Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ULTIMATE Collection!
This is the collection all "Who" fans have been waiting for and it's just in time for their Summer Tour. The two CD's contain 35 tracks from 1964's, "I Can't Explain" classic to the show-stopping 1982 cut, "Eminence Front". All the best cuts are represented here including, "My Generation", "I Can See For Miles", "Magic Bus", four cuts from "Tommy", five cuts from the...
Published on 8 Jan 2003 by Martin A Hogan

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Re-mastering Loudness Horror - Avoid
This collection represents the absolute criminal worst that idiot record companies can do to music. Every track is massively compressed and brick-wall limited and there is clipping (crackling buzzing noises) on all tracks. The dynamic range of 'Won't Get Fooled Again' has been reduced to 2Db - even the Jon Astley 1990's remaster allows it 9Db! This is as monumentally bad...
Published 4 months ago by Craig Tankard


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ULTIMATE Collection!, 8 Jan 2003
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This is the collection all "Who" fans have been waiting for and it's just in time for their Summer Tour. The two CD's contain 35 tracks from 1964's, "I Can't Explain" classic to the show-stopping 1982 cut, "Eminence Front". All the best cuts are represented here including, "My Generation", "I Can See For Miles", "Magic Bus", four cuts from "Tommy", five cuts from the fantastic "Who's Next" and all the under-rated hits from the late seventies and early, early eighties. It's not just good, it is all remastered and even the older remastered cuts sound better.
To beat it all, a bonus CD of four tracks is included with "Substitute" (rare U.S. version), "I'm A Boy" (early version), "Happy Jack" (previously unreleased "acoustic" version) and a U.K. single version of "Magic Bus"! All remastered. It sounds like it was just recorded!
The booklet is great as well. Twenty seven pages of photos, history, album covers and trivia - it satisfies everything. Grab it and go see them this summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flawless - A Masterpiece, 15 Oct 2002
By A Customer
The Who were undoubtedly the greatest live rock band of all time, their live performance etched in the memories of all those fortunate enough to see them in their prime. This collection is a timely reminder, to those convinced that modern rock is brilliant, that modern rock has a long way to do before it returns to the classic days of the 60's and 70s. Tracks from every Who album are present here, as well as selected singles, and rarities (actually, most of these are available on the CD reissues of five or six years ago). The first two of the three CDs contains all the hits while the last appears to have videos or 'extra footage' of some of the bands big hits. The first CD is essentially flawless, containing all the singles up to 'Who's Next'. Songs like 'I Can't Explain', 'The Kids are Alright', 'Substitute' and of course 'My Generation' defined an era in the mid sixties. 'I Can See For Miles', often cited as Pete Townshend's favourite Who record, was the tour de force of the magnificent 'Who Sell Out'. 'Magic Bus', with its unusual rhythm, became a Who classic in performance. However, it was with 'Tommy' that the Who became an institution, led by the brilliant single 'Pinball Wizard'. I feel that more songs from Tommy should have been placed on the album, but I admit that it is difficult to pick out five or six from the album. The presence of only three songs from 'Who's Next', probably the Who's finest achievement, is also surprising, but you can't argue with 'Baba O Riley', 'Behind Blue Eyes' (amazingly omitted from The Best of The Who - 1996), and of course 'Won't Get Fooled Again', which ends CD1 on a suitably emphatic note. CD2 begins a little tamely, with some of the songs which formed part of the Lifehouse project. 'Pure and Easy', already available on the reissue of 'Who's Next' is the pick of these songs. Three songs from 'Quadrophenia' are also present: '5:15','The Real Me' and 'Love Reign O'er Me', all terrific songs. Unfortunately, 'Squeeze Box' is the only song present from 'The Who by Numbers'. I would have liked the presence of 'Dreaming from the Waist' or even 'They are all in Love' but I guess you can't have everything. Three songs from 'Who Are You', notably the title track, complete the Keith Moon era, and if the album stopped there, you couldn't complain. There are a few numbers from the final two albums including the excellent 'You Better You Bet', their last hit, and 'Athena'.
All in all, a superb compilation, with a few odd choices here and there, but an essential first album for anyone new to the magic of the Who. Long Live Rock!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Re-mastering Loudness Horror - Avoid, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This collection represents the absolute criminal worst that idiot record companies can do to music. Every track is massively compressed and brick-wall limited and there is clipping (crackling buzzing noises) on all tracks. The dynamic range of 'Won't Get Fooled Again' has been reduced to 2Db - even the Jon Astley 1990's remaster allows it 9Db! This is as monumentally bad as Metallica's 'Death Magnetic' - previously the worst most compressed recoding I owned. Great music destroyed by deaf morons for the sake of "ever hotter records" for the "ipod" generation. Just adds to the criminal handling of the Who's back catalogue. Straight to the charity box this one, have ordered the earlier "Who's Better, Who's Best" collection from the late eighties instead. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid. Would give no stars if possible and a kick up the arse of the mastering engineers and record company execs who committed this crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AGAIN IGNORING THE WHO BY NUMBERS, 2 May 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
This contains a lot of the Who's best stuff but like one of the other reviewers I would question why stuff like 'Had Enough' and Sister Disco are included while brilliant tracks from The Who By Numbers' such as 'Imagine a Man' or 'Dreaming From the Waist are left out.Its a great collection but if you like this then also get the Who's most underrated album 'Who By Numbers'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who the Who, 20 Feb 2003
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Although the Who's catalogue has already produced several retrospectives, this cockily titled collection more than manages to live up to its name, offering what may well be the most complete and compelling look at this legendary band's career. Completely remastered, 'The Ultimate Collection' takes in everything from he band's early Mod singles, right through to their more bombastic but still thrilling stadium-rock concoctions - including classics such as 'My Generation', 'Pictures Of Lily', 'The Kids Are Alright' and many, many more. This UK edition of 'The Ultimate Collection' includes extended sleeve notes and 5 extra tracks than the US version: 'Athena', 'Another Tricky Day', 'The Quiet One', 'Don't Let Go The Coat', and 'Had Enough'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who's who, 22 Oct 2002
What can I say but wow. All the Who's best songs on three CD's. The bonus CD is very cool with different versions of their totally amazing rock and roll songs. If you want some of the finest who songs in one box set than this is the set for you, amazing so go and get it if you havn't already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Career-spanning compilation, 7 Mar 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
The Who never had a number one hit in either Britain or America though they came close, but it didn't matter as they recorded a body of work that ensures their place in rock history. Their influence on subsequent generations of rock musicians is substantial but hard to measure. They had been around under various names (first the Detours, the High Numbers) before finally hitting the big time as the Who. This compilation covers all their music together although it does not include their solo music.
In the sixties, the Who had a string of major hits in Britain and America, which included such classics as I can't explain, Anyway anyhow anywhere, My generation, Substitute, I'm a boy, Happy Jack, Pictures of Lily, I can see for miles and Pinball wizard, all of which reached the British top ten.
By the end of the sixties, the Who had begun to shift their focus from singles to albums. The rock opera, Tommy, is regarded as a classic and later inspired a film with the same title, as did their other famous album, Quadrophenia. These weren't their only great albums - another (Who's next) included the brilliant track, Baba O' Riley, which wasn't a hit but became popular among Who fans.
During the seventies, the members of the Who sometimes pursued their own solo projects, but despite these diversions the Who (as a group) still managed the occasional hit single with Won't get fooled again (1971), Join together (1972), Squeeze box (1976) and You better you bet (1981) as well as a re-issue of Substitute (1976) all making the UK top ten.
This compilation contains all the Who's big hits, most of their minor hits and the best of their album tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music!, 28 April 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I've always loved the song 'Behind Blue Eyes' (which I've just found out was surprisingly not a hit in the UK), I'd heard good things about The Who and decided to buy a compilation of some of their hits. This two disc set seemed like the best option, with 40 tracks, it sure looked like it lived up to it's name of 'The Ultimate Collection'.

Whilst I'm still only on disc one, on the strength of those songs - this set more that deserves a five star review. Currently one of my most played albums at the moment, I was surprised at just how many songs I already knew. The Who were a great band, with many hits to their name. As a new fan, I would certainly recommend this to anyone who hasn't really listened to their music before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Compilation, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
Great to hear the early stuff. Crystal clear clarity, yet at the same time you can feel the energy and rawness there. CD 1 is definitely superior to CD2 in terms of content, in my humble opinion. This compilation is an essential part of a music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great upgrade from my Who's Better Who's Best CD, 22 Oct 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ultimate Collection (Audio CD)
I was looking for an upgrade to my old "Who's Better.. Who's Best" CD and took a punt on this one - I was not disappointed.

More tracks and infinitely better sound quality - they seem to have done a good job with the remastering, full, bassy sound, not tinny like some remasters.

If you're looking for one purchase that covers the career of The Who and don't want to break the bank, I'd suggest you look no further than this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ultimate Collection
The Ultimate Collection by The Who (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews