Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
What a joy to hear Annie Haslam and Renaaissance performing live once more. Somehow i missed this one so it was a thrill to find it on Amazon. You will not be disappointed
Published on 20 July 2010 by D. J. O'Neill

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One for fans only
Heard Northern Lights on radio the other day and thought must buy a Renaissance Album unfortunatly this was the one i choose to buy. Having heard other recordings of Rennaisse it is obvious that Anne's voice is showing effects of age or she had an off night. Comment from my partner who walked in when i first played this "have you brought a cheap rip-off cd it sounds like...
Published on 17 Sep 2005 by colinmichaelday


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 July 2010
By 
D. J. O'Neill (Kingston Upon Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a joy to hear Annie Haslam and Renaaissance performing live once more. Somehow i missed this one so it was a thrill to find it on Amazon. You will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Enjoyable Album, 14 Feb 2012
Not quite as good as Live at Carnegie Hall, but that had the orchestra on it, so perhaps it's an unfair comparison! Good renditions (although the album could have done without Moonlight Shadow). Includes versions of the best tracks from 2001's Tuscany album, which fit well with the older stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative live recordings., 8 Feb 2005
By 
K. A. Lay "Kim Lay" (Brightlingsea, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In The Land Of The Rising Sun (Audio CD)
This should be in the library of every Annie Haslam and Rennaissance fan. Recorded in 2001 at the Tokyo Koseinenkin Hall in Japan, it features a mixture of Rennaissance classics plus items from their then new album Tuscany. The recordings are crystal clear and apart from a dreary guitar solo and some over the top warblings on The Ashes are Burning, everyone was in top form that night.
In the Land of the Rising Sun avoids the excessive audience sounds that some live recordings suffer from and the introductions are kept to a minimum.
The double CD set contins classics like Carpet of the Sun, Midas Man, Northern Lights, Mother Russia, Trip to the Fair and I Think of You.
While Rennaissance are known for their orchestral accompaniment, the keyboard work of Rave Tesar and Micky Simmonds is especially effective. This is good old progressive/symphonic rock at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great, many thanks !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good CD, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found the album a very good listen

It is great to hear the original line up - especially Annie Haslem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jadore Japan and rennaisance good combination, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Feel very envious that I could not make this concert mainly because I was not a fan in 2005 anyway not diaappointed after all as someone remebered to record it exclusively for me, at least I like to think that! Anyway it lived up to my expectations does not include "Sounds of The Sea" but thats only because I was not there to harass them to play it, overall good production values and sounds just great, then again I would say that would'nt I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not what they were, but still worth a listen, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Got this as a present for my husband - who thinks it merits 4 stars despite being slightly disappointed in it.. Definitely not the Renaissance of his youth, though still worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is what I remember!, 8 Feb 2007
By 
Michael Ashton "An OLD fan" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Land Of The Rising Sun (Audio CD)
Live and still kicking. They may not be as young as they were (some of them, anyway) but this is a very good Live show - even if the recording doesn't have as much ambience as some. The band show what can be done, and apart from a rather lame Bass solo in Ashes are Burning (come on guys, Camp did it all back in the seventies - why reinvent the wheel?), the songs are given a fair outing, and for me Annie is still on the money.
There are some beautiful keyboard arrangements, and we can see what a great contribution Rave Tesar makes to the delicacy of the music and how Mickey Simmonds' technical wizardry excels. Mind you this used to be done by one man,namely John Tout, whose abilities are heard elsewhere. I'm biased, of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One for fans only, 17 Sep 2005
This review is from: In The Land Of The Rising Sun (Audio CD)
Heard Northern Lights on radio the other day and thought must buy a Renaissance Album unfortunatly this was the one i choose to buy. Having heard other recordings of Rennaisse it is obvious that Anne's voice is showing effects of age or she had an off night. Comment from my partner who walked in when i first played this "have you brought a cheap rip-off cd it sounds like a night club singer" Oh well just have to seach till i find a better recording
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Time to hang your boots up!! - Roy Brown, Southend-on-sea, Essex, 13 Jan 2010
By 
Mowzer (Camborne, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Land Of The Rising Sun (Audio CD)
I was trolling through YouTube the other day and came across Renaissance and immediately played through a good few golden oldies. It brought back memories of seeing them in the seventies. So I bought the early albums (cds now) and then decided to buy this to see how well they had aged. Bad move as I think they are a mear shadow of there former self. Some can go on for ever, Neil Young for example but in this case Renaissance really should hang their boots up and call it a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In The Land Of The Rising Sun
In The Land Of The Rising Sun by Renaissance (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews