Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars291
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 August 2007
A delightful romantic comedy based on culture clashes. Toula's huge sprawling noisy Greek family are initially aghast that she has fallen for a "xeno", the ultra-Anglo Ian. Ian's family are probably just as aghast but are too uptight to get emotional. Will their relationship overcome the obstacles so that they can get maried and live happily ever after? Of course it will. But there are lots of laughs on the way, and not just at Greek family life and culture. Fun is poked in many directions and never maliciously.
I watched this film with a group of friends from a Middle Eastern country far from Greece, some of whom were almost hysterical with laughter at the way they were spotting their own relatives, and their own attitudes, in Toula's Greek kin. Culture transcends nationality. This isn't just a movie about Greeks and WASPs in Chicago, it's about human beings. And it's very enjoyable.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2003
Trapped in a mundane life and still controlled by her parents, - a domineering mother (Lainie Kazan) and a father who believes every word in the English language has its roots in Greek (Michael Constantine) - thirty year old Toula Portokolos (Nia Vardalos) is looking for a way out. Though her father would like her to settle down, marry a Greek man, and cook for a thousand relatives for the rest of her life, Toula wants something different. After embarking on a computer course at her local community college, Toula swaps the confines of her parents’ restaurant, “Dancing Zorba’s” for the slightly less confined space of her aunt’s travel agency. Whilst working there she sets eyes on Ian Miller, (John Corbett) a high school teacher who, whilst being the perfect match for Toula, isn’t exactly the perfect match for her family. For one thing, he’s not Greek. For another, he’s a vegetarian.
After Toula and Ian announce their plans to wed, much hilarity ensues - the majority of which is inevitably centred on the culture clash between Ian’s country club parents and Toula’s legions of Greek relatives - and a sympathetic viewer will wonder just how much more Ian can put himself through, especially by the time he’s baptised in order to be able to take full part in a Greek Orthodox wedding.
This film isn’t anything that you won’t have seen before. Families have been embarrassing their cinematic offspring for years. But it’s all done with an exceptional amount of charm and humour. It’s wonderfully acted all around (even Nsync’s Joey Fatone comes out of it unscathed) and lead actress Nia Vardalos (who also adapted her one woman stage show to provide the film’s screenplay) shows a self-deprecating humour that’s missing from the majority of today’s young starlets. Certain moments will have you in hysterics and if you’re not laughing then your face will at least be fixed in a permanent grin that will still be there a good long while after you’ve taken the video out of the VCR.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2003
This film got great ratings for a film that suprisingly didn't cost that much. How they they kept the costs that low is hard to believe when you see the amount of food on the sets. I took my Greek Cypriot Mother to the Pictures to see this film (The last time she went was 1970), and she found it absolutely hilarious as did I and my sister. The Greek Father in the film is absolute class, he had me in stitches for the whole film. A definate must see although you will find that people with a Mediteranean background of friends from that part of the world will find it funnier as they will definately know people in their every day lives that will resemble some of the characters. Great film, well worth watching. The type of film that you could watch again and again.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2003
I first saw this movie at the cinema and it really does make you feel so much better. Every scene brings either tears from laughing or tears of joy in the well written and acted romantic moments.
This movie really is worth buying... NOW!!!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2003
One of the most hilarious films ever, which everyone can relate to whether you are from a very traditional background or not. The comical stereotypical Greek characters have you crying with laughter, and what makes them even more funny is that they are true - you probably know a Greek person just like them! From a young Greek-Cypriot, although being born and brought up in the UK, I can safely say this is like watching a fly-on the wall documentry on some of my family; Greeks everywhere should refer to this as My Big Fat Greek Life!
Watch the film and release the Greek in you.... don't forget the Ouzo!
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2004
Contradictory opinions from people all around the world in addition to the opinions of all my friends who are Greek lead me to believe that you may need to know a little about Greek stereotypes and not take them litteraly in order to have a good time.
The storyline is not a literature wonder. A typical 2nd generation Greek-American girl (Toula Portocalos - Lia Vardalos) falls in love with a "non-Greek" which in her family's book is close to a crime. A lot of funny situations occur in the process of her family accepting the fact, her boyfriend accepting her family and the preparations for the wedding.
You will never find a Greek-American family like Portocalos' but
Lia hits the nail on the head with the individual characters and situations. I trust most Greek people and all the others knowing Greek people will have a good laugh.
You are not going to be much wiser after viewing this film. You will not learn life's mysteries to the least. You will just have had a good time, a laugh and maybe get to know Greeks a little better.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2003
Monday 24 March 2003: Having just bought this film on DVD I gladly gave the televised Iraq war a rest and sat through an hour and a half of much needed and cleverly skilled comic relief. I had read the reviews and listened to the interviews when the film was released at cinemas last year but I was still unprepared for the sheer innocence and filo light substance of it. With the current obsession of having 'stars' in the most minor of roles in virtually every film to come out of Hollywood it is a joy to come across a movie with no plethora of Geres, Roberts, Pitts and Zeta Jones jockeying for a walk on scene and a couple of lines in return for an obscenely large sum of dollars. It is even more of a joy when that movie proves to be one of the freshest, most observant and most intelligently written of the last five years.
Nia Vardalos as Toula has the second perfect timing that is vital to comedy and it can only be hoped that this film will act as a springboard for both her writing and performing career. John Corbett as the hapless Ian shines in a role which could so easily have been overshadowed by the sheer Greekness of his fellow performers. By the laws of the movie world this film should never have been made; a dangerously low budget, no big name actors, no fashionable director or soundtrack composer and that title (possibly the most disappointing aspect of the film) should all have conspired to give it a shorter life span than a dinner plate in a Greek taverna. It is to the credit of the cast and crew that their belief in this film was of such a magnitude that became such a success at the cinema. Its continued success, on DVD at least, is assured if only for the unusual extra feature option of being able to watch the film with 'Greek School' information boxes providing information such as how to make moussaka and how to say 'Niko has a baby goat' in Greek - essential for maintaining street cred in Ayia Napa this summer!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2003
I saw My Big Fat Greek Wedding at the cinema sitting next to this big group of Greek women, which definitely added to the experience. They were falling on the floor laughing. It was hysterical. I loved the movie. It was a very accurate portrayal of my Greek friends and their families, and I've always had a bit of a thing for John Corbett. On the whole the movie is a tongue in cheek look at growing up Greek. Even if you aren't, it's a great film to watch with the girls, and perhaps a tub of icecream.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2003
I went to see this film in Sweden (not exactly the home of the belly laugh), and the effect it had on the audience was amazing. People doubled over with laughter and tears rolling down peoples' faces
The cast, and the observation of Greek family life, is great and truly over the top! The father, who believes that Greece is the fount of all knowledge and civilisation, the mother who persuades the father and convinces him that her ideas are his, the undervalued son who struggles with his own destiny as an artist, and Nia Vardelos as the daughter who creates her own future. The house (watch the film you'll know what I mean).
Great scenes, great moments, great script, great film. Nia is priceless.
If you've ever been to Greece, you'll recognise these people.
Watch it.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2002
As a guy with Greek Cypriot Parents, born and bred in the Uk,in his mid 30's, This film is an absolute must particularly for the greek community that can relate to the following, As well as all who want to have a good chuckle. It echos the saying which, many greek guys have heard from their parents whilst dating with the greek girl of their dreams " LOOK AFTER MY DAUTER" and " YOU MUST MARRY A GREEK TO BE HAPPY.

An excellent film for everyone. Buy it for your collection.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)