Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holly Valance - Footprints
Filled with 13 wholesome songs from the lovely Holly Valance and 2 Bonus Video's on the Enhanced Section this Album is surprisingly good!
1. Kiss Kiss:- Most people have heard this by now. Its either a song that you like or hate. I happen to like it and find myself singing it afterwards! Upbeat and quick this is a great song for Dancing to 8/10
2. Tuck your...
Published on 15 Oct 2002 by Donna England

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars good album!
while not the best of albums, it is a good purchase, i only paid 1p! good purchase, i was never a super fan of hers but i remembered i liked some of the singles from this album and saw the price and thought "it's worth it" so i got it, i recommend
Published 10 months ago by Marco Guzmán


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Holly Valance - Footprints, 15 Oct 2002
By 
Donna England (Gloucestershire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Footprints (Audio CD)
Filled with 13 wholesome songs from the lovely Holly Valance and 2 Bonus Video's on the Enhanced Section this Album is surprisingly good!
1. Kiss Kiss:- Most people have heard this by now. Its either a song that you like or hate. I happen to like it and find myself singing it afterwards! Upbeat and quick this is a great song for Dancing to 8/10
2. Tuck your Shirt in:- This song uses a Eastern Beat throughout it which works surprisingly well. A 'Sexy' Mid-Tempo song with a catchy Chorus that'll stick in your mind 9/10
3. Down Boy:- This is her second release of a single and isn't as good as 'Kiss Kiss'. Quite a slow and quiet song, its not as catchy as the others but I can't fault the foot tapping Chorus 7/10
4. City ain't Big Enough:- This sounds quite 'American' style. Think Mandy Moore. Softly sung imagine driving in a car in the summer with the top down. This is the sort of song you'd play 8/10
5. Cocktails and Parties:- Probably the weakest song on the Album. Don't get me wrong its still good but sounds a bit too similar to the previous song. Could have done with being a bit more 'Aggressive' and not so 'Gentle and slow' 6/10
6. Whoop:- Woah! Fantastic. This is HIGHLY Britney Spears [Think voice throwing with a toe tapping beat in the background] so catchy and great for dancing to. This could have easily been a song for Britney Spears or Christina Aguilera and if so it would hit Number 1 10/10
7. Hush Now:- Again we have another Upbeat song [Fantastic! I dislike Albums with a lot of slow songs]. This isn't as good as 'Whoop' and sounds quite "R & B". It could have been sung by somebody like Brandy, Monica or Samantha Mumba as its that sort of style 8/10
8. All in the Mind:- Another catchy song, with a fast beat in the background. Think 'Sexy' yet 'Catchy' and this is what this is. You'll want to learn the words and sing along to it 8/10
9. Harder they come:- One of the 'Nice' and safe songs. Sounds quite 'American' style again, a little slower with less of a low beat like the others. Again you can hear a bit of the Eastern style coming through. This sounds quite All Saints style actually 6/10
10. Help me Help you:- Ironically this quite reminds me of something Billie Piper would sing. Its softly sung and one of the few Ballads on the Album. Holly should stick to the faster songs as her voice is better suited to them 5/10
11. Naughty Girl:- A middle tempo song thats between fast and a Ballad this is a lovely little Number and quite catchy. This sort of Song would do good in the Charts 8/10
12. Connect:- This is my FAVOURITE song on the Entire Album. I could listen to it so many times! This is on the Britney/ Christina Level. I'm not joking either. "Smooth and Sexy" is one way to describe it. The Chorus is so catchy and I like the way they have thrown her Voice around [Similar to what Brandy did on "What about us?"] This is by no doubt a top class Track 10/10
13. Send my Best:- A typical ending Song! Slow and another attempy at a Ballad, we see her hitting that 'American' style mixed with the soft style of All Saints. Still not a bad song! 7/10
OUTSTANDING TRACKS: 2, 6, 7, 12.
MIDDLE CLASS TRACKS: 1, 3, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11.
BAD TRACKS: 10, 13.
The Verdict? I went out not expecting much from this Album. I thought it would be "Kylie" style but because I thought this is meant I was surprised. It is not at all like this. The similarity between Holly and Kylie ends at the fact they are both from Australia. They are NOTHING alike so don't buy this expecting Kylie. This is a great teenage Album filled with catchy songs that ooze sex appeal, toe tapping and freshness. I wouldn't even call them 'Pop' because they are far more sexier and smoother than that. I would call them 'Dance Tracks'. Britney, Christina, Mandy Moore Fans this would be ideal for you! Overall a fantastic Album 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catchy new album from Holly., 22 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Footprints (Audio CD)
When I first heard Holly's new album I had my doubts as to whether I would grow to love it or loathe it - A few listens later and I love it. The instant stand out tracks are the upbeat songs - Tuck your shirt in, and Whoop. The more you listen, the more other tracks stand out, such as R&B type song The harder they come. There are some softer tunes, but it all blends together very well.
If you liked Kiss Kiss and Down Boy I am sure you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HOLLYTASTIC, 29 Oct 2002
By 
Dan (England (U.K)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Footprints (Audio CD)
From soapstar to popstar! She has proven that she isn't just a one hit wonder. The album is sexy and very catchy.It takes an Eastern feel, which is different, but gr8.
Tracks to listen to are: 'Tuck ur shirt in','Whoop','Hush Now','Help me Help you', and 'Connect'. These tracks you will instantly like, and want to play them ova and ova again.
A good debut album which is a must have for people who like pop with a lil' R'n'B added in somewhere!!
Can't wait to hear her next single and album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Album from a Great Star!, 17 Nov 2003
This review is from: Footprints (Audio CD)
The main reason I bought this was because Holly Valance was Flick Scully on Neighbours and she was one of my favourite characters. I put it in my CD player and was amazed at the fantastic songs on it!
Kiss Kiss 9/10 This really is a fantastic song. You can't help but sing along to it and it will get your body moving even if you're just tapping your fingers to the beat!
Tuck Your Shirt In 10/10 One of my favourite songs on the album. sounds similar to Kiss Kiss with a great chorus.
Down Boy 7/10 This was her second single and I think it was a good follow up to the success of Kiss Kiss but it is not one of my favourites.
City Ain't big Enough 10/10 My other favourite. The words and tune are great and I find myself singing it all day!
Holly has put together this album Fantastically!" There is not one filler on this album, all the songs are catchy pop that will have you singing along all day!
If this album is anything to go by, Holly will be around for a long time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly Good Stuff, 27 Sep 2003
By 
PM SHORT "Square Eyes" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Footprints (Audio CD)
Honestly, I assumed this album would be pretty rubbish, but it turns out I was wrong! I just love the way she encorperated that middle eastern vibe that made 'Kiss Kiss' so successful (oh, and of course the video had a big part to play in that) but the album also has some great ballads aswell! I'll just do a quick run-down of the tracks and a mark out of 10!
1. Kiss Kiss - such a great catchy pop tune, admittingly its a cover, but i've heard the original and this is ten times better! The chorus is amazing and you can't help but do the 'kiss kiss' bits when they come! 9/10
2. Tuck Your Shirt In - This is definately 'Kiss Kiss - Part 2' but thats not necessarily a bad thing. The song has all the great bits that make 'Kiss KIss' so wicked, so if you loved 'Kiss KIss' you'll love this! It was going to be her fourth single but for some reason they scrapped it! 8/10
3. Down Boy - I love this track, so fast paced and so incredibly catchy! 9/10
4. City Ain't Big Enough - This song is very acoustic guitar-ee, i'm glad they didn't just pack in all the fast tempo songs at the beginning, this song is very refreshing. I love it! 9/10
5. Cocktails & Parties - A bit of a filler this one .. it sounds kinda like 'Naughty Girl' and kinda like 'City Ain't Big Enough' but that may just be me! Its ok, nothing special! 4/10
6. Whoop - definately a stand out track, instantly catchy, could have made a good single! Has that 'Kiss KIss' appeal in the way you love saying the 'Whoop Whoop Baby' bits! 9/10
7. Hush Now - wicked track, original sounding and everything, easy to listen to! 8/10
8. All In my Mind - has that middle eastern vibe and a loada fast beats and electronic sounds, Another standout track on the album! 8/10
9. Harder They Come - Fast paced pop song, cool enough, but nothing special, but it could be worse! 7/10
10. Help Me Help You - killer ballad, love this! 8/10
11. Naughty Girl - Third single she released, I liked it, I was suprised it didn't echo the success of 'Kiss KIss' and 'Down Boy' ! 8/10
12. Connect - Another great lil song, the noises the man makes are a little bit annoying, the 'ah' noises! 7/10
13. Send My Best - Pleasant enough ballad rounds the album up .. 6/10
If you liked the singles, you'll like the album, thats all I can say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holly Valance's Footprints an excellent debut album, 16 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Footprints (Audio CD)
Holly Valance has certainly done herself proud with this excellent debut album. The album mixes R N B with softer style tunes but still stays in line with her previous relaeases Kiss Kiss and Down Boy. Holly has shown that she is able to tackle different tempos and styles for example Cocktails and Parties is a ballad with a tempo beat and is very effective. Then you have upbeat offerings such as Whoop with its raunchy lyrics which is too far in style from debut single Kiss Kiss. Holly has certainly created a excellent debut album which will not disappoint fans of her music. This album proves she has enough potenial to be as successful as her predecesors from Neighbours Kylie Minogue and Jason Donovan. By this standard of music Holly will be in the charts for a long time.
Holly valance's debut album Footprints an excellent album and worth a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hot pot!, 20 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Footprints (Audio CD)
This album is a dazzling array of pop at it's best. There is honestly no bad mistake or falter, though the last track suffers as an attempted ballad, with lack of any meaning, or addictive melody, as the others do. Holly showcases good vocals, but with swift production from the likes of josh abrahams (puretone), the album truly shines. Why 4 stars? Because the album would in a perfect world be inadequit if it wasn't holly, and it wasn't this strong in production. The songs have no real amazing structure, or versatility. The production is what this clearly depends on, or atleast in most songs. On to the songs.
WHOOP!- truly an amazing song. To begin with it sounds like just another kiss kiss protege with lack of any originality, but at the chorus the drum beat, and melody change into an explosion of addictive heavy beats, and anthemic lyrics that truly will just make you want to get up and do a shakira! This is one of the few songs that would probably sound alright with just a simple beat, and slight effect - although most others depend on production. This is still on it's best form the way it's been presented here. It will be a guaranteed #1 if it's relesed.
HARDER THEY COME- This is a smooth r'n'b/ pop treat. The words float along at a speedy pace. This could be done very well acoustically, but is a must in this present form. The general public might not ideally agree witth this - but in my opinion it's a high point on the album, and a slick little r'n'b treat.
COCKTAILS AND PARTIES- An uptempo guitar pop song with a slight balladic touch. This song is perfected by the simple production, and understandable words. I could probably have seen this on the recent self titled mandy moore album, but this is lighter, and more gentil- a relaxing kind of song.
CITY AINT BIG ENOUGH- Kind of doesn't fit in. It would probably fit in on ashantis album, but nevertheless, it's a good theme for a song, and has breezy guitar flow, with a slightly uneasy melody, and an uptempo beat to keep it going at the moments were you think perhaps it's been going on for a while. It has a good full chorus and as per usual, holly's floaty vocals to carry it along.
CONNECT- This song is slightly threatening, in the sense that the production brings out the obvious slick flow of the general flava. It's chorus isn't particularly mind blowing, but is quite original and in a way relaxing, but in another way irritating. Listen to it and you might understand better. I generally find this song to be a treat to listen to, unless I'm not in the mood for too much production- in this case I would lean towards city aint big enough, cocktails and parties, naughty girl, and help me help you.
HELP ME HELP YOU - The first and only real pop ballad. Alot of cliche lyrics, but the chorus seperates it from the average. The verses can be compared to your average BSB or anything courtesy of jive, but if you listen to the link into the chorus, it lifts into a dazzling vocal melting pot. I love it! There is just something about the melody that makes it seem better than the verse.
NAUGHTY GIRL- Another variation of cocktails, but has a slightly more dancey beat. This is probably better. The production is bubbly and flavoured, and the lyrics and melody are quite addictive. I could also imagine seeing this on a mandy mooore album, but it would need more guitars, and this would compromise the flow, and make it sound to drowned with production.
ALL IN THE MIND, TUCK YOUR SHIRT IN and HUSH NOW really are just fillers with a push into the good track arena courtesy of good production, though TOOK YOUR SHIRT IN would be best described as part 2 of KISS KISS, though it wouldn't be established in the charts, and wouldn't be remembered. We've heard kiss kiss, it's no longer original, especially when it's not creative like tuck your shirt in. Indian tinges of production and heavier beats are what makes this song what it is. There is talk of this being the third single but if it is then it is a mistake. People will like it but it's place at #1 will probably be compromised because it really isn't good enough and, I'm afraid Holly can't count on her name getting it to #1.
This album is all in all a treat that is worth the money, but it seems to be missing something- the x factor - a little magic, I don't know what it is. Maybe it's just to easily done nowadays if people can be bothered to put the work in with material that is in some places lacking. This album is rarely lacking, but would be nothing without the production and, in my opinion, if a song can be played live acoustically, and still be interseting in some shape or form, then it's a straight fire hit, but the majority on this album would come up short. It's still undoubtedly better than her pears from neighbours, though with due respect, most of the time we see our kylie performing live. Valance ahs yet to prove to us that she can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent debut, 29 Nov 2002
This review is from: Footprints (Audio CD)
Why was this CD slanted by critics? Ok, so it's not very original but that's not to say it's awful! I think Holly's made a really great debut album and although she isn't a great singer she's tried hard to entertain pop fans everywhere.
I don't think she was out to win any awards but she did make one heck of a fun, lighthearted masterpiece. Suprisingly I find "kiss Kiss" the worst song but it isn't bad.
Here is what I think of each track:
KISS KISS: 6/10- Ok but way too overplayed. Very arabic (well, turkish) and catchy.
TUCK YOUR SHIRT IN: 7/10- Very similar to "Kiss" but despite it's rubbish name it's a cool track.
DOWN BOY: 10/10- Drum and Base style track with smooth vocals from Holly.
CITY AIN'T BIG ENOUGH: 6/10- As someone else said it's very 'American Pop' style which is a bit boring.
COCKTAILS & PARTIES: 8/10- Sounds like All Saints' "Black Coffee". It's a track that you'll keep listening to.
WHOOP: 10/10- Another daft name but a cracking dance rhythm.
HUSH NOW & ALL IN THE MIND: 8/10- These are both very similar tracks which are beautiful but quite forgetable.
HARDER THEY COME: 9/10- If it didn't sound so similar to "Round Round" (Sugababes) then it'd be brilliant!
HELP ME, HELP YOU: 8/10- A bit cheesy but it's a pretty little ballad.
NAUGHTY GIRL: 10/10- The best vocal display on the album with a strange tune. Sounds like something that Texas would sing which is a compliment.
CONNECT: 10/10- I LOVE the mixing effects here! The production makes this track so brilliant and this SHOULD BE the next single!
SEND MY BEST: 7/10- A bit of a boring way to end the album with by it's still decent enough.
So if you want my opinion- Listen to this album before judging it and writing Holly off as another Kylie copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good album!, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Footprints (Audio CD)
while not the best of albums, it is a good purchase, i only paid 1p! good purchase, i was never a super fan of hers but i remembered i liked some of the singles from this album and saw the price and thought "it's worth it" so i got it, i recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a Holly Valance must have!, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Footprints (Audio CD)
Footprints is the debut album from Holly Valance. It was released in the United Kingdom in 2002. It's pop/electro/dance at it's best. If you loved "Kiss Kiss" you should buy this, it's a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Footprints
Footprints by Holly Valance (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews