Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wake up...!
I bought this album after catching Missy Elliott’s latest single 'Gossip Folks' on the radio, and finding the tune buzzing around in my head for days afterwards.
Listening to the album for me was like taking a cold shower, it woke me up to a different kind of music than I would usually listen to, it really made me sit up and listen, and now I am completely...
Published on 22 April 2003 by Philip Roberts

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars acceptable
the cd is good but the top cover of the box is broken. As regards the shipment has been within the terms
Published on 1 May 2012 by Dario


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wake up...!, 22 April 2003
By 
Philip Roberts (Brighton - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this album after catching Missy Elliott’s latest single 'Gossip Folks' on the radio, and finding the tune buzzing around in my head for days afterwards.
Listening to the album for me was like taking a cold shower, it woke me up to a different kind of music than I would usually listen to, it really made me sit up and listen, and now I am completely hooked!!
16 tracks of amazing R&B and hip hop including a couple of remix tracks, one from Brighton Boy fat Boy Slim, which is simply amazing. My favourite track remains 'Gossip Folks' but also 'Work it' and 'Can You Hear Me?' featuring TLC are memorable tracks. 'Back in the day' is a very cool track and shows Missy's vocals off in a different light. There is nothing on this album that disappoints.
Not just the content of the actual CD make 'Under Construction' stand out, the memorial to artists that have passed away is genuine and very cool, and you can tell from the memorial to Aaliyah that Missy Elliott has a heart and respect for her fellow music makers.
This Album is the beginning of a learning circle for me, and an appreciation of a style of music that thanks to missy I am now starting to enjoy and understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MISSY WORKS IT WELL, 27 April 2003
After purchasing 'Da Real World' and 'Miss-E so Addictive', and hating them, I was extremely wary when it came to Under Construction, as it seemed like she only released the good singles. This album, Under Construction, has turned that on its head!
Missy is undisputedly the most commercially successfull female rapper in the music industry, getting way more recognition than the likes of Lil' Kim, Trina, Angie Martinez and Foxy Brown. That is because Missy has gone, to some extent, more mainstream with this album. The hard beats are still there, but a number of tracks slide towards r'n'b rather than rap.
Single 'Work It' is one of the best on the whole album. The kind of ethnic vibe to it, the catchy chorus and the great rhyming are what makes it great, and there's a remix with 50 Cent on the special edition. The other single - the Fatboy Slim Remix of Gossip Folks - is just mental. It is absolutely manic, and fantastic. However, the album original isn't too good.
Slide, Play That Beat and Ain't That Funny are the Missy of old, but she manages to incorporate some r'n'b funk into them. Slide is much like Work It, and Ain't That Funny is seriously stylish.
Two of the slower songs - Pussycat and Nothing Out There For Me (featuring Beyonce Knowles) - are done expertly. Pussycat is a smooth slice of r'n'b, in the vein of Mya or Brandy. Nothing Out There For Me is kind of an argument between Missy and Beyonce over Beyonce's relationship, with each girl giving their side of the argument, and it's great.
The other songs aren't that special, and Ms Jade - who features on Funky Fresh Dressed - is probably the worst guest artist that Missy has had on an album. She is simply vile on the song. Back In The Day, Bring The Pain, they're all pretty average.
Missy does shock on Can You Hear Me, where she shows a soft side to her. She duets with TLC, and together they mourn over Aaliyah and Lefteye. It is a very moving song.
Overall, Under Construction symbolises Missy's best work to date. She has stuck with her trademark attitude whilst becoming more modern at the same time. This album is well worth ago, whether you're into rap or r'n'b. More Missy please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Buying This Album Would Be A Mistake, 15 Jan 2003
This review is from: Under Construction (Audio CD)
This album is by far the best effort from Missy Elliot to date the album is full of great tracks from the lead of single Work It to her new single Gossip Folks with Ludacris.
The album has some guest apperances on there from Method Man, Ludacris, Jay-Z, Ms Jade, Beyonce, TLC and 50 Cent on the remix of Work It and with great production by Timbaland on the album makes it one of the best cds of 2002 and 2003.
The stand out tracks of this album include the catchy single gossip folks with ludacris, back in the day with Jay-Z, funky fresh dressed with ms jade, nothing out there for me with beyonce and the work it remix with 50 Cent. One of the best singles on the album and most personal on the album is can you hear me which is the tribute to aaliyah and lisa left eye lopez.
Buying this album will not be a waste of money it is a great cd as every song is a good track and its raw to buy music today that is as good as this album.
This album is a classic in its own right a must for all Missy fans throughout the world and this album places missy as one of the greatest female artists today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Construction (Audio CD)
Regularily purchase from this seller, as always provides top quality used items, in excellent condition. very reliable and trusted.

CD like new.... true value for money bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS MISSY AT HER FINEST.........., 12 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Under Construction (Audio CD)
This missy album is off the hook, its crazzzy there is nofin out there like it! From the massive 'Work It' to her nu single 'Go To Tha Floor' its all mad crazy Timbaland and Missy beats at their best! The track with tlc is mad hot and pay true respect to my girls Aaliyah and Left - Eye (RIP) Also Ms Jades joint is wicked and also that old school jam with Method Man and the Jay Z song is a mad beat! You must cop this album yall it is just as mad and individual as her last albums! Plus u get the remix of 'Work It' wiv 50 Cents! *COP IT NOW!!!!*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missy Elliott, You da bomb! lol, 27 Sep 2004
Missy Elliott is one of the best hip-hop/rap artist of all time this album proves it, the way the album plays, is like a documentry of the events that have personally affected her.
The album shares many styles of hip-hop from its opening track "Go To Floor" which is a hot and addictive track that makes you wanna get up and dance to its lead single "Work It" which shows Missy Elliott expressing herself to the fullist it bass beats and lyrical rap is a feel good song as well as a serious one, to the second from the album "Gossip Folks" and it remix "Gossip Folks (Fatboy Slim Remix)" both show Missy expressing her views in signiture fashion of hip-hop attitude and great beats. This album is differnantly worth the money every track is different style and listening experince BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep it simple, 15 Aug 2014
This review is from: Under Construction (Audio CD)
Love the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars acceptable, 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under Construction (Audio CD)
the cd is good but the top cover of the box is broken. As regards the shipment has been within the terms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missy has done it again! (This time in old-skool style), 19 Jan 2003
This review is from: Under Construction (Audio CD)
#01 (Intro) Go To The Floor: starts off with Missy talking about the title of the CD and old-skool topics. after a minute of that it goes into a cool introduction part with a decent beat. THEN goes into the propper song. this has a wicked chorus. you can tell it's prdouced by Timbaland. the rest of the album is produced by Timbaland (except #7 & 8) overall a cool track to begin with.
#02 Bring The Pain: this features one of my favourite rappers; Method Man. he spits a decent verse. The chorus is sick. Also I notice a part whrere Missy says "M.E.T.H.O.D. Man..." you'll recognise this if you've heard an old Method man song.
#03 Gossip Folks: Missy's rapping style in this song is strange but wicked. This is a fav track for me. The chorus is weird, I can't explain it, but it's good! it has a southern style to the beat and Ludacris features rapping in his usual way.
#04 Work It: the first single off this album. great song but you can listen to it too much and get sick of it. the end of the song mixes with the Run DMC song "Peter Piper" it's sounds cool.
#05 Back In The Day: has an average beat. the start has an old-skool snippet> It features Jay-Z, nice rapping he spits some clever stuff, but the usual Jay-Z style. You either like it or you don't. Missy mostly sings through this.
#06 Funky Fresh Dressed: amazing beat. Featuring Ms. Jade (A Timbaland Protege)When Ms. Jade starts rapping the song breaks down into a reverse kinda beat, true old style. Sounds okay.
#07 Pussy Cat: This is another average beat. this time produced by Missy herself. nice slow song. She sings through all of it but features an a rapper I don't recognise. It says nothing about him on the CD. He doesn't rap a particularly well.
#08 Nothing Out There For Me: the second and last track produced by Missy. This features the beautiful Beyonce Knowles. She has an amazing voice. not a bad track.
#09 Slide: This track (back to the Timbaland production) has a grimey feel to it. wicked track. Missy has a unique rapping style again. Some cool lyrics.
#10 Play That Beat: I love this track. Missy sings but it's an up-tempo track. cool chorus. The beat is really good.
#11 Ain't That Funny: Another grimey type beat. totally different to 'Slide' though. This time missy kinda slow rap again. Singing in the chorus. good track over-all.
#12 Hot: funky beat to this. totally original. kinda old skool style beat. Missy says some cool lines. you've got to listen all the way through this song to realise how good it is. (great chorus)
#13 Can You Hear Me: Slow song. Featuring (the remaning two members of...) TLC. it's all about Lisa "Left Eye" Lopez, Tu-Pac, Bug Pun, Notorious BIG and Aaliyah. singing mostly. good song though.
#14 Work It (Remix): basically the same as the original apart from 50 Cent's rapping. Not brilliantly to be honest.
Conclusion:
Rating - 4/5
Definately a CD worth listening to. Alot of original stuff but has an old-skool feel to it too. Missy has done it again!
An album worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I thought it would be. . . ., 29 May 2004
By A Customer
Listened all the way through to give it the benefit of the doubt, and sorry, but the best 2 tracks are "Gossip Folks" (which appears 3 times!) and "Work It" (which appears twice!), which were released as singles anyway. Rest of album relatively disappointing. Also, found it very annoying to hear 'This is a Missy Elliott Exclusive' over the front of nearly every track!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under Construction
Under Construction by Missy Elliott (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews