Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film / Game / Book. An excellent combination!
This is a genius of an idea! Not only can you experience the fantastic animated movie of Treasure Planet (a sea-faring adventure in the classic mould, yet set in space where the galleons are solar-powered and the whirlpools are black holes, itself ingenius) but you get a decent game (its a strategy featuring the aforementioned galleons and is satisfyingly gripping in...
Published on 10 July 2003 by Andrew Kyle

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A low point in Disney feature animation
Even more of a lowpoint for Disney animation than their troubled 70s-early 80s films, it's hard to think of a worse animated feature from the studio than Treasure Planet. It's one of those pitches that sounds like a really bad idea when you hear it - a sci-fi version of Treasure Island with galleons as spaceships and a cyborg Long John Silver - but which, when you see it,...
Published on 15 Jun 2010 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film / Game / Book. An excellent combination!, 10 July 2003
By 
Andrew Kyle "Fangg" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Treasure Planet DVD Gift Set (DVD)
This is a genius of an idea! Not only can you experience the fantastic animated movie of Treasure Planet (a sea-faring adventure in the classic mould, yet set in space where the galleons are solar-powered and the whirlpools are black holes, itself ingenius) but you get a decent game (its a strategy featuring the aforementioned galleons and is satisfyingly gripping in terms of playability). And to top it off you get the classic novel of Treasure Island, on which the film is based, allowing you to spot all the clever references (my favourite is the Benbow Inn). An absolute must for any fan of the story, the film, strategy games or just great film-making in general! A complete package of brilliance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 18 Oct 2004
By 
Katie Butcher (Neath, Wales UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Treasure Planet [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I cant belive some of the comments above, I loved this film! My son who is 7 rented it from the video shop and I have to admit that I thought it would be rubbish, but I enjoyed this far more than "A Bug Life". I thought the story line was great and the animation wonderful. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Am I gushing about this movie? You bet I am!, 17 Feb 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Young Jim Hawkins (voice by Joseph Gordon-Levitt) grew up reading about pirates, and dreaming of finding the fabulous lost treasure of Captain Flint, the greatest pirate ever. When a dying sailor gives Jim a special "map", Jim and family friend Doctor Doppler (David Hyde Pierce) set off to find it. But, the crew of their ship looks more than a little bit untrustworthy, and none of them more so than the cook, John Silver (Brian Murray). Sailing through mind-blowing dangers, Jim encounters more adventures than he could ever have imagined, and finds a treasure more valuable than gold.
I must admit that I did not see this movie in the theatre; I was that sure that it was going to be a bad movie. Well, I am kicking myself now! This movie is great! The combination of eighteenth century pirates and technology was handled masterfully, and it produces an exciting and visually breathtaking movie! Am I gushing about this movie? You bet I am! This is a great movie that you and your children will all love. (My kids thought that Morph was the best part of the whole movie.) Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why was this film a flop?, 9 July 2003
By 
Mr. D. Hill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Treasure Planet [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I simply don't understand why this film failed at the box office. It's an instant classic and a great re-working of the original story.
What I really liked was the complete fantasy about it - there was no explanation of why some things worked - like the R.L.S Legacy (good reference!) - and what on earth there were whales doing floating about in space...
The film is just the right length - my kids love it. The music score was genius. You won't regret buying this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, no matter what ppl. say, 25 Oct 2003
This review is from: Treasure Planet [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
How many times Robert Louis Stevenson’s novel has been made a film of I don’t know, but I do know that only one good version of it truly existed ( the 1990 version with Charlton Heston as Silver), until this Disney came out…
I was sure, due to the hoards of rotten reviews and the few clips I had seen in adds and Jonathan Ross’ film hour that this one wasn’t going to be an exception. What I saw were mediocre gags and lousy combining of CG-animation with traditional… well, animation fan as I am, I still was compelled to buy the feature, and how wrong I was to doubt it:
Set in the distant future, Stevenson’s Atlantic ocean is replaced by the vast Atherium, a sort of outer space where you can breath, and the Caribbean islands are replaced by planets, stars and galaxies ( This might explain the whales flying around in it – to answer another reviewer’s question?). The original 70/30 look designed by the Disney staff is marvellous, where they keep everything 70% traditional and 17th century looking, but add just that 30% of sci-fi to it, and sure to throw you right into the exciting world of Jim Hawkins.
This problem child is too wild at heart for the suffocating life at his mother’s inn. He seeks adventure where he can find it, and this usually comes hand in hand with trouble…
His life changes when Billy Bones, an old drink-rotten pirate crashes near the inn and with his last breath hands over to the boy an odd golden sphere. Suddenly they find the inn attacked and narrowly make it to safety. Later on, as Jim, his mother and doctor Doppler ( the combination of the book’s squire Trelawney and doctor Livesy … and ehm, ‘Lassie’ ) are recovering near a warm fire, Jim figures out how to uncover the secret of the artefact and soon enough, the whole room is engulfed by a huge 3D map, with at the end of a greenish trail… you guessed it! And so the true adventure begins.
The whole story sticks to the book. Of course there are some modifications to adapt it to the futuristic world, and a few too gruesome parts have been dropped for the kids… but don’t be mistaken, those pirates are as authentic in character as they could be, and if you were to come across some of them at night I assure you you’d be pissing your pants. The captain is wonderful, sharp, snappy, disciplined, someone the British navy would make an example of, and a woman. Silver is… Long John Silver, perfectly brought into the story from the book, and as for Jim Hawkins… apart from a few added issues, he’s the same cocky kid as in the original.
Now I mentioned the poor blending of the computer animation with traditional… Silver’s arm is CG, whereas he himself is animated by one of the greatest is not the greatest animator of this generation (Glen Keane), you try and spot a difference between the two…
The humour is far better than I’d expected as well, with humour ranging from goofy and loony to the driest material.
But one thing I also must say about this film before I finally shut up, is that even though it might be a little hard to digest in the beginning ( due to the sci-fi addition mostly), I does grow on you, meaning you’ll probably enjoy it more every time you see it.
DVD extras are amazing and huge in quantity, interviews, behind the scenes, games, truly a scale tipper
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a spectacular animation, 29 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Treasure Planet [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I've always enjoyed this film, and what makes it good is that it centres on how it must feel to grow up without a parent. Fifteen year old Jim Hawkins just so happens to have no father, and this makes it hard for his mother to teach him anything, and also proves that it really is a bad thing to be bereft of a male role model which is what Jim really needs. Good at getting himself into trouble and a cool dude, he must contend with robotic policemen, until he finds that he's in for a treat much later when pirate Billy Bones leaves an orb shaped map in Jim's possession. To Jim's delight, the map soon turns out to contain the entire solar system, and the fabled Treasure Planet. This discovery sparks the interest of astrophysicist Dr. Delbert Doppler who is half man, half dog, and the two of them later land on the space port which makes up the moon. As soon as they board the RLS Legacy (great name!) Jim has to watch himself as a gang of pirates make up the crew, and slowly but gradually he makes friends with the cook, Long John Silver, and Morph, a cute pink blob with goggly eyes that can take on lots of different appearances. Emma Thompson provides witty humour as feline Captain Amelia, and works very well as an animated character in comparison to her many other characters from unanimated films. It's all high rides, adventure and fun, and incredibly entertaining. I think the Special Features are really cool, and some of it is really interesting, like the making of the film and the magic of Disney animation, particularly in this film as it's an incredibly popular story and Robert Louis Stevenson is a very well known author. Then there's the more technical stuff, such as a look into how Silver's cyborg eye, robotic arm and peg leg were put into animation, which is pretty fantastic. My favourite special feature is the RLS Legacy game because it keeps your mind busy and your brain working. I enjoy this film a lot and even though I haven't read the book it is based on, I do know what it's about, and I have to say that Disney do stick to a classic to the best of their ability. It's a very well executed take on "Treasure Island", and suitable for both boys and girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN LIVE ACTION. WOW, 4 Jan 2010
This review is from: Treasure Planet [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Recently bought about 12 Disney movies from Amazon for my little girl. Very impressed with the more recently made films Brother bear ect. But this blew me away. How could i have missed this! This is not for kids this is for the Daddies like me who love action films. A better pirate than Jack Sparrow he is for sure oh arrrrrrrgh!
Great price and a truely suprisingly good action cartoon. Reminded me of Starchaser legend of orin. Any one remember that great cartoon film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, 22 Feb 2012
This review is from: Treasure Planet [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
One of the disney classics :) and great movie ! Came super quick and in good packaging ! very happy :) Thanks !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Disneys lesser known but best !, 29 April 2011
This review is from: Treasure Planet [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Great film , full of adventure . Went to see it on the pictures originally and had actually forgotten how good it was. Delivery was really quick and it was like new so big thanks to the seller !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, 6 Dec 2004
By 
This review is from: Treasure Planet [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A "Must see" adventure film, filled with spectacular action sequences. Another instant classic by disney. It has a different plot than regular disney movies. After watching "Treasure Planet", a question does arise in our minds i.e."What is our place in the universe?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Treasure Planet [DVD] [2003]
Treasure Planet [DVD] [2003] by Ron Clements (DVD - 2003)
8.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews