Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Version to Own
If you want to see a production of one of American Theater's most important playwright's most important works, then look no further. Though there have been several noteworthy productions over the years, this Broadway Theater Archive treat showcases the "perfect" Salesman cast, in a treatment that is essentially a reblocking of the famed Elia Kazan Broadway premiere of the...
Published on 11 Mar. 2003 by Bruce Kendall

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Death of a Salesman
This was great as a true original, but the recording is quite unbalanced so it was quite hard to concentrate.
Published 22 months ago by sabsum


Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Version to Own, 11 Mar. 2003
By 
Bruce Kendall "BEK" (Southern Pines, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you want to see a production of one of American Theater's most important playwright's most important works, then look no further. Though there have been several noteworthy productions over the years, this Broadway Theater Archive treat showcases the "perfect" Salesman cast, in a treatment that is essentially a reblocking of the famed Elia Kazan Broadway premiere of the play. Willie Loman's originator, Lee J Cobb, reprises his role, along with Mildred Dunnock. Though Geroge C. Scott and Dustin Hoffman received critical acclaim for their interpretations of Willie Loman, neither holds a candle to Cobb. He simply "is" Willie. George Segal and John Malcovich weigh in about evenly in the "best Biff" category, but the nod goes to Segal, because of the great ensemble cast he was lucky enough to play off of. Yet another winner in a BTA series that chronicles American Theater in its greatest era (60's and 70s).
Just a note to bear in mind that these plays are film versions of the plays exactly as they were staged on Broadway at the time, so don't look for cinematic production values. Sometimes the camera work is not ideal, but that doesn't get in the way of the consistently powerful performances, and that's what great theater is all about, anyway. I'm just grateful that most of the series is available and hope that the unavailable titles are just being restored and will be rereleased soon.
BEK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TV Classic, 26 Nov. 2002
By 
Jan Peter van der Velden (Rotterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Death Of A Salesman [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
It is always difficult to discern between `the original version` and `the one you saw first`. In the case of TV registrations of Arthur Millar`s play `Death of a Salesman` I saw the 1985 version with Dustin Hoffman first. This `original`, yes `historical 1966 television adaption` stars Lee J. Cobb and Mildred Dunnock recreating their original Broadway roles.
Cobb and Hoffman have different interpretations of Willy Loman and good for them. Good for us. It is very interesting to compare the two.
This 1966 version (which by the way is in realy remarkable condition for a recording that old!) is the closer to the actual theatre setting. It makes very clever use of `shine-through` walls (transparent linen with lights onto it or on the objects behind it); I never realised this used as early as the 60's. The way Willy's brother Ben appears in the 1985 version is less theatrical: Although this version is a television adaption I have no doubt the theatre presentation wasn't very different.
I must say I like Hoffman as good as Cobb, and I won't hold it against anyone if they would think *this* version *the* television adaptation..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST VERSION OF THE LOT, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A number of exellent actors have played Willie Loman including Dustin Hoffman, Brian Dennehey, Frederick March and others but in my view Cobb beats the lot. He captures the brittle bravado just right and we ache in sympathy for him. The rest of the cast are also great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Death Of A Salesman [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
excellent and as good as hoped
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Death of a Salesman, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Of A Salesman [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
This was great as a true original, but the recording is quite unbalanced so it was quite hard to concentrate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deap and interesting, 28 April 2009
By 
Genevieve BORREUX (Belgique) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death Of A Salesman [1966] [DVD] (DVD)
This is such an interesting play. The approach of this version brings a different viewpoint than the one with Dustin Hoffman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 5 Aug. 2014
Not good quality !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death Of A Salesman [1966] [DVD]
Death Of A Salesman [1966] [DVD] by Alex Segal (DVD - 2002)
£18.89
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews