Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now addicted to Monopoly
I bought this game as something to do on cold winter evenings and now I am totally hooked. You can play against your (human) friends or against computer players such as Granny, Baron and Creosus. You can customise most of the Monopoly rules and have the choice of including auctions, trading properties between players and a jackpot on the Free Parking space. I have had...
Published on 22 Jun. 2004

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wierd
great game but it is strange coz everyone plays at the same time. it was confusing the first few times i played it but after a while you get the hang of it. more for the older players and may confuse younger players. original game is better.
Published on 8 Jun. 2004 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now addicted to Monopoly, 22 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly Party (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game as something to do on cold winter evenings and now I am totally hooked. You can play against your (human) friends or against computer players such as Granny, Baron and Creosus. You can customise most of the Monopoly rules and have the choice of including auctions, trading properties between players and a jackpot on the Free Parking space. I have had this game for quite some time and still enjoy playing it. The only bad point is the annoying little man who provides the commentary to the game but you can keep him quiet if you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe I bought this, 29 Sept. 2003
By 
Mr. Mj Plevin "asterickjones" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monopoly Party (PS2) (Video Game)
...because it was actually really good.
If you want an authentic Monopoly experience and a fun way to sharpen up your Monopoly skills, then this is it. If you've never played a console version of Monopoly before then perhaps it's just as well, because this one is the best yet.
It allows a fair bit of flexibility for playing the classic with menus allowing you to choose variations in the rules, a choice between the UK & US boards and several other themed boards including Sci-Fi, Prehistoric and Fantasy.
There is also the choice of Party and Classic modes. The Party mode allows all the players to roll the dice simultaneously, so as you can imagine this makes the game whiz by and you need to be careful to keep track of who's bought what, that's why I personally like to keep the classic mode for the usual pace of the game which is extremely fact if you're only used to slow family board games with your doddery old grandma playing. In fact the pace is one of the main reasons I would recommend this game, if you think that you find Monopoly boring then try this, no more counting out of miniscule rents no more arguing over who's turn it probably is and no more searching for crappily thrown dice which is now under a hole in the skirting board.
The real joy of this version comes from the comments Mr Monopoly makes as you throw the virtual dice around the board while listening to such gems as ''an excellent decision, if I say so myself'', but you might not find ''when you need the money, you've got to sell something!'' write as charming when you're having to sell off houses on the only set that might give you a chance to win.
But there are always flaws and what follows are the only criticisms I would have with this otherwise perfectly fine Monopoly simulator.
1.It's remarkably easy to discover tricks to beat the AI players, so after a few games it becomes much better to play another human player.
The AI even on the hard setting will trade almost anything at the right price, even it'll be detrimental to their game. I use a strategy of grabbing the four stations and getting a nice steady income throughout the game, it's usually a lot more effective at bankrupting the opponents than a fully hotelled Boardwalk seems to be. Even more frustratingly if you have several AI players they'll trade full sets between themselves for peanuts and bankrupt themselves and take you with them.
2. For this game to be perfect, in addition to toughening up the AI I think it'd would have gained a lot more replay value if you were able to edit custom rules yourself. Eg set the amount paid on passing go, the values and names of properties and the ability to set up your own rules for Chance/Community Chest cards.
3. Not going bankrupt quite so abruptly would add some much needed depth into the game, if it were possible to owe up to $1000 and be able to take out loans from the bank as in many board games.
4. The dice simply doesn't seem as ''random'' as it purports to be, just try building a full set and then actually getting anyone other than yourself landing on it.
Luckily this avoiding trick also happens in your favour even when practically every set is developed to the max, the computer just seems to love artificially either opponent's games or yours. Throwing a double 3 times in a row would be a rare occurrence don't you think, it's a 1 in 6 chance of throwing a double and to do that three times is more like 1 in 216. But in this game it occurs frequently, as does landing in jail, in one game I landed in jail a record 6 times, almost immediately after landing in jail I landed back in.
Music 6/10 Not bad tracks considering they are for a monopoly games
Story 2/10 One day in the 1930's a man called Mr Monopoly has a brilliant business idea, what if I were to buy up a like colour set of properties and build plush hotels on them and force people to land on them while for some unexplainable they keep walking round in circles in the same few streets.
Gameplay, if you're a monopoly fan 9/10 given the flaws, if you're not even the slightest bit interested in board games and would rather be blowing heads off in Soldier Of Fortune 0/10.
Replay. If you love monopoly 9/10, if you hate it you won't even play it once, so why even give a score for a replay.
SUMMARY.
In short it needs a bit more depth and customisation, some polish to the AI, but all-in-all the best Monopoly game yet created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brings monopoly to life!, 16 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Monopoly Party (PS2) (Video Game)
When I first heard that Monopoly would be released on the PS2/Gamecube/X-box I wasn't that bothered, quite happy with the PC version or even the board game! I decided to order it though, and now I can't get off it! This is completly different from the PC version, apart from the fact you can now play monopoly from the comfort of your arm chair, this game brings the worlds most famous board game to life, with great graphics and new playing tokens. Its great to play with your friends, or against the computer. Finally a PS2 game for the whole family, any age, any time its a great game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GIVE IT A GO!!, 22 Aug. 2007
By 
D. Balbirnie (ESSEX,, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly Party (PS2) (Video Game)
I just wanted a FUN game to play on sometime as I usually buy RPGs/ action games etc..... If ur looking for a good laugh, simple gameplay but addictive then you'll enjoy this!!!! Be better if there was a few more difficulty levels but that aside, well recommended!!
It's easy to get into but I definitely prefer CLASSIC mose cos I think the PARTY mode is just a bit too cluttered and u can always speed thru all the animations on CLASSIC mode anyway so it isn't slow to play anyway!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars monopoly party, 8 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly Party (PS2) (Video Game)
arrived before the time stated and was in very good condition. my son and i have so much fun playing this game as there are two ways you can play it. would reccommend this game for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Dec. 2009
By 
Mrs. C. Feric (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly Party (PS2) (Video Game)
My son has this and loves it, he has both monopoly games. It's great if you like monopoly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wierd, 8 Jun. 2004
This review is from: Monopoly Party (PS2) (Video Game)
great game but it is strange coz everyone plays at the same time. it was confusing the first few times i played it but after a while you get the hang of it. more for the older players and may confuse younger players. original game is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid like the plauge, 2 May 2004
This review is from: Monopoly Party (PS2) (Video Game)
I am a big fan of Monopoly and currently own 2 versions of the game on the PC. So when i saw this in the local shop i had to have it, also the party mode seemed to offer a new angle.
So i thought great I will be able to sit in my arm chair and have a good game.
First bad point is the layout, ITs not to bad in party mode, but in single player it stinks, Why did they have to frame the screen with big coloured bits just to show where you were and the street name, and it doesnt show which properties you own. To see that you have to look at the board, which is by default the area of the player that is rolling. You can change the camera angles to 4 different modes. Overhead....too small to read on a 36" tv. Side on, slightly differnt side on. Or a side on that shows you the playing peice wander out of sight.
The other point is the new when you land on anything a box comes up telling you what you can and cant do, any one who has played it more than once knows that if you have to pay rent you pay it, why give you a box to tell you that.
Trading in the game requires a minimum of a college degree to know what is going on. After reading the manual, and attemping it many a time i still dont have a clue.
If all you own is a console and want to play monopoly then fine buy this, if you have a PC then get the PC version.
And as a suggestion play DRUNKEN MONOPOLY on it.....Rules....
Give everyone a glass and fill with a spirit and mixer, then setup the game for classic, and deal all properties at start, and turn on free parking and double go bonus, so no one runs out of money. Also turn off all animations to speed up play....You wont be playing for long.
Each player plays as normal but dont worry about money as i said.
1. If you have to pay rent = 1 mouthfull of drink
2. If you go to jail = drink the rest of your glass and refill
3. If you land on free parking = Eveyone but you drink the rest of thier glass.
4. If you land on GO = nominate someone to drink their glass.
Within half an hour the game will be forgoten and you will all be very drunk and ready for a night out....THATS WHAT I CALL MONOPOLY PARTY...enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monopoly Party (PS2)
Monopoly Party (PS2) by Namco Bandai (PlayStation2)
£9.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews