Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great performer.
The only reason that this isn't 5 stars is because of the selection of material rather than a reflection on Robert Palmer's talent.

There are some iconic songs from the 1980's here & for anyone looking for some nostalgia or a feel for the music of that time this is good enough however, if you're a keen fan, you'll probably have most of it already...
Published on 20 Jun 2008 by Sizzle

versus
22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not all the hits but 2 new songs !
On one hand, "At his very best" is more than just another compilation of Robert Palmer's hits as it features 2 brand new tracks : "Need your love so bad" and ZZ Top's "TV dinners" (both will also be released on RP's forthcoming new album "Drive").
On the other hand, it is still not the perfect anthology of the man's career.
Some hits are missing ("Get it on",...
Published on 22 Jan 2003 by olivier


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not all the hits but 2 new songs !, 22 Jan 2003
By 
olivier (Nice, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: At His Very Best (Audio CD)
On one hand, "At his very best" is more than just another compilation of Robert Palmer's hits as it features 2 brand new tracks : "Need your love so bad" and ZZ Top's "TV dinners" (both will also be released on RP's forthcoming new album "Drive").
On the other hand, it is still not the perfect anthology of the man's career.
Some hits are missing ("Get it on", "Know by now"...), there is not much from the excellent early recordings and some songs are given in remixed versions which, in my opinion, are not as good as the originals.
Anyway, it is a good collection of songs from a very underrated artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great performer., 20 Jun 2008
This review is from: At His Very Best (Audio CD)
The only reason that this isn't 5 stars is because of the selection of material rather than a reflection on Robert Palmer's talent.

There are some iconic songs from the 1980's here & for anyone looking for some nostalgia or a feel for the music of that time this is good enough however, if you're a keen fan, you'll probably have most of it already.

You kind of get the feeling that he could & should have been bigger.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth !, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At His Very Best (Audio CD)
Robert is one of the few singers I've heard that can slip from soft rock to regular pop to ballads & even soul music so seamlessly. Robert had many more hits then most would imagine and indeed the very best of them are on this disc.of course everyone will remember his 'addicted to love' & probably 'I didn't mean to turn you on' but can you remember his version of mercy mercy me and some guys have all the luck. Both those songs and many more brilliant songs make for a really good hour or so relaxing and leaving your troubles behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Has all my favourite tracks by Robert, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At His Very Best (Audio CD)
Has all my favourite tracks by Robert. I admit I had all the tracks on other CD's and probably a few LP's but the compilation is all I listen to these days. This purchase is to replace my old CD which I gave to a friend who, surprisingly did not have it so needed to be enlightened. Falls into the category of nostalgia these days but still sounds great when cruising along in the car with the sound system turned up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80's - ONE OF THE BEST, 22 Jan 2004
By 
Marie Lee (Hoddesdon, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: At His Very Best (Audio CD)
On playing the CD I had forgotton how many excellent hits
Robert Palmer had, evens the songs I have not heard before which are very few were excellent, a great buy for the over 30's
Just regret not seeing Robert in concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ive always loved robert palmer can listen to this cd every day ..., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At His Very Best (Audio CD)
Ive always loved robert palmer can listen to this cd every day he has agreat voice well meaning had x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At His Very Best (Audio CD)
Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars forgotten gem, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At His Very Best (Audio CD)
Initially purchased for 2-3 songs but found the rest of the album was full of forgotten gems. A cracking singer and album. How could I have forgotten how many brilliant songs Mr Palmer not only sang but wrote too. Hasn't been out of the player since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great music, 28 May 2014
By 
J. S. Robb "whosthedaddy" (newark uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At His Very Best (Audio CD)
A shame that Mr. P. did not live a much longer life as he sings so fine with that great voice. An all great cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Palmer, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At His Very Best (Audio CD)
Lots of mix on this – can't say I like all of the tracks, some are very 80's beat, but all his main hits on this which is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At His Very Best
At His Very Best by Robert Palmer (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews