Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch, 18 Dec 2003
By 
Mr Gregory Tolcher (Hastings, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Dub - Mixed By Ott (Audio CD)
OTT has done a superb job of twisting Hallucinogen's distinct brand of psy-trance.
As the title suggests, the tracks sound slightly more mellow than the originals, but not overly so. There are also layers of new beats added, and the production quality is of the highest order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purely Amazing, 5 Feb 2004
This review is from: In Dub - Mixed By Ott (Audio CD)
The day I randomly picked this album up at the local Avalanche, was possibly the most influential of my life. This CD really takes you places; like a pleasure cruise across the inner fabric of reality, sound and emotion.
I'll never forget shrooming to this album- lets face it, with track names such as LSD or Gama Goblins you can expect something reasonably interesting. It's rare that a remix surpasses the original material.
I'd rate this well above any Hallucinogen album, as if gold could in fact be turned into platinum. This features in my list and I try to encourage any music lover into buying the album. There's not a single fault with the quality of this music- You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hallucinogen and Dub? It works!, 8 July 2004
This review is from: In Dub - Mixed By Ott (Audio CD)
OTT did the sound for Are You Shpongled? But it must have still been quite hard for him to persuade Simon Posford to give up his hard drive for OTT to work his magic on. Thank heavens he did though!
Right from the start this album begins to take you places. The slow down at the start becomes magical as this album slows down to the usual 80 beats per minute that you'd expect from Dub. The bass is superb in all the tracks and this is an excellent album to start if you wish to experiance Dub.
The highlights on the album for me are the remixes of Solstice and Gamma Goblins. Gamma Goblins is especially brilliant and OTT certainly saw the potential for turning it into a Dub Track.
At times however OTT seems to be stifled by the need to actually remix Hallucinogen. It feels a little at times like he'd rather be off doing something else (something which he remedied in Blumenkraft). Spiritual Antiseptic is an example of this and becomes the track that lets the album down forcing me to give it 4 Stars.
Don't let this put you off however as when the album gets good it really does get good. A good buy for any fans of Simon Posford.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely incredible, 3 Oct 2009
This review is from: In Dub - Mixed By Ott (Audio CD)
a week ago while at a friends place i heard about 2 minutes of this album, it sounded kinda interesting so i thought i'd check it out, first off i've never heard of Hallucinogen or OTT (who mixed/remixed this album) and secondly i dont usually write reviews. call me a grumpy old so and so but i dont wanna advertise someone for free. but i've gotta tell you about this album.
this is the album that for years i've wished existed and i found it!
i'm a lifelong dub fan but starting to get a little bored of the usual. this music is beautiful, its layered, melodic and truly breathtaking, the closest comparison i could make is by saying 'this is what the orb should sound like'.
every song at around 10 minutes long is an epic journey and given that each one flows seamlesly into the next its very hard not to listen to the whole thing in one sitting.
many remix albums are money spinners and some sound disjointed and thrown together. this is neither. you can tell there was alot of heart and soul put into the making of this.
i was also able to order it straight from the label so (hopefully) put a few quid into the artists pockets, which is never a bad thing.
ok, to sum up - BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A++, 12 Dec 2009
By 
shoe "shoe" (edinburgh, scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Dub - Mixed By Ott (Audio CD)
This is simply one of the best, highest-quality psychedelic albums EVER in the history of the universe. EVAAAR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 23 May 2012
This review is from: In Dub - Mixed By Ott (Audio CD)
I'd always avoided this album, I didn't like the idea of the mindblowing electronic hallucinogen psychedelic wonder sounds being tampered with.
The few clips I heard on the net didn't impress me either.
Well now I know thats because these clips just don't do it justice.
I bought it recently and love it its like a chilled relaxing yet still psychedelic version of hallucinogen.
I love it. Get a copy if you can
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 18 Sep 2007
This review is from: In Dub - Mixed By Ott (Audio CD)
A really lovely album to listen to on headphones. Ott has blended the psychedelia and ideas and melodies of Hallucinogen with really solid dub rhythms plus added TONS of his own ideas. It never leaves the dub camp unlike other more psy-ambient works thus always having a foot-tapping beat driving things onwards. The ambient sounds are terrific and the psychedelic work with echos, filters and reverbs and beautiful too - they remind me a bit of the precise spacey soundscapes people like Vibrasphere can produce. But again, the dub baslines, drums and piano stabs and souful harmonica licks turn it into a far more musical affair than say Shpongle.

I'm definately gonna be checking out his other work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dub in Psy, 16 Aug 2007
By 
S. Hall "Sam" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Dub - Mixed By Ott (Audio CD)
I can't recommend this album enough. When I ordered it I wasn't sure what to expect, whether the dub vibes would be too stagnant for psy effects but this album does nothing but ebb and flow in washes of pure ingenuity, absolutely perfectly blended genres. Fluent bass lines, on laid back rhythms but with the reverbs and synths so often found in psy.

Don't make the presumption this is just a money spinner, like so many remix albums, this album stands aside on it's own merit. Ott has done an incredible job to not only recycle but change the profile of Hallucinogen's unique brand of producing. One of those peerless pieces that I can see myself never getting bored of. It has definately inspired me to give more creative time to the sub genre. Lovers of psychill, like Shpongle, or lovers of electronica dub, like Fat Freddy's Drop, they'll definately be something for you on this work of art. BUY IT. Simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get it now, 2 July 2006
This review is from: In Dub - Mixed By Ott (Audio CD)
I happened to stumble into buying this and i'm glad I did. Not often that i buy a CD and i dont want it to end.

Great production, great sound and what a relief to find someone having such a ball making music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Dub - Mixed By Ott
In Dub - Mixed By Ott by Hallucinogen (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews