Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is great! It is now our family holiday movie!
'Mrs Winterbourne' is brilliant. It has a good story and a great cast. The first time I watched it, over 3 years ago now, I immediatly went out & bought the book by Cornell Woolrich. In a word? Classic.
Published on 4 April 2001

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lying Does Pay!
This film stars Shirley MacLaine, Ricki Lake and Brendan Fraser. It is directed by Richard Benjamin and based on the novel 'I Married a Dead Man' by Cornell Woolrich. The tagline of 'The story of a girl who is going from filthy to rich' says it all, a sweet little romantic comedy.

Connie Doyle (Lake) is left pregnant and homeless by her creep of a boyfriend...
Published on 3 May 2011 by Miss R. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lying Does Pay!, 3 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Mrs Winterbourne [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This film stars Shirley MacLaine, Ricki Lake and Brendan Fraser. It is directed by Richard Benjamin and based on the novel 'I Married a Dead Man' by Cornell Woolrich. The tagline of 'The story of a girl who is going from filthy to rich' says it all, a sweet little romantic comedy.

Connie Doyle (Lake) is left pregnant and homeless by her creep of a boyfriend. With no where to go she ends up on a train without a ticket. She is rescued by a young man a Mr Hugh Winterbourne who is travelling with his pregnant wife to meet the family. As the two women compare notes the train suddenly derails and everything is thrown into chaos. Waking up days later Connie finds herself and her newborn baby in hospital with the wrong name tags. During the confusion of the wreck Connie has been mistaken for Patricia Winterbourne Hugh's wife. With Hugh and the real Patricia dead Connie tries to fix things with the family. Arriving at the family mansion Connie realises that no one knows about the mistake and that Hugh's mother Grace (MacLaine) has a heart condition. Not wanting to hurt her, Connie plays along letting her child pretend to be Hugh's. Hugh's twin brother Bill (Fraser) knows from the start that there is something about Connie that doesn't add up and as Connie tries to fit in with the rich upper classes she stands out more. As Connie and Bill get to know each other they become more than friends and Connie's life looks like it is going to finally work out. That is at least until the real baby's father shows up and blackmails Connie with the truth. With limited options Connie has no choice but to do something drastic to save her new family.

This is a gem of a mistaken identity story. You have to confusion of the mistake, the tension of will she be found out and the hope that everything will work out in the end. The performances of the cast are superb with Lake's portrayal of a confused young woman who only wants to do what's right, to Fraser's extemporary performance of Bill's change from a stuff shirt to a more likeable character that doesn't care what Connie is. The show stealer however is in my opinion Shirley MacLaine's portrayal as the mother-in-law Grace, her stunning acting range from joy to sorrow leaves the audience wanting more. Put these three great actors together and you have a sure fire hit. This is a true Cinderella story that we all wish could be are own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is great! It is now our family holiday movie!, 4 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mrs Winterbourne [VHS] (VHS Tape)
'Mrs Winterbourne' is brilliant. It has a good story and a great cast. The first time I watched it, over 3 years ago now, I immediatly went out & bought the book by Cornell Woolrich. In a word? Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Winterbourne [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Shirley MacLaine at her best and one of the funniest penultimate scenes in films. It is well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice film, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Winterbourne [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Product received in time frame. Product as described. Have watched the film and there are no problems with it. Lovely feel good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Winterbourne dvd, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Winterbourne [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Have watched this film on tv, so was pleased to be able to buy it. The dvd arrived on time and was in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs Winterbourne, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Winterbourne [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
delicious, funny film for all the family to see. Thanks for such good film. I do no know what else to say..,..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great present, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Winterbourne [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
this was a mothers day present and it went down a treat. My mother in law has been looking for it for a long time and now she has it . sound is good picture is good. overall a great item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely film, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Winterbourne [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I always have like this film very much and i adquired at Amazon because it was translated to Spanish, that was the mail reason because although I can speak and understand English some times I like to see the films in my own language.

Thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good family film, 7 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mrs Winterbourne [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Didnt recognise Ricki Lake initially, but what a good family film. First saw it in Cyprus on TV channel and didnt get to see it all, so ordered when I got home, and glad that I did. Pleasure to sit down and watch a film with a bit of light comedy and a nice ending! Well worth a look
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mrs winterbourne- fabulous, 14 Sep 2003
This review is from: Mrs Winterbourne [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is absolutly brilliant! Between a pregnancy, a low life boyfriend and a major case of mistaken identity this film has got some great twists and turns... it really is a must see... great family film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mrs Winterbourne [DVD] [2002]
Mrs Winterbourne [DVD] [2002] by Richard Benjamin (DVD - 2002)
4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews