Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very funny movie!
When Ted Brooks (played by Cuba Gooding Jr.), a happy and successful dentist in sunny Miami, finds out that he is adopted, and his birth mother has just died, he flies off to her home in Alaska to learn what he can about his background. Arriving in the tiny backwoods town of Tolketna, Ted finds life at it's rawest (and coldest). It turns out that his mother was a sled dog...
Published on 17 Nov 2004 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Inoffensive Enough
Lightweight family film - the familiar theme is a city boy out of his comfort zone in an icy wilderness amidst a host of colourful local characters. This time there's the additional interest of a dog team with attitude which should add some appeal for dog lovers. There are a few mildly amusing moments and the movie is generally inoffensive enough.
Published on 25 Aug 2011 by Shrewlord


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very funny movie!, 17 Nov 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
When Ted Brooks (played by Cuba Gooding Jr.), a happy and successful dentist in sunny Miami, finds out that he is adopted, and his birth mother has just died, he flies off to her home in Alaska to learn what he can about his background. Arriving in the tiny backwoods town of Tolketna, Ted finds life at it's rawest (and coldest). It turns out that his mother was a sled dog racer, and about the only thing she left behind was a pack of mischievous sled dogs.
Rising to the occasion, Ted sets out to learn how to be a musher, somewhat aided (and somewhat hindered) by the grizzled old backwoodsman Thunder Jack (James Coburn). Braving the tricks of his own dogs, the barbs of the locals, thin ice, bears, skunks, and a host of other obstacles, Ted learns about himself, and about Thunder Jack. [Color, released in 2002, with a running time of 1 hour, 39 minutes.]
This is a very funny movie. I must admit that my kids asked for this movie, and I really had no intention of watching it. But, just being around, I found myself [pulled] into the story, and soon I was sitting with my kids laughing as loud as either of them! As for extras on the DVD, it amounted to a snowmobile game, some deleted and extended scenes, and three featurettes on the making of the movie.
OK, we weren't thrilled with the extras, but we were thrilled with the movie. It is great, and makes the purchase of the DVD well worth it. We highly recommend this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Dogs [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
For those who like stories which encompass the lives of humans and their friends of the animal kingdom this tale is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely film, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Dogs [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
A lovely film especially for animal lovers, a feel good movie! If you like the movie Eight Below, then you will also like this, recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Go on, see it!, 23 Nov 2002
By 
T Turner - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Snow Dogs [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I saw this under duress, well, I was trapped under a sleeping baby but I actually really enjoyed this. Its a fun, family film that has you rooting for Cuba Gooding Jnrs character and gives you a warm and fuzzy at the same time. A perfect sunday afternoon-in-with-the-kids movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well it made me laugh, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Dogs [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Recently got back from Norway where we did a husky ride so just had to get this film. Very funny and well made - but don't watch the extra bits as it destroys the illusion of a real husky pack. Definitely one to keep and watch again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So cute, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Dogs [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Great fun film that is very high on the cute factor especially "Devil Dog". Maybe not the best story in the world but have certainly seen a lot worse - has a beginning, middle and end - lots of human interest and all ends tied up at end plus the cutest of dogs - what more could you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Dogs [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I chose this rating as it is good for family viewing, it's entertaining and funny. Would recommend it happily to friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Dogs [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Could believe my luck when I found on dvd. Loved it at cinema purchased video when out. Always wanted on dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Dogs [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
got this for my daughter, i watched it first, good film but not one I'd watch over, but good all the same, i prefer the snow buddies personally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snow Dogs, 12 Jan 2003
This review is from: Snow Dogs [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I thought that this movie was absolutely fantastic and i thought that Cuba Gooding Jnr did the film justice. The special effects that were used to make the dogs talk was magnificent. My favourite part of the movie was when Cuba Gooding Jnr goes into the house and is practically held hostage by the dogs ( as they do not trust him).
The Border Collie that was used in the movie was the cutest dog i have ever seen and if there was a special animal award then i think that the collie would be favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snow Dogs [DVD] [2002]
Snow Dogs [DVD] [2002] by Brian Levant (DVD - 2002)
3.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews