Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this shiny metal ass, 2 Feb 2003
This review is from: Futurama - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Due, in no small way, to absolutely ridiculous scheduling by Channel 4 (“Oh, the cricket’s finished early, what have we got to fill a twenty-minute gap?”), Futurama, Matt Groening’s follow up to The Simpsons, has never quite achieved the popularity that the dysfunctional yellow family commands in the UK. Which is a huge shame, because Futurama is bigger, ruder and funnier than The Simpsons ever was.
Following the adventures of Philip Fry, an idiot who got cryogenically frozen by accident and defrosted in the year 3000, Futurama brings together a group of freaks and oddballs and lets the chips fall. You can forget the science-fiction aspect of it because there isn’t really one – this comedy is all about human interaction and family values.
This exquisitely designed boxset contains the entire second production season (which translates to half of the second and third broadcast seasons). That’s nineteen episodes, spread across four discs. Those who lament Region 2’s inferiority might like to bear in mind that there’s still no release date for either this or the first season boxset in the US.
The episodes are universally great, not a single duff gag to be found. If you’re a fan of the series these are worth having just for all the rude jokes that get cut for TV. And if that wasn’t enough, every single episode has a full-length commentary with Matt Groening, David X Cohen (Exec Producer) and a host of others (including voice talent) which rarely fail to be entertaining, even if you do occasionally notice the strain of filling 437 minutes.
More gems can be found in the extras menus; deleted scenes, animatics, character profiles and Easter eggs abound.
It’s to be expected that the picture is in TV format with mere stereo sound and this is not in any way a detraction from the value of the set. Quality-wise, both are immaculate. Rarely has a disc been so deserving of your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Futurama Complete Second Season, 5 Feb 2004
This review is from: Futurama - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Simpsons, Family Guy, King of the Hill, Futurama. These 4 "Adult" Cartoon shows broadcast by Fox are all great in their own way. Sadly Family Guy and Futurama, which i thought could have even beat the Simpsons were cancelled after only a short run. I don't know what fox was thinking but Family Guy never really got established. Back to Futrama however, unlike the Simpsons, it's first season, since it was started by Matt Groening in about 1999, had highly polished and well done animation. Also unlike the simpsons, its animation hasnt changed drastically which I think is fine cause it's really great. The first season was awesome, the only drawback was its 13 episodes is a little short. This, along with simpsons season 3 are the ones I've been waiting for. All episodes from season 2 plus three from season 3 are rumored to be on this set. The complete list is as follows (19 episodes) Running Time: over 7 hours =)
1. I second that emotion
2. Brannigan begin again
3. A head in the polls
4. Xmas story
5. Why must I be a crustacean in love?
6. Put your head on my shoulder
7. Lesser of two evils
8. Raging bender
9. A bicyclops built for two
10.How Hermes requisitioned his groove back
11.A clone of my own
12.The deep south
13.Bender gets made (AKA Bendfellas)
14.The problem with popplers
15.Mother's day
16.Anthology of interest I
17.War is the h-word
18.The honking
19.The cryonic woman
Bottom Line:
Pure Genius
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Makes a man turn neutral?, 27 Nov 2002
This review is from: Futurama - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Just one of the many great quotes from Matt Greoning's latest DVD set!
Futurama Season 2 once again follows the adventures of Bender, Lela, Fry, Zoidberg and the rest of the crew on another fun filled season, Delivering goods to planets beteen earth and the edges of the known universe... Well, that's what they are SUPPOSED TO DO. The truth is that they only actually deliver 4 or 5 things in all 19 episodes... the rest of the time is one long run of goofing off, and trying to avoid work, only as 31st century folks can!
Follow our gang into the sewers of NNYC, to the depths of the lost city of Atlanta, or to Lela's home planet. Or, you can follow Zap Brannigan's one-man-crusade against the Neutral Planet in "Brannigan Begin Again".
No matter where our heroes go, you can always be assured of a good laugh, so buy this DVD, and keep yourself warm this winter!
Also, the Commentry isn't half bad, either, with each episode containing at least 5 members of the creative team, and atleast 2 of them worked on the simpsons, as well. And you get all the jokes from behind the scenes of the show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I may be biased, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I may be biased but I absolutely love Futurama and this season is one of the funniest.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone who likes to laugh out loud as it is easy to watch and hillariously funny.
Welcome to the world of tomorrow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TV comedy at its best, 10 April 2003
By 
Fraser Lovatt "Fraser" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Futurama - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The second box set of Futurama shows the characters developing even more and the allows further glimpses of the sheer scope of the universe they inhabit. Sadly, Fox somehow missed their potential and cancelled the series, but there you go.
Some of Futurama’s best episodes are on these disks – Dr Zoidberg shines very brightly here, there are hilarious film references you can feel a some shame-tinted geek pride in spotting, and the animation is beautiful.
Special features are a bit thin, and the commentary is a bit weak – but the primary material here, the episodes, is strong, you really just don’t care. Genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Futurama, 18 July 2013
By 
JHvW "JHvW" (Pays Bas, Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say? I am a fan. Buying the series second hand is a good way of watching your favourite episodes whenever you want. I have been informed that the first four series are the best. So I have them all. If you like the Simpsons and are into science fiction comedy, this is defenitely for you. It is rude and extremely funny (in a sort of "Married with children"-way, but that is may be due to the fact that one of the voices is done by Katey Sagal).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A second epic series, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone whos got season 1 on dvd should definatley get this season 2 aswell and it shall not dissapoint as it continues where season one left off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT OLD CARTOON, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
IV'E COLECTED A FEW NOW AND I HAVE ALWAY'S BEEN VERY PLEASED WITH THEM, IF YOU LIKE ADULT CARTOON'S THEN THIS IS FOR YOU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars futurama season 2, 16 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the first season and loved this one. The best character is bender and we now think they are better than the simpsons. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants some easy watching with laughs thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funny story's to make you laugh, 15 July 2010
This review is from: Futurama - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 2 of Futurama is definately a good season, it's hilarious, the stroies are always good and it's fantastic fun.
My fave eps from this season are "I Second That Emotion", "Xmas Story", "Why Must I Be A Crustacean in Love?", "The Lesser of Two Evils", "Raging Bender", "How Hermes Requisitioned his Groove Back", "Bender Gets Made", "The Problem with Popplers", "Anthology of Interest 1" and "War is The H Word
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Futurama: Season 2 [VHS] [1999]
Futurama: Season 2 [VHS] [1999] by Billy West (VHS Tape - 2002)
Used & New from: £3.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews