Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uncompromising rock n roll genius
The Rolling Stones spent much of the sixties in the shadow of the Beatles and, with regards to their respective albums, perhaps deservedly so. However, as this 2-disc retrospective proves, they were every bit as important as their clean-cut contemporaries.
To its credit, Hot Rocks is weighted very much in favour of their late sixties output, which was undoubtedly...
Published on 24 Jun. 2004 by kingcreole78

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware-does not play as an SACD
This review is purely for anybody interested in buying this as an SACD. Amazon's description of this product is misleading. It is a DSD remastered CD only. My SACD player does not recognise it as an SCAD nor I imagine would anybody else's. If you are buying it purely as a CD it seems a perfectly decent remaster. I wish Amazon would take more care in its descriptions. I...
Published on 15 Jun. 2011 by Kevin Mckee


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds better than ever, 29 July 2007
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hot Rocks 1964-1971 (Audio CD)
This two-CD set provides seven years worth of vintage Stones from their peak period. Compare these delectable tracks to the rock music of today and one wonders where things went wrong in the mainstream. Melodic, meaningful, powerful and innovative, these Stones songs represent everything that is special about rock music.

Although there's not one mediocre track here, my favorites include the bluesy Time Is On My Side, Heart Of Stone, Wild Horses and Ruby Tuesday (covered by Melanie Safka among others), the raucous rock of Satisfaction, Get Off My Cloud, Street Fighting Man and Brown Sugar, with songs of social comment (Mother's Little Helper, 19th Nervous Breakdown), and beautiful ballads: As Tears Go By (covered by inter alia Marianne Faithfull), Play With Fire and Paint It Black.

The Stones must be the ultimate rock band, more influential than the Beatles in their 4 decades plus consistency and their exploration of the wilder side of life. This is an absolute masterpiece. If an alien came down and asked me to recommend some quality rock music, this album will top my list. It deserves 7 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound quality isn't Hot, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Rocks 1964-1971 (Audio CD)
This claims to be a remastered 2-CD edition but the sound quality isn't great at all. It is striking how different these songs sound compared to the same songs released on the compilation, Grrr! For sound quality Grrr! is by far the better compilation to buy although this double albums also has it merits. For a start the tracks haven't been 'tidied' like they have on Grrr! - on Grrr! many of the tracks have been trimmed and tidied up losing from 2 to 20 seconds from the ends or beginnings. Also, on this album the song 'You Can't Always Get What You Want' is the original long 7:33 version. On Grrr! it's 4:51 and the sound difference is like chalk and cheese (Grrr! being very clear). But I prefer this long mono remaster version to the shorter remaster on Grrr! though.

Just a note about packaging: This double cd is packaged in the older chunky style double cd cases...so it's quite bulky being twice the width of one CD case. I mention it because it's a pet hate of mine as they take up shelf space unnecessarily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used item in perfect conditions, 14 Nov. 2012
By 
Armando Ortega Ramirez (México, DF) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Rocks 1964-1971 (Audio CD)
I received my product a week ahead of the scheduled date. Thanks for that.

Was a used SACD but I don't care, t'was in such perfect conditions, even the package.

GREAT price for this kind of content.

Gracias!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shows everyone else how it should be done., 9 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Hot Rocks 1964-1971 (Audio CD)
This is a masterclass in what rock music should sound like all over 40 years old and not one of them has aged. Include "It's only Rock and Roll" and the infamous, but hilarious, last unreleased Decca single "CS Blues" and you could do a masters degree in Rock!
Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hot Rocks SACD could be better, 6 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Hot Rocks 1964-1971 (Audio CD)
I certainly can't quibble with the quality of the Stone's music but this reissue is not a step up from previous pressings. While the SACD is certainly more frequency extended both CD and SACD are much harsher to listen to on a good system then the earlier pressings. A good SACD mix or even a good remaster should sound closer to live music. Some of the SACD stuff I've heard lately is jaw droppingly good. I wish this Stones CD was too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh those memories, 7 Jun. 2008
By 
Mr. G. King "70s addict" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Rocks 1964-1971 (Audio CD)
I own this album on vinyl and I loved it back then I love it even more now .This just grows better with age love it love it love it *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hot rocks indeed, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're looking for a record with all the classic Rolling Stones hits you love, this would be the one. Sound quality is good and so is the LP itself. Got it as a present for my dad's birthday and he loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hot rocks cd, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Rocks 1964-1971 (Audio CD)
Happy no problems brilliant album had already but on record good for a CD that has been used andplayed already
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rolling stones, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Rocks 1964-1971 (Audio CD)
lost lp great cd big stones fan always have been saw them in sixties and the eighties and nineties great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stones never fail to please, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Rocks 1964-1971 (MP3 Download)
this album has not been remastered thankfully, so it sounds just like it should do, the tracks sould like they did when we first heard them on the radio many years ago - excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot Rocks 1964-1971
Hot Rocks 1964-1971 by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews