Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable film - even if you haven`t seen the first!
Jon Bon Jovi stars in this pretty entertaining horror flick. Vampires: Los Muertos centers on vampire hunter-for-hire Derek Bliss.When a new client hires him to hunt down a vampire queen in Mexico, he starts to form a team only to discover that all his potential members have just been brutally killed. But soon he gathers a crew and sets off across the Mexican landscape...
Published on 16 Feb 2006

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This really sucks!
The first film in the Vampires trilogy is a classic, thanks mainly to the slick script, fast paced storyline and an uba-cool James Woods. This follow-up offering lacks everything really; nothing for the gore fiends to get remotely excited about, a flimsy story and pretty dire acting.

Jon Bon Jovi gives it a good go, but in comparison to Woods in the original...
Published on 3 Jan 2011 by The Dandy Highwayman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This really sucks!, 3 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Vampires: Los Muertos [DVD] (DVD)
The first film in the Vampires trilogy is a classic, thanks mainly to the slick script, fast paced storyline and an uba-cool James Woods. This follow-up offering lacks everything really; nothing for the gore fiends to get remotely excited about, a flimsy story and pretty dire acting.

Jon Bon Jovi gives it a good go, but in comparison to Woods in the original he pails into mediocity. There was some excellent special effects in the first film, but all we get here is vampires bursting into flames over and over and over again. I was really bored by the end.

I notice that this sequal is 'presented' by John Carpenter, but not actually directed by him. It's patently obvious on reflection.

Dare I say, I bought this movie as a part of the Vampires Trilogy Box-Set and I haven't watched the third and final part yet...I dread to think how rubbish it's going to be if this is anything to go by!

All in all, a poor film with very little going for it. Buy and watch Vampires (the first one), but draw the line, very firmly, right there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable film - even if you haven`t seen the first!, 16 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Vampires: Los Muertos [DVD] (DVD)
Jon Bon Jovi stars in this pretty entertaining horror flick. Vampires: Los Muertos centers on vampire hunter-for-hire Derek Bliss.When a new client hires him to hunt down a vampire queen in Mexico, he starts to form a team only to discover that all his potential members have just been brutally killed. But soon he gathers a crew and sets off across the Mexican landscape. Vampires: Los Muertos has enough ,chills,thrills, eye candy and gore to be a satisfying vampire film.
I saw this without watching the first and it`s very easy to follow.
Vampires: Los Muertos - check it out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great film, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampires: Los Muertos [DVD] (DVD)
a really good vampire film, bon jovi played a great part as the vampire killer, would definately recommend to friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, good price, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampires: Los Muertos [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this as a present for my sister in law. She is a big fan of Jon Bonjovi and she is very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Vampires Movie, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampires: Los Muertos [DVD] (DVD)
This is the Best Movie. I can see it again and again. I Like Movies from this Type. My Regard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bon Jovi - the Vampire Hunter., 30 Dec 2003
By A Customer
A strange film to say the least! Don't know if it was meant to be funny or not but it had a few classic comic moments like when the young boy arrived to help Lord with a permission slip from his mum!!! Another highlight was when Jon Bon Jovi took off his shirt...not really sure why.....but it kept my interest in the film! The ending wasn't that clear but maybe it was setting the scene for a sequel.....hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent dvd, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampires: Los Muertos [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely great film love the vampire stuff would recommend this dvd and seller to all my friends and family who love vampires
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Vampires: Los Muertos, 29 April 2013
This review is from: Vampires: Los Muertos [DVD] (DVD)
Not sure why John Carpenter made this sequel of an orginal by him. The film is slow in places and the horror is predictable in places. Jo Bon Jovi wonders around in this picture trying to make a dull picture more appealing. Bon Jovi's obvivous exeperience with speaking a little Mexican shines through in this film . Sadly, this doesn't make this film anymore desirable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jon Bon The Vampire Hunter., 11 Sep 2011
This review is from: Vampires: Los Muertos [DVD] (DVD)
Vampires: Los Muertos is the Sequel to John Carpenters original James Woods starring Vampires. Now I love John Carpenter films and enjoyed vampires and felt it was a 4 out of 5 movie. James woods was great and the direction and score was excellent but I still felt overall it didn't work as well as many of Carpenters earlier 5 out of 5 films.
I'm giving Vampires:Los Muertos 3.8 out of 5 as I think it flows well with the first film, improving and developing certain aspects of the original films ideas and the score is good with an entertaining cast. This film is clearly a low budget follow up but I felt compared to most low budget horror films this film worked. There was a plot to follow, some gory scenes, some good characters, a great lead female Vampire and an O.K. twist. You do miss an actor like James Woods but Jon Bon Jovi still plays a likeable lead with a very good entrance into the movie. I didn't find any of the cast annoying and there was only one scene where if I had been the Director I would have changed it to have made the scene more convincing.
If you're the sort of person who can enjoy unnessary but good sequels like Tremors 2, Return of the Living Dead 2, Nightmare on Elm Street 2, Ghostbusters 2, Gremlins 2, Stayin Alive, Starship Troopers 2, Resident Evil 2, Highlander 2 etc then I think you'll enjoy Vampires:Los Muertos. If your definately the sort of person that only enjoys original movies then this film is one to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, 8 Mar 2011
This review is from: Vampires: Los Muertos [DVD] (DVD)
Bon Jovi are my favourite band and have been for a long time. I don't think JBJ is a bad actor, it's just that he hasn't found his niche yet. But a vampire slayer he is not. If I want vampire slaying mayhem I'll watch the Blade trilogy.

The thing that really surprised me about this movie is the name John Carpenter. Some of his earlier films are some of my favourite all time movies, The Thing, Escape From New York for instance. This however, just doesn't hit the spot. Maybe he should have got Kurt Russell in the lead role and JBJ to write the soundtrack. Just a thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vampires: Los Muertos [DVD]
Vampires: Los Muertos [DVD] by Tommy Lee Wallace (DVD - 2002)
3.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews