Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rod Stewart takes this past 5 stars and right to the moon
Rod Stewart has always had a voice that could take you from tears to laughter and love. In just the way he holds the note his voice is like a caress over the notes that leaves a person wanting more, with the song, You go to my head, he can make you feel like you are falling in love, and he is right there with you! It is very rare to find a voice that can span the range of...
Published on 20 Jan 2003 by lakeofhearts

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fish Out of Water!!
When you are a mega pop or rock singer whom had been selling records in large volume all these years, but not anymore, the best and quickest way to break that mode and get yourself out of that slump is to record a CD or CDs that are full of American Standards, preferably with full orchestral accompaniment. Singers like Linda Ronstadt, Kenny Rogers, Sheena Easton, Anne...
Published on 25 Dec 2010 by AsianCharm


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rod Stewart takes this past 5 stars and right to the moon, 20 Jan 2003
This review is from: It Had To Be You - The Great American Songbook (Audio CD)
Rod Stewart has always had a voice that could take you from tears to laughter and love. In just the way he holds the note his voice is like a caress over the notes that leaves a person wanting more, with the song, You go to my head, he can make you feel like you are falling in love, and he is right there with you! It is very rare to find a voice that can span the range of songs that Mr. Stewart has just brushed on I hope he finds his way to more songs like these that can make kids adults and grandparents happy and falling in love for a very long time. This album has some of the best musicians on it from the sax to the clarinet you could not ask for a better piece of music that will go on for ever way to go!!! Thank You Rod Stewart and your band they are the best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally amazing, 20 Jan 2003
By 
Alison Petrie - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It Had To Be You - The Great American Songbook (Audio CD)
This CD is obviously a labour of love for Rod Stewart. He makes reference in the cover notes to singing these songs at family parties when young. And he sings them so well.
I couldn't believe how easily his voice lent itself to these songs. He has excelled himself this time around and that's a compliment coming from a fan of over thirty years standing. Long may he continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rod Stewart explores The Great American Songbook, 29 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: It Had To Be You - The Great American Songbook (Audio CD)
Having heard the same songs by other Jazz singers, I was curious to analyze Rod Steward's version of the old time classics. The surprise was grand and Rod Stewart's own phrasing is simply superb! The arrangements " a la Gordon Jenkins, Billy May...Nelson Riddle" are quite good, the production top notch!
Rod Stewart is simply a singer who can sing, period!He uses his voice like an instrument to convey the emotions of the different tracks as if they were written for him and his dexterity makes you forget about some newly discovered jazz talents and even some veterans.
It was also a surprise to see him in duet with Nathalie Cole on Parkinson's show.
This is not an attempt by the singer to run away from the polluted and saturated pop scene but a genuine rendition of the tunes of his youth.
In a nutshell: The Great American Songbook by Rod Stewart: Excellent ballad album... A must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rod at his best, 19 Nov 2002
By 
Celia Bateson (Chigwell, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It Had To Be You - The Great American Songbook (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Rod's for many years now, but I think this is his best album so far. You can almost imagine him singing in a smokey bar with a pianist at his side. It is an absolute must buy for anybody not just Rod Stewart fans. He has come into his own with this album and await further albums of this ilke from him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROD, IT HAD TO BE YOU, 21 Nov 2002
By 
Annette B. Bailey (CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It Had To Be You - The Great American Songbook (Audio CD)
For the past thirty years, Rod Stewart has entertained audiences with so-called Stewart standards "Maggie May," Hot Legs," and the disco-era anthem, "Do You Think I'm Sexy?" However, his latest work proves he's still plenty sexy, and yes, equally talented. His signature style proves a perfect fit for '40s love ballads etched with angst, love, and longing. Not to mention, his edgy, soulful pipes combined with the lonely saxophone and bass, seem custom made for the timeless classics; particularly "You Go To My Head," "The Nearness of You," "Moonglow," and "That's All." Somehow he's taken a career gamble and so far it seems to be paying off beautifully. Bravo, Mr. Stewart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Stewart in mellow mood, 19 Nov 2002
This review is from: It Had To Be You - The Great American Songbook (Audio CD)
Now this is what I call divine. Rod Stewart is better than I have ever heard him. When I told someone awfully clever on the subject of popular music that I had heard a bit of this on a TV programme, he laughed and said I'd got it wrong. Well, I didn't get it wrong, Rod Stewart has been bold enough to offer something different and perfectly exquisite in this CD. He invites the listener into the intimacy of his life and goes on to beguile. Each track is a gem, his interpretation never failing to move. I don't know anything about all the technicalities but what I do know is this sends shivers up and down my spine ... Mr Stewart has excelled himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move Over Darling!, 28 May 2004
By 
Robert Park (Kirriemuir, Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Had To Be You - The Great American Songbook (Audio CD)
What a delightful change to hear the lyrics of a song. Rod Stewart's words are distinct, melodic, and emotionally uplifting with the emphasis in the right places. His singing is exciting, romantic, and lovely to dance to with partner or just moving around the sittingroom to the rhythm of his music. Sure cannot do that with today's harsh and brash pop. Rod knows how to gently and emotionally caress his listeners and to put them at ease and to put them in the mood for love. He is pure magic and he is intoxicating, and he leaves Sinatra (and etc) in the shade. Encore, please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fish Out of Water!!, 25 Dec 2010
By 
AsianCharm "AC" (Frisco, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It Had To Be You - The Great American Songbook (Audio CD)
When you are a mega pop or rock singer whom had been selling records in large volume all these years, but not anymore, the best and quickest way to break that mode and get yourself out of that slump is to record a CD or CDs that are full of American Standards, preferably with full orchestral accompaniment. Singers like Linda Ronstadt, Kenny Rogers, Sheena Easton, Anne Murray, Brian Ferry, etc. had done it all before. I must hasten to say that sometimes it works splendidly like in Linda Ronstadt's case, but oftentimes, it fails miserably since these singers have neither the innate inflection for this kind of music, nor the appropriate vocal technique when to follow or when to deviate from the printed music scores.

Back to Rod stewart, his musical background was deep in the American blues like many Brits (rock singers) during the 60's, and he's been great in singing songs that are evolved directly from the blues: early rock and roll, rhythm & blues, pop and rock ballad and even Disco!

Musicologically, American Standards came from a completely different historical lineage: tin-pan alley. Artists who are associated with this genre are generally known as crooners: Judy Garland, Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, Ella Fitzgerald, Billie Holiday, Rosemary Clooney, Nat King Cole, Patti Page, Julie London, etc. When you listen to tunes like "The Very Thought of You", and "The Nearness of you", you just can't help but to compare that to the ones sungs by Nat King Cole and Ella Fitzgerald/Louis Armstrong respectively.

With all things considered, I don't think Rod Stewart did a poor job on this record, or on other CDs in the Great American Songbook series. However, the over-orchestrated accompaniment, too-slick production, the lack of jazzy feeling in some of the session musicians' performance, and every song is in the same tempo (as found in other CDs of the same series), really do not help to dampen Rod Stewart's "FISH OUT OF WATER" renditions of some of these quaint and intimate tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rod Stewart at his best, 28 April 2006
By 
s "s" (north west) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: It Had To Be You - The Great American Songbook (Audio CD)
This album shows Rod Stewart at his charismatic best.Timeless songs sung by a singer whose voice is like no other,this album helps you unwind and relax.My wife played this album whilst driving and swore she drove better as a result,such was it's calming influence.Is she mad? Yes,without a doubt,but this album does chill and calm.One you can listen to again & again when you need an escape.Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It had to be you, 19 Sep 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: It Had To Be You - The Great American Songbook (Audio CD)
Just loved this album and also Vol II. First heard it played in a restaurant and it was perfect background music. The track "For all we know" moved me to nostalgic tears as it caught the mood of the early uncertain stages of love. Nobody ever bought Rod's stuff for his great singing ability but for his style and very sexy handling of a song. It helps to know that his sexuality is firmly established to match his voice! I also bought Vols III and IV and like them too but not quite as much - still I play them regularly so that can't be bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

It Had To Be You - The Great American Songbook
It Had To Be You - The Great American Songbook by Rod Stewart (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews