Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Innovation implemented perfectly
The fact this game didn't sell in huge numbers is a great shame for all gamers everywhere. It was an attempt at something different that worked beautifuly. The story is revealed as told by you the main chacter who has traveled across time and space to escape the destruction of your home planet. This plot is of the quaility that I would have recommended it as a book had it...
Published on 11 Jan 2003 by Paul Fleming

versus
3 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sacrifice
What's wrong with this game? Pretty much everything - confusing gameplay; poor graphics; tedious, murky environment making it hard to identify either objectives, enemies or allies; ridiculous creatures unappealingly drawn. I was unable even to complete the tutorial - the most insignificant of enemies proved invulnerable to my spells. If you want a budget-priced game which...
Published on 10 Nov 2003 by algray7


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Innovation implemented perfectly, 11 Jan 2003
This review is from: Sacrifice (Video Game)
The fact this game didn't sell in huge numbers is a great shame for all gamers everywhere. It was an attempt at something different that worked beautifuly. The story is revealed as told by you the main chacter who has traveled across time and space to escape the destruction of your home planet. This plot is of the quaility that I would have recommended it as a book had it been published as one. On this planet you find five gods each owning a different island. You choose each mission from one of these gods and are given a task to perform for them. The problem being that these gods take offence when you do perform missions for other gods: shunning you later in the game if you show allengience to one of thier enemys. Each mission gives you a new creature and spell to play with but what you get depends on which god's mission you are completeing. The missions vary but at times you are asked to destroy another wizard who is apposing you. This is completed by fighting your way to his altar and sacrificing one of your creatures to destory the wizard. This is a game where the controls are tactics of the game are clever but take a bit of playing to understand and implement. Fortunatly the best way to do this is the single player of the game as it leads you in and gets you going without any misunderstaning or confusion. The graphics of this game were ahead of their time when this game was realeased and despite everything else cathing up a bit they still look as good as they did then.
Unfortunatly I could only scratch the surface of this game in the review but if you were one of those to overlook this on its first outing then I urge you to take a gander at it's new shiny budget price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked, 2 Sep 2003
This review is from: Sacrifice (Video Game)
I must admit that i had not heard of this game before but after reading the other reviews here i thought i would give it a go.
The graphics are great with some really good little touches,the sound effects and music are also first class and really drag you into the game.
The game starts with a great tutorial to guide you through the basics and introduces you to your guide and sidekick (a little imp thats a great source of comedy through the game).
At the start of the main game you have to pick a god to play for then battle for various islands using your control over creatures.
This game is packed with really great little touches and kept me smiling all the way through (and i still have the other gods to play through!).
Buy this game you WILL NOT be let down its a great little startegy/roleplaying/first person shooter??? and now its out on budget what have you got to lose??? (except maybe the price of a pint?) go on you know you want to?!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 April 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sacrifice (Video Game)
Though it takes practice and thought to organise your armies and spells from complete disorder to organised chaos Sacrifice shallenges the player to think in the mindframe of a micro-management game tactics wise while playing from a first person/role play perspective. Though it is indeed an old game its graphics remian impressive and both its plotline and gameplay leave little to be desired. Its a crying shame that this game did not get as much public sale as it deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun to play, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrifice (Video Game)
Amazing game, very fun, hardcore gameplay. It's easy to get the hang of. Would definitely recommend to any other gamers out there who are looking for an interesting, addictive game to play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This game is Amazing!, 7 Jun 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacrifice (Video Game)
I used to play this game when it came out ages ago! I recently found it again while browing and although I've only just ordered it, Having played before, I know that It's definately one of the best games around, loads of fun, impressive array of creatures, 9 out of 10! Plus, it's so cheap on here there is no point in not buying it. :P
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This game is Unique and in many ways Brilliant, 5 Aug 2008
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sacrifice (Video Game)
This is one of the best games ever made, unique, and in a genre of its own. Please completely ignore the one-star review which claims that "everything is wrong with the game" despite also admiting that "I was unable even to complete the tutorial".
Brilliant game, give it chance, especially considering the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Incredible game that has not aged, 9 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: Sacrifice (Video Game)
This game is exelent: It has a great innovative gameplay. The graphics are quite bad it's true but the game's almost 7 years old... The graphics are at least 10 times better then games like homeworld or half-life. The sound is FANTASTIC! For evry environnement there is a different sound (mi favorite are the ones frome Elysium and the glebe). Now the story is also great because there are 5 god's that you can choose from in each level until all gods reject you exept for one so the storyline is very varried. example: I choose persephone first level, 2nd James, 3rd pyro, 4th charnel, 5th James but then i choose too destroy the ennemy wizard and allie pyro, 6th 7th 8th and 9 th level only pyro will accept mee. Or you can always choose to bee with persephone... Well trust mee it's complicated to explain but it's the best game i've ever plaied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sacrifice, 10 Nov 2003
This review is from: Sacrifice (Video Game)
What's wrong with this game? Pretty much everything - confusing gameplay; poor graphics; tedious, murky environment making it hard to identify either objectives, enemies or allies; ridiculous creatures unappealingly drawn. I was unable even to complete the tutorial - the most insignificant of enemies proved invulnerable to my spells. If you want a budget-priced game which may be a bit long in the tooth but which combines shamans, spells & stategy with brilliant gameplay, Populous the Beginning is a superior game in every respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sacrifice
Sacrifice by Sold Out Software (Windows 2000 / 95 / 98 / Me / XP)
0.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews