Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better and Better, 24 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Planet Helpless (Audio CD)
The review by amazon really does do no justice to this band. They are unlike anything I have ever heard. I first heard Only Forever four years ago, and although this was a long time coming, it was well worth the wait. It certainly does follow on from Only Forever's greatness and uniqueness.
This has more variety in stlye than previous albums (although that is by no means a slur on anything Puressence have done.) It incorporates shifty edgy tracks such as Make Time, 'galloping tracks' such as How Does It Feel? (which really makes me smile, and thank goodness for this music) and anthemic-destined-for-singles like She's Gotten Over You. And believe me, strangly enough for anthemic-destined-for-singles, it is a blinder. The chorus rocks.
Yeah, you absolutly have to buy this album. It truly is unlike anything you will have heard before, or will hear again. The vocals (whiuch really are superb) complement the instuments, and vice versa. These guys should be musical millionaires, if only people would listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Living Planet, 24 Nov 2002
By 
Dudley Serious - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Planet Helpless (Audio CD)
...It is a shame that widespread public recognition still eludes Puressence because they have a remarkable and individual sound, if clearly raised in a tradition of many fine Manchester bands. Not only Manchester: fans of The Psychedelic Furs will appreciate the "wall of melody" guitars. And those who recall eighties cult heroes The Comsat Angels will tune into the frequently tense, brooding atmosphere threatening to explode at any moment. And when it does, it pins you to the wall. Puressence also benefit from an extraordinary lead singer whose quivering, high vocals wring out every last drop from the emotionally charged lyrics. "Planet Helpless" marries these well-established virtues to a greater pop sensibility than before, giving the album overall a broader range than previous outings. It still retains all their trademark qualities, the tightly coiled edginess is very much in evidence, e.g. on the opening track "Walking Dead" and "How Does It Feel?" More tender feelings are expressed, matched by memorable melodies, on tracks such as "You Move Me" and "Heart of Gold" (not a Neil Young cover, rock historians and pub quiz goers). The plaintive "Throw Me a Line" concludes the album with the lines "All I wanted is something I can't find. Oh well, never mind." When I saw them live at the London Scala a little while back, we certainly found something we wanted, and we can only hope that a wider public will find Puressence soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nowhere near helpless, 9 Oct 2002
By 
Matt Sephton (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Planet Helpless (Audio CD)
Puressence really need to get a place on a TV show to raise their profile. It's criminal the record buying public don't know more about them, as their third LP pushes new ground and maintains the great lyrics and melodies of their previous albums. This album sees lead vocals toned down a notch in their quivering, and lying a lot closer to the music in the mix. Not as instantly hypnotic as "Only Forever" but every bit as good an album.
I managed to see a promo gig for this album and can safely say the band are not over produced in the studio - their live performances are every bit as captivating in person as they are committed to record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Make Time" for this!, 22 Nov 2002
By 
steve (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Planet Helpless (Audio CD)
Why Puressence aren't huge is beyond me! They are absolute class and put bands like JJ72, Starsailor, The Strokes, the Doves and the Datsuns to shame.
Jimmy Mudriczki has a voice that will blow you away and every tune on this CD gets better with every play. Its not been off my stereo since I bought it on day of release.
Track 6 "Make Time" is a monster tune and ranks with any I've ever heard (if you think the Mondays "Kinky Afro" has attitude, then just check this one out!). "You Move Me" and "Heart Of Gold" will send your spirits soaring while "Analgesic Lovesong" and "Ironstone Isadora" just wanna make you swing.
The one bad point is the New-Orderesque "She's Gotten Over You", deliberately written as a poppy single to break the band to a wider audience.
Buy this CD and also "Only Forever" and "Puressence", I promise you that you will not regret it!! If you get the chance then also see them live, its an experience you won't forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutly amazing!, 26 Oct 2005
This review is from: Planet Helpless (Audio CD)
this band are englands most under rated band. jimmy's vocals are amazing, the bass lines and drums drag you in and all you can do is sit in awe and wonder how you didn't hear of them sooner. purchasing any of the 3 albums would be an investment. purchasing a ticket to see them live would be highly recommended. i first heard them about 3 years ago through someone at work. they dragged me to a gig and i've mever looked back. you can listen to the cd and love them but see them live and hear make time, sharpen up the knives, india, i suppose and this feeling and you will understand why once you hear them live you become enraged that talent like this is not apreciated by more people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six stars if i could!, 8 Jun 2003
This review is from: Planet Helpless (Audio CD)
my agenda would be to issue a 'double your money back guarantee' if you're not 100% chuffed t'bits with this album. That should pull you in......
If then, your not convinced, spend your new found wealth on a bargin price ticket to see these boys live and you'll end up realising why on earth you haven't bought every sniff of material they've released. Read the reviews above, double em and pray for the postman to get it through your door asap.
'Dissapointment' isn't listed in the Puressence vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fan Bloody Tastic, 12 Oct 2002
This review is from: Planet Helpless (Audio CD)
This is the sort of album you can drive to, read to, sing along with and chill out to.
Ignore Andrew Mueller's moan on this site about Puressence being derivative and non-original. That's lazy journalism. This album is fantastic. Okay, there are obvious Manchester references (Stone Roses, Mondays, New Order, et al) but James Mudriczki's vocals lift them into a class of their own. There is no-one like Puressence.
If you like music that broods and raises your heartbeat with euphoric guitar lines in equal measure, buy this album. You'll be happy, I promise.
First single off the album is the lead track Walking Dead. If you've heard this single and liked it, the rest of the album is just as good.
Waste no more time - one click it into your record collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Helpless (Audio CD)
i love puressence, they sound so unique, and are brilliant live, their music is always different, i would definately recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Derivative, maybe, but also excellent, 3 Jun 2011
This review is from: Planet Helpless (Audio CD)
So, yes, there are elements of other bands going on in here, but think the Amazon review is rather vitriolic, unecessarily so.

Some great stuff on here - and does anyone else think that they sound a little like the Adventures?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe not pure enough?, 14 Oct 2002
By 
Lars J. Aas (7042 Trondheim, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Planet Helpless (Audio CD)
A good but somewhat uneven album where the title track is the
worst of the lot. Whereas there was quite a distance between
Puressence and Only Forever, Planet Helpless seems to have picked
up where Only Forever left off. Their soundscape, now taken in
a more experimental direction, is now at times as dependent on
strings, organs/synths, and trumpets as it is by the guitars.
The first half of the CD is very good, climaxing in the haunting
Make Time that grabbed me immediately and is without a doubt my
song of the month. Then follows Planet Helpless which - frankly
speaking - sucks. From there on out it's an uneven journey
with highlights in tracks 9 and 13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Planet Helpless
Planet Helpless by Puressence (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews