Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My fave death metal band
These guys are what dm is all about. Ridiculous lyrics, brutal heavy extreme music, comic gore artwork.
This is a must have vinyl, and I take my hat off to Back in Black label here. Treat yourself and buy some glorious dm vinyl. Saw these guys in Nottingham earlier in the year, and the shear heaviness of sound blew me away.
Published on 14 Nov 2009 by T. Lill

versus
2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit too much
Ok, I had heard all about the lyrics to the Corpses music, but when I actually read them, man they scrape the bottom right out of the barrel. The music is quite good, I must admit. There are some great riffs in there. But when I try to listen to the album right through, it is a hard listen. Could it be TO noisy? Mabey. Mabey not. And you cannot make out the lyrics if you...
Published on 3 Sep 2003 by steven_reid69


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My fave death metal band, 14 Nov 2009
By 
T. Lill "timlill" (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Butchered At Birth [VINYL] (Vinyl)
These guys are what dm is all about. Ridiculous lyrics, brutal heavy extreme music, comic gore artwork.
This is a must have vinyl, and I take my hat off to Back in Black label here. Treat yourself and buy some glorious dm vinyl. Saw these guys in Nottingham earlier in the year, and the shear heaviness of sound blew me away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Claustrophobic Brutality!, 8 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Butchered at Birth (Audio CD)
Cannibal Corpse are routinely derided by Death Metal snobs, but the fact remains that their first 4 albums are classics of the genre.
'Butchered At Birth' is their 1991 sophomore release and still sounds supremely brutal: the music has a distinctly claustrophobic feel, the sick guitar tone is strangely dry (yet suffocatingly brutal) and because it lacks a deep bass sound allows the ugliness of Chris Barnes' vocals to shine through ... or at least gargle up from the gutter!
In my opinion this is one of Barnes' best vocal performances, along with that of 'The Bleeding' and 'True Carnage' (with Six Feet Under).
This album is pure death metal sickness from start to finish, with nary a chance to recover from the vileness of one song before the next onslaught of sickness begins! If you like the Death Metal-lite of Hate Eternal, Decapitation, etc this may not be to your taste.
As a bonus this album has such a sharp sound that you can crank it up REALLY loud without the bass blowing out your speakers!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Death Metal Classic, 23 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Butchered at Birth (Audio CD)
Serious Death Metal fans should have this one in their collection, this is an incredible masterpiece for people who like extreme music. as for all the people who put them down and I know many who do, the truth is most dont have a clue as to how hard this stuff is to perform. Bottom Line: A Must For all Metalheads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Blowing, 20 Dec 2013
This review is from: Butchered At Birth [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Just when you thought it was safe to turn the music up along comes Chris Barnes with an awesome vocal delivery.
This is CC at their death defying best. Play it loud for full effect. This ground breaking album is accompanied by some of the most imaginative artwork of the last 50 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cannibal corpse, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butchered at Birth (Audio CD)
excellent band ... amazing music ... top rated metal band of the century ... artwork amazing ... not for the faint hearted .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of Cannibal Corpse, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butchered at Birth (Audio CD)
Altho this a great, brutal album from the band Cannibal Corpse, 'Butchered At Birth' really isnt their best work. The riffs arnt very remember-able and the production of this album is somehow worse than their earlier work, which doesnt seem to make any sense. Its still a great death metal album and better than most from today and I still listen to it from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whoops! Cannibal corpse done it again! musical ecstacy!!, 15 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Butchered at Birth (Audio CD)
Incredible! atmosphere to the music. Fantastic guitars, vocals and stunning drums. The music on this album is the musical equivelent of having your face smashed in with a sledgehammer or being driven over by a 20 ton truck. Cannibal Corpse make bands such as Slipknot, Marilyn Manson and Slayer sound like a couple of whining babies when compared to cannibal corpse's deafening guitars, drums and amazing vocals. All other So-called Death metal bands give death metal a bad name. Cannibal corpse will rock your world whether or not you like death metal. After listening to this your hooked to death metal for life. Makes you feel like you could headbang 24 hours a day. This album is total musical ecstacy for the mind it makes you feel like vandalising something like your own television set! So energetic it makes you feel literally like your heart is beating so fast that it will pop out of your chest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great album, but stumbles with Rusay's guitarring., 18 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Butchered at Birth (Audio CD)
There is some pretty creepy stuff going on in this album which results in it becoming a deathmetal masterpiece. It has a great track listing, with pounding rythms which rattle through your brain at a phenominal speed so it is not for the faint of heart or those with a weak stomach for that matter. The tracks on this are superior to those on Cannibal's previous album, but they still suffer from the sluggish guitars by Rusay. This is it's only downfall with Barnes' low groans and gargles covering it up and Websters' bass bringing in the more sludgy deathmetal attitude towards the album. The titles and lyrics may be over the top but one has to cast a smile on its extremity and then relax in its musical power and malevolence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sick, disturbing, distgusting.....but fantastic, 6 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Butchered at Birth (Audio CD)
This is probably the best death metal album i've ever heard. The vocals are the lowest, most powerful grunts ever recorded and the music has some of the heaviest riffs, skull pounding drums and sludgiest bass lines your ever likly to hear. Tracks like "meat hook sodomy", "under the rotted flesh" and "covered with sores" all help this to be a truly terrifying release. The art work and lyrics are totally sick, i'm not going to deny. I knew what people had said about the lyrics but it wasnt untill i actually read them that i realised what all the fuss was about, trust me they aint pretty. But its what you hear when you put this in your CD player that matters. And luckiy what you'll hear is one hell of a death metal album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This album simply rules., 19 Mar 2001
This review is from: Butchered at Birth (Audio CD)
If your looking for the heaviest music around then this is the band for you, the guitar is amazing, the drums fast and the lyrics pretty messed up, especially on track "butchered at birth" but you can't make out what he's saying anyway so it makes little difference. If your easily offended then don't buy this album go buy some weiner thing like the backstreet boys, however if your like me and prefer decent stuff, i strongly suggest you buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Butchered at Birth
Butchered at Birth by Cannibal Corpse (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews