Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The zenith of the Stones' work.
This collection represents the best album the Rolling Stones ever made; some achievement given the competition (Sticky Fingers, Exile on Main St.), and the circumstances recently after the death of Brian Jones.
Of the nine tracks, there is barely a weak link (only the ill-advised Country Honk fails to hit the mark), and many represent classics. From the...
Published on 1 Nov 1999

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review is about the vinyl
I ordered it because it was cheap. Now I know why it was cheap. The sound is just not right (an odd neither CD nor vinyl sound). I was very afraid when I saw words like 'Direct Stream Digital' and 'Super Bit Mapping Direct' printed on the vinyl cover. Absolutely makes no sense to make vinyls from digital sources. When will they ever learn. Fantastic album, though.
Published on 18 Mar 2011 by 10G3N


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of a handful of absolute must-have Stones album, 2 Oct 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
The Stones were on a roll in the late 60s and early 70s: "Beggar's Banquet", "Let it Bleed", "Sticky Fingers", and the magnificent "Exile on Main St." were all recorded over a period of four years between 1968 and 1972.

The Stones' earliest albums were great, plenty of tough soul, rock, and R&B, but around 1970 they reached their creative peak as musicians and songwriters. And yes, "Exile" is their finest hour, but this one is a masterpiece in its own right. Not as immediately accessible as some of their later albums, perhaps, but the gritty and demonic "Let it Bleed" was nevertheless a UK #1 album, temporarily depriving "Abbey Road" of the top spot, and it is one of the most cohesive long players the Stones have ever delivered.

The arrangments are part acoustic, part electric, but with more edgy electric rock and blues-rock numbers than on the stripped-down "Beggar's Banquet" which preceded it. The thumping hard rock of "Live With Me" and "Let It Bleed" ride along on clanging R&B-piano and a rock-solid rhythm section, and Mick Jagger's vocals were never better. Robert Johnson's "Love In Vain" is probably the Stones' best and most atmospheric blues cover, and Keith Richards takes his first solo lead vocal on the slide guitar blues "You Got The Silver" (he had shared lead vocals with Jagger on a couple of songs before that).
The apocalyptic "Gimme Shelter" is all shimmering guitar lines and a hard, edgy drum sound driving the band along. And then there is the grand "You Can't Always Get What You Want", of course, the Stones' 7-minute epic, almost as if in answer to the Beatles' "Hey Jude".

The fidelity on this SACD-remaster is absolutely magnificent, by the way, crisp and clear and realistic. And even the minor songs, "Monkey Man" and the "Honky Tonk Women"-remake of "Country Honk" are very good; both Jagger and Richards have been quoted as saying that this pure country & western-arrangement was actually the way "Honky Tonk Women" was originally conceived, acoustic guitar, country violin and all.

"Let it Bleed" is one of the corner-stones of any Rolling Stones-collection which aims to progress beyond mere compilation albums. It is a classic by any standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Stones in transition, 17 Mar 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
Someone walked off with my vinyl of this in the early seventies (I still remember who, if you read this Tony) and it wasn't the first Stones CD I had to buy when converting everything to CD. When I did get and play it, from the opening of 'Gimme Shelter', I immediately saw what a gem I'd been missing. This is a transitional album, after Brian Jones had gone(he features on two tracks but only on percussion and Autoharp) but before Mick Taylor arrived (only features on Country Honk)

It's like the rest of the band have something to prove and Keith's lead vocal "You got the Silver" is brilliant - as featured in Zabriskie Point. A lot of keyboards, Nicky Hopkins, Leon Russel, possibly some of the last Ian Stewart and some rare Al Koooper. Keith does most of the guitars and the songwriting is some of their best. The weakest thing on here is 'Can't Always Get What You Want' which says much for the other tracks.

It's like when Ronnie Wood joined them they became a charicature of themselves - he was bought in as much for his bad boy image as his playing ability (a la Sid Viscious to the Pistols). This predates all of that and still has some innovative and delicate stuff, before everything became a bit musically formulaic. Even Country Honk sounds great & fresh. Maybe some of those Stones tribute bands should try including it in their repertoire as a medley with the more recognisable (and predictable)Honky Tonk Women.

PS - Much later I was given the book "The Making of Let it Bleed" by Sean Egan. A great companion read and explanation while your listning to this - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review is about the vinyl, 18 Mar 2011
This review is from: Let It Bleed [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I ordered it because it was cheap. Now I know why it was cheap. The sound is just not right (an odd neither CD nor vinyl sound). I was very afraid when I saw words like 'Direct Stream Digital' and 'Super Bit Mapping Direct' printed on the vinyl cover. Absolutely makes no sense to make vinyls from digital sources. When will they ever learn. Fantastic album, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did they ever get better than this?, 14 Aug 2011
This review is from: Let It Bleed (MP3 Download)
The late sixties produced some of the best rock ever and this album was up there with there best
If you like the Stones do not hesitate buy this Album.
Love In Vain is up there with there sleazy best. Gimme Shelter Midnight Rambler Keef riffing never bettered.
For me on a par with Beggars Banquet. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Stones Best - A Must Have Record, 21 Jan 2009
By 
David Wallace (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let It Bleed [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is the Stones at the peak of the powers captured magnificently by Glyn Johns behind the desk. There is not a bad track on the album and it has many classics with Let It Bleed an outstanding cover of a Robert Johnson song (whatever the purists might say), Country Honk showing their versatility and Gimmer Shelter their ability to deliver with power.

For me this is one the best rock albums of all time and one which should be in any self respecting rock fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Stones, 2 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Remastered Super Audio) (Audio CD)
It took me many years to pick up on this album but it is my all time favourite. Superb from start to finish. Terrific drumming from Charlie especially on the opening track - Gimme Shelter. Keef at his best and great (in a sixtiesish sort of way) to hear You Can't Always Get what You Want with the choral opening! Midnight Rambler - very questionable sentiments but fantastic musicianship especially the guitars.
My view is it is better than Exile - more coherent and better songs. A real classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Rolling Stones' albums, 13 May 2011
By 
Dr. W. H. Konarzewski "Dr W. H. Konarzewski" (Colchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
I bought this in vinyl (the mono version) over 40 years ago and recently bought it as a CD. For me it's probably the best Rolling Stones' album with Aftermath coming a close second. For what it's worth I think the best five tracks in order of preference are (1) You can't always get what you want (2) Gimme shelter (3) Monkey man (4) Let it bleed (5) Live with me. The other tracks are all of a high standard, especially Midnight Rambler. Most of the Stones' albums have at least a couple of weak tracks but not this one. It's still as fresh now as it was for decades ago. Some of the lyrics are extraordinary if you listen closely: "My best friend he shoots water rats and feeds them too his geese, don't you think there's a place for us, in between the sheets?" - perhaps not Byzantine reasoning but definitely intriguing. I still don't see the connection. The only thing I don't like about it is the cover which just doesn't look quite right. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best stones album ever, 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
Probably my favourite Stones album. I made it a mission as a youth to get all of them in chronological order. I completed the set but unfortunately had a lot of boring albums to listen to. Let it bleed was in the middle of their best, most innovative periods. From the majesties to Goats head soup they were un-rivalled on the planet. This boasts Gimme shelter and the smoking- smooth Midnight rambler. The first place to start your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stones at their peak before the Exile!!, 12 July 2011
By 
Neil Bilbe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Audio CD)
I have never got the hype surrounding Exile despite numerous attempts. This is raw bluesy classic Stones and sounds like you are standing in the booths next to them while they record it. A great remaster capturing the intimacy of a band laying down one of their best albums (Sticky Fingers is the other one). Buy it and mellow out on Gimme Shelter, Love In Vain, You Can't Always Get What You Want & Midnight Rambler. Just listen to the acoustic intro on the title track, yes it's Keff in your living room!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class, 23 May 2004
This review is from: Let It Bleed (Remastered Super Audio) (Audio CD)
It opens with Gimme Shelter.. closes with You Cant Always Get What You Want. Thats just two reasons for you to buy this album. Gimme Shelter is possibly one of the greatest rock n roll songs off all time. It gives out this raw energy that you only really get from live performances and with the brilliant yet haunting backing vocals from Merry Clayton, a rock n roll song doesn't get much better. Love in Vain is another brilliant tune. Originally a Robert Johnson number from 1936, the Stones make this their own little bluesy number with a great result.. Country Honk is a basically a country version of Honkey Tonk Women. It comes complete with fiddle and a little variation on the lyrics as well. The title tune is a brilliant country/rock number. Its timing in the album is perfect as its just around the middle and leads the way for the amazing Midnight Rambler. Keith gets his first lead vocal with You Got The Silver, a slow acoustic number. Its an excellent slow ghostly country/rock number. Monkey Man is a forgotten classic. This song is decades ahead of its time. This is a really funky cool track. It should have been on the Forty Licks in my opinion. You may have heard it in Goodfellas or Casino. Live with Me is good song and lthough its my least favorite on the album its still a very strong track that the boys performed live at many of their Forty Licks gigs. Last but by no means least, is the brilliant You Cant Always Get What You Want. Theres nothing I can say about this song that hasn't already been said a thousand times by before. Its an absolute masterpiece. If there is one thing I would say against this album its that its too short. Only nine songs. And to think that Honky Tonk Women was recorded druing the same sessions yet wasnt included! My favorite Stones album is Exile but this runs it a very very close second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let It Bleed (Remastered Super Audio)
Let It Bleed (Remastered Super Audio) by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews