Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic blues-rock with a dash of country
While others argue about the sound quality of various re-issues, I'm very happy with the 2002 version. I don't take the advice in the booklet to play it loud, because I live in a house of multiple occupation and not all of those who would hear it if I did are Stones fans. But I love the album even at normal volumes.

The set opens with Gimmie shelter, a song...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review is about the vinyl
I ordered it because it was cheap. Now I know why it was cheap. The sound is just not right (an odd neither CD nor vinyl sound). I was very afraid when I saw words like 'Direct Stream Digital' and 'Super Bit Mapping Direct' printed on the vinyl cover. Absolutely makes no sense to make vinyls from digital sources. When will they ever learn. Fantastic album, though.
Published on 18 Mar 2011 by 10G3N


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars the best album?, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
What can you say, the best album?! Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Stones - On Vinyl - Need I say More, 23 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed [VINYL] (Vinyl)
The Stones - On Vinyl - Need I say More
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Oct 2014
This review is from: Let It Bleed [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Excellent product and service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
Satisfied :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A faultless classic, 28 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
This record, along with it's predecessor is superb to listen to, even though one or two tracks sound as if they are unfinished, The pick of the tracks are: 'you can't always get what you want'and 'gimme shelter'. Overall this is a timeless classic and a 'must-buy' for any serious Rolling Stones fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of five Stones must-haves, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
If you don't love this record, then you haven't got a heart. Or you were never young. Or you don't like music. From the Delia Smith cake on the cover to its wickedly good content, if someone told me they didn't like this record, I'd know we wouldn't get on. Seven stand-out tracks out of nine, one of them being 'Country Honk' which is by no means duff but not up to the gold standard of the others, a silly messing-around-in-the-studio filler that is blue-grass-inspired. The other (for me) is the insipid country-style 'You Got the Silver' which is a bit lazy and rinky-dink for my tastes but you've probably guessed that country isn't my favourite genre. The other tracks are all classics now, including the Ian Stewart boogie-woogie piano-led 'Let It Bleed', the funky fast-paced R&B of 'Midnight Rambler' (inspired by Albert de Salvo, the Boston Strangler), and 'Gimme Shelter', the song that inspired a generation and begins with a smooth and slightly eerie intro before Charlie quickly changes tempo and Mick joins in, turning it into a full-throated belter with lyrics reflecting social issues at the time of its1969 release including the Vietnam War and flower power love-ins. Jagger is outsung by Merry Clayton on backing vocals, the American session singer of note who also featured on the Performance film soundtrack, and recorded with many top artists including Ray Charles, Neil Young, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Joe Cocker and Tom Jones. She also played The Acid Queen in the early performances of The Who's rock opera 'Tommy' and more recently featured on Tori Amos' 'Cornflake Girl'. The end track 'You Can't Always Get What You Want' has the famous intro sung by London Bach Choral Choir that was often mistakenly believed to be the Westminster Boys School Choir, but it was radical at the time for the bad boys of rock to include a musical form that represented the English Establishment so perfectly. The sweet high pitched innocence of the pre-pubescent voices singing unwittingly about drugs is delicious two-fingered irony, then it segues into Keith Richard's simple acoustic accompaniment as Mick sings about his band's and their mates drug-fuelled lifestyle, including mentioning the record's producer, Jimmy Miller. The talented producer worked on most of the Stones late 60s and 70s output and was well-known for his hedonistic excesses both in and out of the studio. A former drummer, he also joins Mr Watts by banging the drums on this track. Most of the Stones' girlfriends, friends, and session singers who dropped into the studio at the time of recording (including Madeleine Bell) feature on backing vocals. 'Monkey Man' is classic Stones rock, full throttled and sexy, surprisingly upbeat for a song about heroin, it begins with a silvery piano before Richards jumps in with a chugging riff that gets grittier and harder as the song progresses. Jimmy Miller bangs the tambourine on this track. This is also the last album by The Stones with Brian Jones who was dead by the time of its release. Already in a bad way at the start of recording, he managed to provide percussion on 'Midnight Rambler' and autoharp on 'You Got the Silver', another Jagger/Richards foray into country music. 'Let It Bleed', the 8th British album by The Stones, is also notable for the introduction of the youthful Mick Taylor, who replaced Brian Jones, and he can be heard supplying slide guitar on Country Honk and guitar on 'Live with Me.' 'Live With Me' is the other classic Stones rock 'n' blues stomper, beginning with a distinctive bass line provided by Keith Richards before everyone kicks in lustily, with Nicky Hopkins boogie-woogie piano and Charlie Watts's drums taking charge, Mick working hard but singing gleefully about schoolboy preoccupations with sex and nasty habits before Bobby Keys dirty tenor sax wraps it all up into one loud gotta-get-up-and-dance package. This record, the songs, the personnel, even the cover, is a piece of rock history. Everyone involved in the making of it was the cream of the crop, the best of the best, not a single contributor was not or did not become respected and sought-after in their profession, right down to Robert Brownjohn the infamous 60s graphic designer who conceived and designed the cover and who commissioned the then unknown cake maker. All this quality, inspiration and talent is reflected in every track on this classic album, even the country/bluegrass inspired tracks which sound fresher and less out of place today than they did then. A must-have Stones album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Stones album, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
Some great tracks on this album, especially Gimme Shelter, one of my fave tracks of all time. Sound quality is excellent too. If you haven`t got this album you must buy it, now !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greats, 17 April 2013
By 
TheDoc "Billious" (Sidcup, KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
The Stones made some really good albums but they only made two great albums and that was this album and 'Sticky Fingers'. Those two albums were as good as anyone else ever made, that is to say they are two of the greatest rock albums ever.

If you don't have this album then go and buy it now, don't think about just go out and buy it.

Have I made my point?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
Great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let It Bleed (Remastered Super Audio)
Let It Bleed (Remastered Super Audio) by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews