Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST!
The Legend Of Zelda: A Link To The Past was a fantastic game on the SNES and you know something, its just as good on GameBoy! I am so glad they have released this game on the little cart because now you can take this great adventure with you anywhere. I first got the game when the GBA SP was released and I was hooked! I was in London at the time but on the way back...
Published on 29 Oct 2005 by Mark

versus
0 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too short
I completed this game in about 4 hours. It's incerdibly short, and pretty linear despite a huge enviroment to explore. The game definetley shows it's age, and just isn't up to the standards of today's games.
I heard great things about this game before buying it, like it had some excellent puzzles, but I found it incredibly easy and I only found one puzzle which made...
Published on 23 April 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST!, 29 Oct 2005
By 
Mark (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past - Four Swords (GBA) (Video Game)
The Legend Of Zelda: A Link To The Past was a fantastic game on the SNES and you know something, its just as good on GameBoy! I am so glad they have released this game on the little cart because now you can take this great adventure with you anywhere. I first got the game when the GBA SP was released and I was hooked! I was in London at the time but on the way back home to Newcastle on the train, I played this game none stop! The graphics are superb, the gameplay is smooth and there are loads of things to do, like finding certain clues out, meeting people, there are loads of weapons to use, different enemies and boss's to defeat, secrets to disscover and loads of areas in the game to explore!
The bit I like is going back and forth from the dark side back to the light side! Fantastic! This was always classed as one of the best Zelda titles, and all I can say it is very good and you people out there thinking of buying it should because theres hours of excitement and fun just waiting to be opened!
I havn't played the four swords on it, but it is suppose to be quite good, but down side is you need four people to have a cart of their own, but like I say, this game is fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 7 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past - Four Swords (GBA) (Video Game)
This was my first Zelda, and I was worried it was just another average but overhyped game. After playing it I can honestly say this game's hype is well-deserved.

The main thing that makes this game brilliant is the amount of thought put into it. It doesn't ever really on cheap tactics like random battles, boring dungeons, or obligatory 'twists'. Instead, progression through the game is genuinely involving, with you getting stronger by acquiring items that actually change the way you can play. It also rewards exploration in the way no other game does, around every corner there is a great surprise, and it sucks you into a totally different experience from other games.

Another thing that is beautiful about this game is the atmosphere, despite the fact it is so old, the music is some of the best I've ever heard in a game, the graphics are always simple but also extremely effective, and the ideas implemented in ever sequence of playing make it very enjoyable and rewarding throughout.

There are no flaws in this game, and I can happily recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This game changed my life..., 28 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past - Four Swords (GBA) (Video Game)
P>You wont find ground breaking visuals, or sound but you will get gameplay of a level hard to better.
Since playing this first almost 10 years ago, despite the changes in technology only a few games have ever come close to it.
From the first minutes in the atmospehric rain storm you know you're part of what will be on completion an epic journey.
And a journey is what it is, you will want to finish it!
A game hard to match and still worth playing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Legend Of Zelda - A Link To The Past, 30 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past - Four Swords (GBA) (Video Game)
THIS GAME IS FANTASTIC! YOU MUST OWN THIS GAME! The plot is excellent, with many surprising twists and turns, and the dungeons are a joy to navigate. The bosses offer a challenging experience, which will keep you going back for more again and again. The combat system is very easy to get into, with the sword as the primary offensive weapon, but the boomerang, bow and hookshot are also on offer. As well as these conventional weapons, there is also the chance to use spells and magic. And Princess Zelda is a digital delight. Anyone who has a gameboy and has a life and a passion for adventure and mystery, must buy this game immediately. Life without this game is like a blunt pencil. Pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arguably the greatest game on the SNES and GBA, 12 Nov 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past - Four Swords (GBA) (Video Game)
The third game in the formidable Legend of Zelda series, 'A Link to the Past' is an outstanding RPG (Role-Playing Game)/ Adventure created by Nintendo. Many would argue, it is one of the best RPGs for the 16-bit console generation. This is the first Zelda game for the SNES and remains a brilliantly crafted game, providing plenty of gameplay for all ages. Learn where Link once was to be found before Nintendo evolved the Zelda franchise with later masterpieces such as Ocarina of Time! Before I proceed further, I must state that its not necessary to have played the previous two zelda games, or know their stories, to enjoy this one. Zelda 3 works great as a standalone RPG on the SNES and can be picked up as a title in its own right.

Your ultimate quest is to defeat Ganon but along the way there are plenty of sub-quests, characters to meet, additional accessories to find, secrets to discover and puzzles to solve. Some of these may be essential to your progress whilst others can provide a fun diversion. A much loved & welcomed touch are the variety of mini-games which can yield cash prizes, ammunition or even special items! The spacious inventory allows you to store boomerangs, bows & arrows, bombs, rupees, magic powder, spell-casting rods, magic bottles and many other sundry things. Weapons collected need ammunition or magic powder and items can be kept for later use or given to other characters to complete sub-quests. My only small query is that weapons and items are mixed together in the inventory, both of which could be quicker to access if seperated.

Gameplay is where Zelda stands tall above all! The game is one of the most accessible RPGs and is ideal for those beginners to the RPG genre. This game has an almost perfect combination of combat, puzzle-solving and adventuring. You start in your humble cottage outside the palace with just a lamp to guide your way through the dark, wind and rain outside. But before you know it you'll journey through forests, swamps, deserts and stretching mountain ranges. And that's just in the light world! In the dark world, locations are mirrored in a twist way to the light world where locations can be perceived familiar and strangely together. Nintendo have proven once again that they really are the kings of gameplay.

The game is presented in a top-down 2D map-like perspective with Link moving around on a large, highly detailed gameworld. With simple use of colour and shading, the graphics work very well in presenting the 'light' world and the 'dark' world in good contrast. There are plenty of sparkling visual details and effects, although not as eye-popping as later RPG releases such as Squaresoft's Chrono Trigger or Final Fantasy 3. For today's photo-realistic 3D worlds, Zelda doesn't seem so much outdated as wonderfully nostalgic! In its own way, it is charming to behold. The sound and music are very well executed! With plenty of sword clink-clashes, explosions and rumbles Zelda 3 rocks your world in the best way a 16-bit game can! The sound effects do have that trademark Nintendo quirkiness - cartoonish in a Japanese style but not totally weird! The music features many memorable tunes not least the famous Zelda signature theme! The game is scored with plenty of atmospheric, dramatic or even melodic music setting their locations & scenes seamlessly.

This is the first RPG I've ever played and the first Zelda game I've ever played. Its over a decade old now, but ardent RPG enthusiasts should not sit smug without having this one under their belt (or inventory). It is one the most easily picked up yet difficult to master RPGs of its time and will take away plenty of precious hours, days or even weeks! An absolute unmissable title, Zelda 3 provides an almost flawless precedent to the later 3D world, cinematic, cel-shaded spectular Zelda titles on N64 & NGC. Be a part of the epic (yet conflicting) Zelda mythology and prepare for a wonderful gaming experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zelda- The BEST GBA Game!, 2 Feb 2003
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past - Four Swords (GBA) (Video Game)
Zelda: A Link To The Past is the remake of the classic SNES game. It was the best game around back then, and sure is to be the same, now for the Game Boy Advance. The game is about Link, trying to save Princess Zelda and the Seven Maidens from Ganondorf. As you play the game, you will find out that it gets harder. You must travel between the Light and Dark worlds collecting new weapons, items and killing bosses in their perplex dungeons. What makes this game great is the that every time you go further you will always expect something new, whether its a secret item or some sort of boss. And with its new multiplayer feature, you will never get tired of the game because you can always challenge your friends in dungeons that change randomly every time you switch on your GBA. Zelda: A Link To The Past is a great game with new things for you to do, whether its collecting rupees or slashing enemies. Absolutely brilliant and can last for hours. So buy this game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A game that defies its age, 24 July 2004
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past - Four Swords (GBA) (Video Game)
Which of the Zelda games is the greatest? Each of us has our own opinion and it's difficult to separate between any of them, since they all usually get full marks in reviews. For me, I look back to the birth of the Super Nintendo and Link's only outing on the machine. A Link to the Past surely must be the pinnacle of the series, and thanks to the Gameboy Advance, and its similar hardware architecture to the Super Nintendo, A Link to the Past was recently released in handheld form. It's lost absolutely none of its magic.
The Land of Hyrule has once again been thrown into turmoil as a magician kidnaps the daughters of seven wise men and brakes open the seal to the golden land. Chaos is allowed to reign free. None of it made much sense then and it's still lost on me now. But Zelda games have never been strong on narrative structure; they're all about action role-playing and puzzle solving.
A Link to the Past retains a wonderfully rich environment throughout, a progressive structure which reveals more and more of the game at the right pace and a perfectly executed learning curve. The greatest moment of a Link to the Past is when you complete the natural world of Hryule and believe you have come to the end of the game. Only then do you realise that there is a second world to explore and another seven massive dungeons to conquer. Each world is linked too, so changes you make in one world affect the other. There's literally hundreds of things to uncover. This is a huge game which takes months to complete and you'll enjoy every minute of doing so. It's a game beyond criticism.
The GBA version holds more too. Developers Capcom have added the Four Swords quest which allow four players to play a special Zelda game requiring co-operative play. It's just unfortunate that most will never experience this game as you need four gamers with a GBA, the game and link cables.
Even so, the Four Swords quest should be considered an added bonus to one of the greatest games ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past/Four Swords, 15 Jun 2003
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past - Four Swords (GBA) (Video Game)
Zelda is an action-packed adventure from start to finish, from when you start the game getting out of bed at the start of th game until you have struck the final blow to the final boss at the end. The graphics are superb for the gameboy, which is quite suprising actually seeing as so many of the recent GBA games have had poor quality pictures. This game offers an exciting range of tools and weapons that are useful while navigating the many dungeons. The other main feature of this game is the multiplayer part in which you and up to four other players link up to fight and solve puzles. The multiplayer feature also unlocks an extra dungeon, sword moves etc. In short this is a must buy for the GBA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure gaming brilliance in the palm of your hand!, 14 Feb 2003
By 
J. Day "Swift" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past - Four Swords (GBA) (Video Game)
This game was a winner as soon as the words 'Zelda: A Link to the Past on Game Boy Advance' were uttered by Nintendo. Just a straight conversion of the SNES game would have got my five stars. Nevertheless, not satisfied with just bringing the RPG classic to GBA, Nintendo bring us an entirely new game on the same cartridge: The Four Swords!
In a Link to the Past, we see our hero Link in the fourth chapter of the Legend. Having been awoken in the middle of the night by a telepathic message from Princess Zelda, he sets out to rescue her from the castle dungeon on a stormy night. Little does he know that he is about to be led on a quest to find the legendary Master Sword in a bid to defeat the evil wizard Agahnim who wishes to conquer the world.
Link's journey takes him across the land of Hyrule where he must traverse vast deserts, shrouded forests and breath-taking mountaintops. And that's not even the half of it. After finding the Master Sword our elven hero is thrown into an evil version of Hyrule in which he must rescue the lost maidens and prevent Hyrule from being overrun with monsters from this twisted parallel world.
As for my verdict on the game, I really cannot fault it. The game excels in its typically brilliant puzzles, its winding plot twists and its amazing range of locations for Link to explore. There is just so much atmosphere in the game and the unbelievable large worlds mean that it could take new players weeks just to explore it all.
There are a few gripes with this version though in comparison to the original SNES one (when the word Capcom came up before the titles I knew something was going to be fishy). Early on in the game some of the text is different, having seemingly been dumbed down (do Nintendo think today's gamers aren't as intelligent as they were back in the 90s or something?), which spoils some of the mystique of the Legend explained in the opening titles and the mystery in the conversations between Link and his uncle. For no apparent reason, one or two of the puzzles have been changed. One of the best and most ingenious puzzles in the game in the Ice Palace has been changed beyond recognition, which anybody could now pull off first time round. I blame Capcom.
Fours Swords is noted as the first ever-multiplayer Zelda game, and brings all the ingenious puzzles and adventurous dungeons in the style typical to the series, but this time with the brilliant co-operation system of four other Links.
However, the weak story line and the underwhelming sound effects (some of them are even taken from Link's Awakening on GB colour! 8bit sound fx! Joy!) means it could have been better. But what do I know, I've only ever played this with my brother so I haven't really experienced the madness of four players at once. The only big problem is that you need three Zelda fans for friends with a copy and a GBA each to get the most out of Four Swords.
I have been able to look past the faults of this conversion, and if I can, I think anyone can because I grew up with original and I must have completed it over 300 times since I got it 12 years ago. It's my favourite video game of all time, and it is still regarded as one of the best games ever created. Inferior to the original, but still an absolute must as it comes with Four Swords, this is classic gaming in the palm of your hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best games ever .. ever..ever...., 9 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past - Four Swords (GBA) (Video Game)
i love this game, not only because it is one of the best games i have ever played, but also because it has a different feel to it than the other Zelda's. its like the daddyo of the zeldas, the one that was so massive and lasted you years.
Im glad its out for the GBA now because atlast its become portable. if you've never played it, you'll probably love it, and if you have, then youll know how re-playable it is.
Worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past - Four Swords (GBA)
Used & New from: 12.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews