to be said. Crap, for that matter I tried to duplicate the fighting scenes. I thought the story of Frank W. Dux was so great and amazing that I looked for more information on him on the internet. What I found was disturbing. Turns out he's a big fake. For one reason or another the real Frank Dux made up the kumite story along with a bunch of other crap. I read at first he didn't want to lie, but his agent or something explained how much money was involved and he just did it. He has a book out that goes into explaining how he trained elite military personnel in his "Dux-Ryu" fighting style. From what I hear that's fake too. In fact the American Ju-Jitsu "Dux-Ryu" I've read from martial arts experts is just bull crap that he made up and isn't even real. So much for those amazing world records at the end of the movie. But after all of that I still love the movie and pretend the Frank Dux really did all that sweet stuff. Great stuff, a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You break my record-now i break you", 18 July 2011
This review is from: Bloodsport [DVD] (DVD)
Released in 1988 'Bloodsport' starred the very ripped and talented ex ballet dancer Jean Claude Van Damme as 'Frank Dux'. I've heard so many mixed reviews on Van Damme as an actor and I'm writing this not claiming he's the best at that particular profession ( Although it has vastly improved-Watch 'JCVD') But his undeniable Martial Arts skills.
Bloodsport was his 'break out film' meaning he was still fairly new to the industry and still had a lot to learn.

The film was based on the true story of Canadian born 'Frank W.Dux'. He was the first Westerner to win the 'Kumite'. This being a secretive tournament that invited all the best fighters from around the world with different fighting styles. It was all kept under wraps due to the extreme violence that was tolerated, some cases even ending up with dead fighters.

The film begins with telling the story of what leads up to Frank Dux's participation in the Kumite. He's taken in by a man whose house he breaks into- Senzo Tanaka. After seeing Franks calm reaction to a samurai sword flying past his face, he then makes a deal with Frank. He won't call the police if Frank agrees to be trained by Senzo, in order to assist with his own son Shingo's training.

Shingo dies years later and upon recalling Shingo's dream, to make his father proud of him by fighting in the Kumite, Dux then requests for Senzo to train him as a member of the Tanaka clan... to compete in the Kumite.
The training is somewhat brutal but very entertaining. It sees Dux getting quite roughed up, that is of course until he starts improving and the great soundtrack kicks in.

Fast-forward and Dux is on his way to Hong Kong then competing in the Kumite, all whilst having two military officers Helmer and Rawlins trying to get him back to the U.S as he's currently AWOL (absent without leave) from his Military duties.

I have to say that the views caught on film of Hong Kong were absolutely beautiful, Morseo in one particular scene where you see Dux Meditating looking over the city and the sea.

Once the film reaches Hong Kong it is all fast paced, action packed and will have you sitting on the edge of your seat.

The two Military officers are hot on Dux's trail and there's a love interest for him Janice Kent, who happens to be a reporter trying to get a story out of the Kumite. All the fighters are extremely talented in all their different styles but the main name chanted in the arena is 'Chong Li'. He'd won the Kumite previously, killing a man in the process.

Along the way Dux meets an fellow Kumite fighter, American 'Ray Jackson'. They bond as good friends so the story really includes all the elements of a well-rounded film and you are taken in by their on screen friendship. You begin to wonder do the duo have to face each other or will it even get that far?

There are three intense days of competition. Every fight of Dux's is a great one and at this point in the film I really think Van Damme shines.

I wouldn't just recommend this to Martial Arts lovers and Van Damme fans, but to anyone that just wants to watch a feel good movie. Other than some blips, which is why i rate it at four stars, I think it has many qualities that were over looked.

__________________________________

Director- Newt Arnold

Frank Dux - Jean Claude Van Damme
Ray Jackson- Donald Gibb
Janice Kent- Leah Ayres
Chong Li- Bolo Yeung
Rawlins- Forest Whitaker
Helmer- Norman Burton
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars better than the previous DVD but not excellant!, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just had to get this on bluray being a great Van Damme fan and a fan of this movie!-I was a little disappointed to be honest!-I compared it to the KICKBOXER bluray and its not as remastered as kickboxer was,the picture quality was good but not excellent for a bluray;it has a theatrical trailer as a bonus feature but nothing else..is it worth spending the money and upgrading to bluray??-'yes' but don't expect too much..Van Damme fans must own this classic on bluray asap!!(its also region free,being region A,B&C.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As flexible as Van Damme., 16 Nov. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodsport [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Many people who I know who have watched this film have disliked the film for its lacking in story. I agree that maybe Frank Dux (Jean Claud Van Damme) in the film needed a better excuse for entering the kumite ( a deadly anything-goes martial arts tournament ) and some of the script is quite poor.
However don't be put off! If it's highkicking, bloodspilling and high class martial arts action you're after, ( I mean you must be if you're browsing at the film by the name 'Bloodsport' ) then you will not be disappointed! Van Damme's flexibility and kicking is amazing, along with the stunning combat and the enjoyable build up to the tournament.
If that's what you're after then I highly recommened it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What kind of a deal?....., 16 May 2015
To think that this movie is well over twenty years old and that Van Dammes voice has become so low since then is amazing.

Probably the only movie that could become a video game, Bloodsport is Van Dammes movie through and through, from a time when the star was already hailed as a superstar before their first proper movie was released (see Seagal: above the law).

Riffing on Enter the Dragon and very loosely based on fact, this is by the numbers action. fighters from every culture and country join the 'Kumite', a tournament so special, it has a song about it.

Van damme is a soldier who has gone AWOL to join the fight, in honour of his shodoshi. as the film and fights progress, he becomes friends with a hairy biker, becomes enemies with Bolo, and flashes his behind to a journalist.

it's classic stuff, with cheesy one-liners, silly sub-plots and an amazingly awful electro soundtrack to back it up. but this is why it's loved by so many people, it doesn't take itself seriously, it's not art, it's the type of movie that after each fight sequence, you could go to the shop, come back and not have missed a thing.

it's a showcase for Van Damme, and it does it's job.

Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloodsport! What a movie, 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bloodsport is one the best Van Damme movies of all time. On Blu Ray it looks amazing. Don't forget this is s 25+ year old movie and to see what a job they have done with this German upgrade makes me proud to own one. If you haven't got it yet just get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well well well..., 15 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Bloodsport [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very good martial arts film, one of the ones that makes you train harder... that said its not as good as Ong Bak or Fearless but considering the era... it's superb.

The plot is pretty cheesy and the entire story of Frank Dux is FAKE..

I REPEAT.

THE KUMITE EVENT NEVER HAPPENED. FRANK DUX IS A FRAUD. IN ORDER FOR HIM TO HAVE WON AND FOUGHT AS MANY ROUNDS AS HE HAS CLAIMED THERE WOULD HAVE TO HAVE BEEN OVER 400 ENTRANTS. FUNNY THAT NOT ONE HAS COME FORWARD. EXCEPT GOOD 'OL FRANK WHOSE MADE A TIDY SUM. THIS GUY IS ABOUT AS LEGITIMATE AS ASHIDA KIM!!!

rant over.. good film. Cheap film, go ahead and buy. Just make sure you buy the first Ong Bak and Jet Li's Fearless first. :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Martial Arts at it's best and bloodiest, 25 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Bloodsport [DVD] (DVD)
Bloodsport is, without a doubt the bloodiest Martial Arts Film out there. The film starts of showing you some of the different fighters from around the world (Asia, Africa, North America etc)
and shows you how the training varies. The film starts off showing you Frank Dux (Van Damme) training in the Army's Gym. When he hears of a full contact event being held in Hong Kong, he does a runner on his commanders and sets of to join.
Before he joins, he goes back to his old master, who is now terminally ill. A film then takes you back twnty years or so and shows you what Frank was like before he started training in Martial Arts. He is sneaking into the house of his soon to be mentor and teacher.When he is used as a punch bag for his master's son, he threatens to quit. When his master's son is attacked at school, Frank leaps to the rescue. The son then tells him that he'll one day fight in the kumite and make his father proud. Tradedy strikes when the son is killed and Shidoshi tells Frank that he won't train himanymore, Frank manages to persuade him to carry on because he thinks he can do it. the action then comes back to the present day.
The action then sets off to Hong Kong where the kumite is about to begin. Frank meets up with a fellow american Ray Jackson (Gibb) who becomes his friend. The real action then gets underway with Dux and Jackson walking into the stadium where the kumite will take place. Frank is instructed to prove his strength by showing the dim-mak (death touch). It is then that Frank then spots the evil and vicious Chong Li (Yeung) who is the current champion and has never been defeated. After a few minutes of talking the film gets back to the stadium. After
a short speech from the grandmaster, the fight starts.
The whole tournament goes on for three days, and in those three days are some of the most bloodtirsty and violent fights that have ever been recorded on film. Many of the fighters don't even make it out of the ring alive. The action, excitement and thrill is kept all the way through the fights until the final, brutal showdown between Dux and Chong Li.
This is without a doubt the best and bloodiest action/martial arts movie I have ever seen. It did spawn a few sequels, but they are nowhere near as good as the original. A must buy for any die hard Van Damme or Martial Arts fan. This film was actually based on the real life story of Frank Dux. Who still holds a number of martial arts records that have never been broken. He also retired from full contact undefeated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Different Fighting Styles and Van DAmne...enough reasons !!!, 12 Dec. 2007
This review is from: Bloodsport [DVD] (DVD)
The movie is good fun at its best. The storyline is average, the acting is okay, but I had a good time watching it, and that is what counts. As Frank Dux,Jean-Claude Van Damme , enters the Kumite, an illegal martial arts tournament. The police are after him, his competition is fierce and there is no mercy where he is heading. Each fighter has his own style of fighting. This is what makes this movie the most interesting. Being a martial arts film, this is probably one of the most famous ones, and for Jean-Claude Van Damme, his best movie. Well recommended if you are a fan of the genre, other wise you might be disappointed. This is Jean-Claude at his best!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews