Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£13.72+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2003
In today's mainstream / pop-star / nu-metal dominated world, Mike Amott stands out as a savior to all of us fans of music with substance. Without wanting to appear generous on the superlatives, Amott is a veritable beacon, sheding light on what "real" rock should be like. To put it simply, the man rocks.
On Fire isn't just about one man though. Powerful lyrics, strong riffs, incredible solos and refreshingly old-school vocals - in fact just what we've come to expect from the Beggars. Right from the outset, you just "know" that this is special (and boy does that not happen enough these days).
The solo on Look Back easily ranks among the top 3 I've heard in the last decade or so; Tall Tales is one of those spngs you can just have on repeat all day - and that's only 2 songs out of 11! Trust me - this is money well spent.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2002
I am a big fan of Arch Enemy and just about everything else that has come from Mike Amott. I new he had a stoner band but have never heard any thing by Spiriual Beggars.
The voice, the music, reminds me of Rainbow come Deep Purple, which is more than good as I am not really enjoying this so called new metal.
From the opening track to the extra track there is no letting go of the great riffs and outstanding vocals that make this such a good record. Besides Wages of Sin this is my favourite purchase this year. If you like intelligent riffing, soloing that you can actually hear, 70's style keyboards and a voice with incredible range, also if you are 30 + you should enjoy this, I love it. Check out ' Tall tales ' .
I will be buying more from this band.
Thanks Mike.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2010
A really great rock album, can not fault any track. black feathers is brilliant. young man. old soul brilliant. these guys should be up there with deep purple and all the other rock icons. one of the best albums out there.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
right im gonna give u a review , bin a while ; so rip your ears off and put em in your socks ; cos this is gonna knock those pretty little socks rightttt off !!! im getting a little mellow but this puts things back on track ; awesome songs great guitar wrapped up in a swamp of heaviness ; bang you firkin head cos that's all there is to life ; play air guitar cos u r gonna die with out it ; the Spiritual Beggars ( us & them ) are On Fire !! RooooooooooooooooocK !! Maximus Metalicus end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
Are you Spiritual?
Are you a Beggar?
Are you on Fire?

Then this is for you. These Retro Hard Rockers are, well, they're on Fire. They're doing nothing new, but they're doing old things very well.
BUY, BUY I SAY, BUY BEFORE THE CD MELTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You can pick this up for 70p (plus p&p) on the 'Zon at the mo. What have you got to lose? Your new 22nd favourite band is waiting for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
Before i purchased this i had never heard anything by this band even though i was aware of them, every track is brilliant Sabbath kind of riffs and great vocals from a great band, i shall definitely be adding more Spiritual Beggars to my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2012
Just buy it!!! Full-on power riffs and great songs! No fillers, just raw rock! The voice sounds incredible, and the whole album is a trip back to the seventies! Get it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2014
We're fans anyway so we loved it...If you like this type of music you'll love this!
Good price for an original item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Everything was perfect¡¡¡
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Fantastic Album..!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.74

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)