Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Mystery Tour...
Still surprisingly effective, and the template for its far more popular and successful successor, "This is Spinal Tap", "All You Need is Cash" is its own magical mystery tour... a bizarre journey through the Beatles' story that twists & turns between the inspired and the downright silly but which, in the end, gets you there.

First off, Eric Idle's opening...
Published on 14 Jun. 2009 by nicjaytee

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It. Was. Ok. But. I. ...
It. Was. Ok. But. I. Did. No Keep. It
Published 25 days ago by Ian. Hicklin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rutlemania!, 19 Dec. 2010
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Roll Up! Roll Up! Ladies and Gentlemen! Take a trip on the Rutles "Tragical History Tour Bus", witness the birth of a legend as Ron Nasty (Neil Innes) accidently bumps into Dirk McQuickly (Eric Idle), who then helps him up off the floor, the two are eventually joined by Stig O'Hara (Rikki Fataar) and Barry Wom (John Halsey).

Our heroes manage to escape from playing at the "Rat Keller" in Hamburg, then eventually sign a contract to be managed by Leggy Mountbatten, who lost a leg during the closing overs of World War Two.
Now watch as the boys give a royal command performance of "With A Girl Like You" with the attending Queen appearing less than impressed, then witness the Prefab Four conquering America, we scour the Mississippi Delta in search of the roots and influences that helped to shape the genius that is the Rutles.

We discover the unlikely substance that influenced the creation of that 60's landmark album "Sgt Rutters Only Darts Club Band", and join the lads on a weekend getaway to Bognor, a trip suggested by Arthur Sultan - the "Surrey Mystic" who now holds great influence over the band.
Then on we go to the creation of the ill-fated, charitable "Rutle Corps", where, according to Ron Nasty and Dirk McQuickly: "we want to help people to help themselves - if you need money don't go to the banks, just come to us and we will give it to you", followed by the obvious outcome. After the break-up of the band we see the diverse career moves the boys make. We also have an interview with Mick Jagger, who appears to be enjoying himself as he recalls the career of the Rutles.

With music and lyrics provided by the very talented Neil Innes, the songs are a delightful collection of Beatles pastiches, and with Eric Idle also providing a very amusing narration, this all adds up to a cheerfully funny Beatles spoof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Neil Innes - unrecognisd genius?, 26 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst I wouldn't say that this film will have you rolling on the floor in hysterics, it is sufficiently entertaining and amusing to make it a very enjoyable experience. Beatles fans will recognise that this is an affectionate and (largely) respectful parody - although apparently John Lennon wasn't too happy about his alter-ego Ron's partner (Yoko equivalent) being a woman dressed in nazi uniform! Anyone familiar with the Bonzos will know well Neil Innes' facility for writing infectiously catchy melodies, and his parodies of Beatles numbers are un-nervingly good. The actors all have the the banter and flippant off-the-wall humour of the original Beatles off pat. Eric Idle's voice and Ricky Fataar's guitar parts were performed by the guitarist from obscure 70s group Pato - Ollie..? The producers and Eric Idle went to a lot of trouble to find exactly the right locations for some of the spoofs - eg of "I am the Walrus" / "Piggy in the Middle". Spotting the gust appearances from a range of other clebs is fun - some are more of a major constituent - such as Mick Jagger, whose observations on the Rutles are uncomfortably close to the truth about the Beatles!

The extras include two fascinating documentaries about the making of this film made in 2008 - great, apart from the captioning of John Halsey as having played Barry WOMBLE! Doh! (I remember him turning up as 'mystery guest on "Never mind the Buzzcocks" a few years ago - running a pub I seem to recall...not a hairdressers! Phil Jupitus of course recognised him straight away.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Mystery Tour..., 25 Jan. 2005
Still surprisingly effective, and the template for its far more popular and successful successor, "This is Spinal Tap", "All You Need is Cash" is its own magical mystery tour... a bizarre journey through the Beatles' story that twists & turns between the inspired and the downright silly but which, in the end, gets you there.

First off, Eric Idle's opening narration leaves you feeling that you're on some kind of second-rate Monty Python jaunt but, pretty soon thereafter, you hit the first of Neil Innes' brilliantly written and performed pastiches of Beatles' songs and things get much more impressive. And, from here on, it's a roller-coaster ride through some hilariously good and other fairly weak re-workings of the Fab Four's career including brilliant send-ups of "Magical Mystery Tour", the Apple Corps debacle, "Yellow Submarine" and the "Get Back" rooftop session. But what makes this whole weird & wonderful ride hang together is the music... inspired, "tongue in cheek" gems that are so good that it's often difficult to remember they're not in fact original Beatles recordings. And, finally, the DVD's additional "deleted scenes" from the film's interviews with Mick Jagger & Paul Simon add fascinating insights into how The Beatles impacted on them while providing some wonderfully unintentional entertainment as they both struggle to remember that they should be talking about "The Rutles" rather than the real thing.

But what makes the film really interesting is that it's much closer to the reality of what actually went on than you may think. George Harrison's involvement as an actor in it, coupled with his close association with Eric Idle and the Monty Python team suggests that a great deal of "insider knowledge" was involved... how much remains a mystery in itself but the hand of someone "in the know" is most definitely there, making this flawed but highly entertaining film more than just an enjoyable spoof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Do a Poo Poo, 30 April 2010
By 
P. Bessant (Portsmouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Outstanding affectionate dig at the Beatles that manages to be absolutely bloody hilarious and brilliantly clever at creating songs that you swear you've heard before - "I Must Be In Love" and "Piggy In The middle" are so spot on they could be actual Beatles singles - full credit to Neil Innes. John Lennon loved this spoof, Paul Mccartney wasn't happy, don't know what Ringo thought of it but George Harrison appeared in it. This came out before "Spinal tap" and is so much funnier - from Eric Idle trying to keep up with the camera at the beginning and his visit to the wrong neighbour in new orleans ("he's lying, he's always lying, last week he said he invented the everley brothers")this is one of the funniest things I've seen. It helps to know the Beatles history and if you do then the recreations are perfect- magical mystery tour, the rooftop concert and yellow submarine are all present and incorrect. This is a cult item that deserves so much more- every Beatles fan needs to see this. It's brilliant and the soundtrack album deserves a mention too - it's probably the best thing Neil Innes has done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Living legend that will outlive other living legends!, 21 Dec. 2006
By 
Andrew Moules (Albania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rutles: All You Need Is Cash [DVD] (DVD)
The Rutles, that loveable mop-top group from Liverpool, England...etc..From start to finish this is THE BEST spoof film ever made. Impossible to top, as even George Harrison himself appears (interviewing Michael Palin). Not to mention 2 Rolling Stones and half of Simon and Garfunkel! Neil Innes was a genius, having already the advantage of appearing in the Original Magical Mystery Tour film (though the excerpt here is actually better! I love the lyrics too: "Bible-Thumping, Heavy-weight, evangelistic Boxing Kangeroo"!)

The whole thing looks right too, in a way that even Forrest Gump didn't manage! And then there is the soundtrack which stands alone anyway. Most of the songs are actually as good as the Beatles originals, and "I Must Be In Love" is so cleverly compiled from A Hard days Night feelings (Not to mention "Please, Please Hold My Hand" compiled from the obvious 2 Beatles songs.

Jagger seems to be a bit over excited by the whole project, and Paulö Simon takes it too seriously I think. To finish, I absolutely love the reference to "Ron Nasty" saying to a slightly Deaf Journalist that The Rutles were bigger than God. He meant Rod (Stewart) who wouldn't be big for 8 years! People bought the records JUST to burn them! I hope you will too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Rutles- All You Need Is Cash (DVD), 3 Aug. 2013
Neil Innes & Eric Idle produced a film that retains the humour and charm of the Beatles with some great music that also maintains a close similarity in music style as what The Beatles produced from 1962 to 1970.
People may think its a film trying to rubbish the Beatles, but in fact its a kind of tribute to the amazing history that The Beatles had done differently.
What I like about this film is the way humour is used to make fun of the life of The Beatles but not deminishing the legend. The supporting cast is fantastic, especially John Belushi as The shady Klein.
I really like the cast who played The Rutles, their characters fit in so well. George Harrisons character Stig is superb.
Its a laugh a minute with some brilliant music that is very clever in parodying the original Beatles songs.
Get Up And Go is a great example as is Cheese & Onions.
Its a happy fun film I often enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining, great music and don't miss the commentary., 5 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Rock mockumentary about the Beatles that hasn't aged a bit and still is a great fun to watch.

Great Beatles-like music written by Neil Innes, sometimes referred to justifiably as the sixth Python or the fifth Beatle. Don't miss the commentary by Eric Idle - highly entertaining too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars with a really excellent soundtrack. In some places The Rutles film seems ..., 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rutles: All You Need Is Cash [DVD] (DVD)
A very tasteful take on The Beatles story, with a really excellent soundtrack. In some places The Rutles film seems to be closer to reality then history is...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All you need is Rutles?, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rutles: All You Need Is Cash [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen this amusing parody only once on telly, back in the day. I realised, post viewing what is an affectionate and clever parody, that appreciation was now a tad out of time because it rode on the unique thrall to the Beatles now translated to respect of a brilliant oeuvre. This film taps in to the global preoccupation and buzz caused by this Liverpudlian quartet that prevailed for a few years, back in the day. Having said that anyone whose roots are of that era will enjoy this reverb, as will any younger Beatle fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such fun., 15 Jan. 2015
By 
Amazon Customer (Aquitaine and Oxford) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rutles: All You Need Is Cash [DVD] (DVD)
I mean. Who could not like it? So intelligent, light hearted, clever and funny.
Credited to Eric Idle . . . Neil Innes, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rutles: All You Need Is Cash [DVD]
The Rutles: All You Need Is Cash [DVD] by Gary Weis (DVD - 2005)
£6.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews