Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Distant shores, 3 Feb 2004
This review is from: Like The Deserts Miss The Rain (Audio CD)
The cliche about EBTG is that their early and later work (or pre-and post-Massive Attack if you like) don't sit well together and could be by different bands. Untrue of course, and a listen through Like The Deserts Miss The Rains proves this. Why did the Massive choose to work with Thorn, singer in a fairly obscure band best known for student gigs and the odd well chosen cover? Because the only record they could all agree on liking was A Distant Shore, her bare, acoustic solo album of 1982 that presaged much of EBTG's early stuff and remains an indie classic. The thread running through their work is of small, unspoken, unflashy feelings, sentiments and experiences laced into musical textures and lyrical ticks. Still don't believe me? Play Almost Blue immediately followed by No Difference - tracks from opposite sides of the supposed divide. Spot the difference? Thought not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars subtle subversion, 24 Oct 2002
This review is from: Like The Deserts Miss The Rain (Audio CD)
a personal retrospective from ben and tracey themselves. a perfect distillation of the dance bits and the non-dance bits. a very evocative subtle work. ebtg are deeply underrated lyricists and this cd contains some of their finest words - a piece of my mind, protection, rollercoaster. this is an effortless compilation of real substance from often one of the most overlooked british bands of the past 20 years. quietly ahead of their time at almost every stage. brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Born and raised in Hull, got interested in EBTG ..., 10 July 2014
This review is from: Like The Deserts Miss The Rain (Audio CD)
Born and raised in Hull, got interested in EBTG when they met at Hull University and still a fan now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars contains Photek remix which was all I wanted, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like The Deserts Miss The Rain (Audio CD)
Some very good tracks on here. I personally bought it for Photeks remix of Single which is quite simply phenomenal, and worthy of 5 stars alone. Adapt or die has better remixes in general, but not the single remix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 29 Sep 2013
By 
Carlos Barros (Porto, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Like The Deserts Miss The Rain (Audio CD)
One classic. Maybe one of the bests albuns ever. All songs very good and inclued the most known "Like the desert misses the rain".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The ones we know and love, 23 Sep 2010
This review is from: Like The Deserts Miss The Rain (Audio CD)
"Like the deserts misss the rain" shows that the special sound we loved "then" is still as good as ever.I play my favourites "deserts" and"protection" over and over again. Tracey's voice is raw and individual and you just want more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thorn in my side, 27 April 2008
By 
Mr. M. J. Cole "Coleser" (Gloucester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Like The Deserts Miss The Rain (Audio CD)
The perfect blend of the band's early bed-sit melancholia (now, where is that old grey mac?) and more adventurous bass and drum twiddling from more recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Collection of Their Variuos Styles, 23 Oct 2003
By 
Carl Logan (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Like The Deserts Miss The Rain (Audio CD)
EBTG have put together a compliation of songs from different stages of their career. And whilst each of the songs have their charms and are indeed very good, its hard for their early material and their most recent to tie in together. But I am glad that they have put out this album as it has reminded me of why I like them and has caused me to go back into their large catalogue of albums and listen to them again. Highlights on this album are; Tracy In My Room, Each and Everyone, Piece of My Mind and the classic Missing Remix. This album is a good introduction to anyone who has not really listened to an EBTG album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Collection of Variuos Styles, 19 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Like The Deserts Miss The Rain (Audio CD)
EBTG have put together a compliation of songs from different stages of their career. And whilst each of the songs have their charms and are indeed very good, its hard for their early material and their most recent to tie in together. But I am glad that they have put out this album as it has reminded me of why I like them and has caused me to go back into their large catalogue of albums and listen to them again. Highlights on this album are; Tracy In My Room, Each and Everyone, Piece of My Mind and the classic Missing Remix. This album is a good introduction to anyone who has not really listened to an EBTG album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crazy Old School, 20 Jan 2005
This review is from: Like The Deserts Miss The Rain (Audio CD)
One of best band during thier reign! "and I miss you, like the deserts miss the rain"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Like The Deserts Miss The Rain
Like The Deserts Miss The Rain by Everything But the Girl (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews