Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Hits - but not necessarily their greatest?
This is a fine collection of tracks by any standard and is a good showcase of the bands undoubted greatness. It is just a shame that the band suffered a dip in the quality of their output as they went all postmodernistic and tried to re-invent irony. This minor gripe aside this is a must have of an album for anyone who appreciates what good music is all about. The...
Published on 7 Nov. 2002 by spartapraha24

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No DVD supplied however so a tad disappointed. Amazon had the good grace to credit without ...
CD's as advertised and what you'd expect - it is U2 after all.

No DVD supplied however so a tad disappointed. Amazon had the good grace to credit without any quibble.
Published 10 months ago by Geoff Fenwick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definatley, the definitive BEST OF collection., 1 Nov. 2002
As I consider myself a serious music fan I feel it is my duty to tell the buying public that this should be in your album collection. Whether you have any of the albums which the songs are taken from, buy it. Buy it for the sheer brilliance of the track listing. This album from start to finish is an absolute masterpiece. From classic tracks like "One", to the new hit singles like "Electrical Storm", there is a certain quality to these tracks on this album that you will only ever be able to hear nowadays from a band like U2. Described by critics as the "post-modern" U2, the album features songs from the albums "Achtung Baby", "Zooropa", "Pop" and "All That You Can't Leave Behind". If you have been lucky enough to buy the Limited Edition Album you will be treated to a stunning collection of B-Sides which include "Miss Sarjevo" & "Lady With The Spinning Head". From the minute you put this album on you will be amazed at its sheer qaulity. If you are one of the many people out there who always say "I like all the old U2 stuff" then you really do not have a clue on what you are missing. It may appear that U2 tried to move forward into reinvention but behind all of this nonsense, it's the same U2 people had came to love.
Listen to this album.....then listen to the Best Of 1980-1990......then listen to this album again. You will notice they are different in every way....except their sheer brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking - but you know that already, 13 Nov. 2002
Chances are if you're reading this page then you're already a big U2 fan. If you're a bit U2 fan, then the chances are you've already got most of the songs on the 'Best of...' CD. So why would you want to buy it?
Well, U2 have always been the masters of reinvention, and they've done it again with the format of this collection. Some bands just do a straight copy of their old material and leave it at that. Not U2 - a number of the songs are fresh re-workings or obscure B sides, and a surprising number aren't regular album tracks - take Miss Sarajevo for instance.
My only - and I mean only - gripe is that a lot of the B sides collection are taken from U2's 'dancier' songs and DJ collaborations. No doubt, this makes for an interesting listen, but I'd question whether that's what makes their core audience tick. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Best, 10 Nov. 2002
And so a new decade began and so a new U2 began. With their final act of the 80's having been slated for its overindulgence U2 decided to rip their sound down and start again. The Joshua Tree cut down with chainsaws as Bono was quoted.
Out went big hair, the vests and the waving of flags, in came slick leather gear, irony and of course the fly shades.
This is a great album for the U2 beginner but equally for the U2 fan. 17 tracks on the a side, 14 on the b side and a 4 track dvd extra represents value for money.
The mighty Actung Baby (surely U2's finest work) is represented at its peak with The Fly and One. Zooropa, Pop (all of whoms songs have been reworked), All That You Cant Leave Behind are all represented as is the Passangers song Miss Sajarevo, and the mighty Batman tune Hold Me Thrill Me Kiss Me Kill Me.
New songs Electrical Storm and the beautiful The Hands That Built America point out the direction U2 are now heading.
A fine collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmm......, 7 Nov. 2002
I really wanted to give this a 5, I really did, but alas the awkward arrangement of tracks and the omissions of some of my favourites forced me not too. The biggest mistake was the out of place The First Time. I also feel Lemon should have been included and was dubious at the presence of the inferior Jeep mix on the B-sides disc. However the rest of the album is great. The styles may seem a little mix-matched, but that is the beauty of the ever-changing style of U2. Different yet Wonderful. Besides, it's a compilation of 10 years of work; you can't expect perfect harmony between tracks can you? The play list may be scattered and arranged in a way when the songs do not always flow together. But you can forgive that, as the music is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE FLY !, 17 Mar. 2015
By 
Cristian (Slobozia, Romania) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First off I bought this to get THE FLY in loud remastering !!!! The whole remastering on this Best Of 90's-00's is loud and I can hear sounds that I could never hear before on the original versions...
Second off, there IS NO DVD with this package but luckily I found the History Mix in a local record-shop, doesn't bother me because I had another purpose for buying this CD.
Now I'm going to review this according to the albums the songs come from.
The 5 songs from Achtung Baby benefit from a loud and clear remaster, I can hear sounds and details that I couldn't hear before plus those that where already there are more intense, 5 stars for including THE FLY on this cd, no best of U2 can leave that song out !!! Until the End of the World is Other-Worldly, every time I listen to it I hear something else...In addition the loud drums, bass...Every detail, actually...ON Mysterious Ways there is a slight lyrical difference, I'll let you discover it !
The POP songs are reworked into different mixes (called NEW MIXES)...they are not better than the album versions...Just different.
The ZOOROPA songs...I can't decide if NUmb needed a new mix !!! The FIrst Time is very cool...It's intensity is very well emphasized !!! STAY-faraway so close...I love how Larry's drums sound heavier here !
It would be wrong to say why did they choose that instead of that or there should have also been that on there, when speaking of U2's 90's work....All three albums are great, it's impossible to choose...so If you want the best of the 90's, you gotta have all three..Achtung Baby, Zooropa and POP plus Passengers!!! Which brings me to the minuses.... Cutting up Miss Sarajevo is bad but I can overlook it because this version has THE FLY on it, Baby !!!
The Two New Songs (at the time of this compilation's release-2002) are Awesome...Electrical Storm is pure passion, fury of separation and misunderstanding expressed in a tender, poetic way, marvelous song...this song alone is better than three of U2's safest and most boring albums: "SOI"(Every Breaking Wave could have been a great follow up to Electrical Storm but they didn't listen to Eno and they trashed it on the album...), 'How to dismantle and atomic bomb' and "All that You can Leave Behind", which reminds me...I could have GONE without B-Day and Stuck (boring blab songs) and I'd have thrown in "Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses" and "If You Wear that Velvet Dress" !!!!
I would have added "Levitate", "Love You Like Mad" and "Flower Child" as good 00's work on this cd !

"The hands that Built America" is a good song...Not one of the greatest but a good U2 effort.
The B-Sides CD is Cool but there are too many remixes...I guess they could have added in more B-sides and rare tracks instead of remixes but I can go with this.
All in all I give this 5 stars, especially for the inclusion of The Fly, this song must be on every Greatest U2 Hits compilation ever !!! I second a previous reviewer here and state that the CD should have opened with THE FLY, not close with it ..However, it's great that it's here !!!
I recommend THIS specific version to every serious U2 fan...You can overlook the absence of the DVD and the other small minuses...The great heavy stuff is here for your pure enjoyment, as Loud, Intense and Clear as ever !!!!!
Now off to listen to it again !!!
LAter EDIT: I forgot to mention "Hold me, Thrill me..." Simply because IF you know your U2 then you can't even describe this GEM, it goes without saying, when you say U2, you say HMTMKMKM !!! !!! What MORE can I say about this song? It was my first favourite U2 song after I became a fan !!! It's absolutely great that it can be found here in wonderful remastered quality, It's essential that we can find it here, not only because it highlights what the 90's U2 sounds like but for all those of you (me included) who don't want to buy the Batman Forever soundtrack...
LATER, LATER EDIT: Just came back from listening to it again and I must say THE SHEER power of The Remastered FLY is mind-bending, totally different from what they did on the Uber-Deluxe Remaster in 2011 (Although I rate that 5 stars too and it's highly recommended for the massive Achtung Baby fans !)
Now back to this version...This version is U2 at it's greatest, this song is Hot...Adam's bass is subtle but groovy, thick and nourishing, just what you need to get your life started, just like mother's milk, ain't nothing better than that to kick start your life...IF this song doesn't get you going, then you're dead !!!
EDGE's guitar just takes your whole being and plays with it until the last drop of energy in you is drained but somehow you have regained enough to put this song on replay in a loop !!! The Edge's work on this one, especially the solo, is some of the best in his career !
Larry just whacks you in the back of the head with a hammer, straight from the attic just like Bonzo...He's so rude you LOVE IT !!!
What's left to say about THE FLY himself...He's calling you back from the STAY (faraway, so close) video, you'll have to buy the best of the 90's-00's videos for that, You better tell him you Love the song when he calls or you're F****d !!! I trust you all do love it anyway, so you should be OK tonight when he'll call....Or maybe...Who knows !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Legendary rock gods!, 21 Feb. 2015
U2 are one of those bands that when they release an album, no one will like everything that's on it but you can always guarantee that at least three of the songs will be pure genius...
Unfortunately U2 The best of 1990 - 2000, sells just like a normal one of their albums... The really good songs to listen out for are; One, Beautiful Day, Staring At The Sun, Mysterious Ways, The Hands That Built America, Numb and Miss Sarajevo. They show just how good U2 really can be as a band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars U2 return to the stage, 7 Nov. 2002
I wouldnt say this is better than the 1st 'best of' album, but this is were U2 really widened their scope and gained alot on new fans. This album is 'more rock orientated than the last with in-your-face- riffs and lyrics and just plain weird,i mean U2 and Pavarotti?????. The new version from the 'Pop' album give a small glympse of how great the album could of been, (althought it wasnt THAT bad), When listen to the Zoo Era Songs, you cant help but hold admiration for these classics, writting such tragic songs like 'one' and 'stay' but then delving into the dark side for 'the fly' and 'even better than the real thing'. The new material 'electrical Storm' and 'HTBAmerica' are just wow, they still kno how to write a good song or 2. Althought the version on the b-side is more rockish. Speaking on which the B-sides is mostley remixes and unworked songs. North and South of the river is a must-listen. 'Lady with the spinning head' is a glimpse of what 'the fly' evolved from. over all the album is a MUST have for any u2 fan or people who are just interested
LONG LIVE ZOO TV and THE FLY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation but b-sides will stay in the case, 6 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
This is a great compilation of U2 material for those who grew up in their teens listening to the new musical experimentations of one of the worlds greatest bands. It's full of great rock guitars, catchy melodies and some fantastic lryics. However the b-sides is a bit of a flop. When you consider the great material U2 has produced over the last decade it's a shame that a whole CD is given over to mix's that sound like music from a 1980's spectrum computer game. CD 3 is worth it though. Apart from a great version of electrical storm the b-sides is a flop and that from a big U2 fan. However the quality of the a-sides far outways the 'ruined songs' on the b-sides Cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 30 Sept. 2014
By 
Superb Double CD of all U2's 90's Hits and their relevant B Sides.

Some of the B-Sides are as good as the A Sides which shows you just how good band they are.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No DVD supplied however so a tad disappointed. Amazon had the good grace to credit without ..., 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
CD's as advertised and what you'd expect - it is U2 after all.

No DVD supplied however so a tad disappointed. Amazon had the good grace to credit without any quibble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best of 1990-2000
Best of 1990-2000 by U2 (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews