Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most talented band EVER
There is too many reviews on here that say this album is bad, probably the people who have reviewed it soo far are idiots who either believe METAL has got to be written a certain way or have heard earlier albums and cant accept that the band have progressed. All bands progress wether thay get better or worse its still a step up for them to realise what mistakes they have...
Published on 28 Jan. 2006 by yon

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paradoxically overrated.
Indeed this album is quite good, but it certainly isn't in most parts beautiful. Also, the songs are a great deal more linear - and without theme changes during the song - than most of their earlier work. Most peope think of "Symphony X" - i.e. the band's debut album - as the band's weakest, but I think it is stronger than The Odyssey, (please read my reviews of their...
Published on 30 July 2004 by the great amphibian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most talented band EVER, 28 Jan. 2006
This review is from: The Odyssey (Audio CD)
There is too many reviews on here that say this album is bad, probably the people who have reviewed it soo far are idiots who either believe METAL has got to be written a certain way or have heard earlier albums and cant accept that the band have progressed. All bands progress wether thay get better or worse its still a step up for them to realise what mistakes they have made and how they can improve further. Accept it.
Now being a fan of all that is real music, I have no complaints about this album at all. I listen to all kinds of bands from AC/DC to Slayer. I dont have a set style because all these people are real artists and inspiration for me to write music.
Symphony X are truely an inspirational band, wether you play drums, bass, keyboards, guitar or sing, the guys of Symphony X are in my mind the most talented band ever.
Michael Romeo! a legendary guitarist already and clearly should be up there riding with Malmsteen, Vai and Joe Satriani. His playing is extremely quick and clever and in other areas simple. hosting your typical metal style palm muting, harmonics and crunching riffs (Pantera like) for verse and chorus and the solo's are amazing. The keyboard player also has amazing talent, being able to dual with Romeo and play equally as fast, he makes the electronic key frenzy sound like Romeo is playing using strange effects with his guitar.
If you are a fan of instrumental guitarists aswell as being a fan of metal and rock, you should give this band a try. Geniuses of metal, definately different and not afraid to show it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten out of five, 5 Jun. 2006
This review is from: The Odyssey (Audio CD)
If I could give this 10/5 I would, in order to balance up the reviewer that slated the album with only one star. Symphony X are superbly talented musicians and while they won't compete with the sort of commercial vulgar dross be it metal, pop or whatever you see on MTV, these guys can really play and present a decent side of metal that is sadly overlooked these days.
The keyboards work so well with the crunching guitar riffs and the lightning solos are excellent, as are the vocals (a proper 'singer', would you believe!) and the same for the bass and drums - all round talent comes shining through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars melodic, crunching guitars,swirling keyboards - great stuff, 21 Mar. 2004
This review is from: The Odyssey (Audio CD)
Far better than their previous outing V and perfectly able to stand up to comparisons with Divine Wings of Tragedy. The Odyssey is a highly enjoyable album with excellent guitar/keyboards, fine vocals and a good collection of songs and melodies.
Some people define Symphony X as playing progressive metal and I can see what they mean, but this album leans more to the heavy metal end of the spectrum than (say) Dream Theater or Pain of Salvation. That isn't to suggest that the album lacks ambition or technical flourishes as both are abundantly displayed. Where Symphony X differ from other 'prog' bands is that they seem to maintain a good sense of melody and rhythm even while playing sometimes long and complex arrangements.
Stand out tracks (so far) are The Accolade 2 (a worthy follow-up to The Accolade featured on Divine Wings), Wicked and King of Terror.
If you like your guitars heavy and are fed up of 3 minute power pop songs and post grunge depressives, then I recommend you give this a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Symphony X return with another epic album, 12 Nov. 2002
By 
Mr. M. S. Hazell "msh14568" (Gloucester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Odyssey (Audio CD)
Symphony X are back. Again they have written an album based on Greek Mythology. This time see the story of Odeseus and the voyages of the oddessy.
This is by far the best album yet and displays a harder edge than previous releases right from the word go from Micheal Romeo's Guitaring to the soaring and gravelley vocals of Russell Allen. Despite the harder edge to this opus Symphony X can still mix fast & heavy metal with melody. Add to this Amazing Drum & Bass lines and impeccable keyborad playing, this is a superb piece of Progressive Metal which i would recommend to any Prog Rock/Metal fans (especially fans of groups such as Dream Theater, Italian rock group Rhapsody & finnish rock gods Stratovarius.
The concept album is alive and kicking so long as groups such as Symphony X release epic's of such quality and musicianship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out at sea and things are getting choppy,, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Odyssey (Audio CD)
The cover art might be one draw for this 6th Symphony x album, but the music on offer is also one of the most metal and progressive counterparts of recent leanings. The odyssey signifies a slight change of formula for the band, as for the tirst time on a SX album the symphony is cut back a little in favour for a more distilled and flavoured metal sound. This certainly works at the beginning as "inferno (unleash the fire)" and "Wicked" tesify an explosion of driving riffs by the always reliable and masterful Michael Romeo.

Elsewhere, "Accolade II" is the next sequel of the original song from way back. "King of terrors" is quite a fast and tight piece; but the real centerpiece of this album is arguably Symphony X finest song and one of the greatest masterpieces of progressive metal ever. This 24 minute leviathan encompasses a grand storyline about a viking leader who's anxious to return back home, and it is about as wonderful a progression and tightness that you could ever wish to hear. A four star album at first glance then suddendly becomes a surefire five, and must have.

For me, it shows Symphony X at the height of their technical and songwriting prowess. The production is subtle and the music diverse and symphonic. "The odyssey" is the most accomplished Symphony X album and the title track is their best ever and I doubt it will ever be beaten. The most recent last album from the band has for the first time, started to show a mellowing of quality from the band. A return of direction towards this kind of musical formation would certainly come with a full thumbs up from me. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godlike, 30 Aug. 2006
This review is from: The Odyssey (Audio CD)
Symphonyx are one of those lesser known bands who are the best you will ever hear. I have no idea why they aren't bigger, they are truly the best band i have ever listened too. Everything they have ever done is incredible.

The guitar work makes me delirious and all the other musians are on a parr, there is always something new to take away from their music. I can't find within myself enough adjectives to use about them so i will put it like this:

They ARE fanstastic.

They ARE great live.

They make GREAT tracks.

This album IS one of the best EVER.

That is all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic title track + album, 16 Sept. 2008
By 
Mark K. Cowan (North England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Odyssey (Audio CD)
I'm not a major symX fan, and this isn't my favourite symX album. It is however, amongst my favourite albums, mostly for it's title track and "Accolade II". Whilst "Masquerade" sounds a bit disjunct sometimes, it's still a good track. Think of Helloween's "Keeper of the Seven Keys".

I've not read The Odyssey, but I've seen the film, and after listening to this album, I had to watch it again. After that, I had to listen to the song again, and so forth. It's a fantastic piece of music. Some people think that prog metallers write long songs for the sake of it. Certainly not here! Its an amazing album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Symphony X's best., 17 May 2011
This review is from: The Odyssey (Audio CD)
I think this album is probably Symphony X's best album. It is a fantastic collection of symphonic progressive metal songs which are varied and consistently of high quality. Particularly, 'The Odyssey' title song stands out as a masterpiece. Here, Romeo's orchestrations and riffs blend perfectly with Allen's diverse and robust vocal performance. More importantly, the song is structured so well that the 24 minute duration flies by, which is not something that often happens within the 'prog epic' tradition. The other long track, 'Awakenings' is another mini-masterpiece with many changes of pace and mood, all of which serve the forward thrust of the song structure.

The only flaw, for which I deduct one star, is that the overall tone (by which I mean the spirit in which the music is meant to be taken), of the album is unclear. This is a problem for many metal bands in my opinion. Namely, I never know whether the music is meant to be taken seriously or whether it is to be treated as quasi-spoof. Of course, this problem isn't major at all when you're busy rocking away to such a blistering track as 'Inferno' but a softer track like 'Accolade II' is more questionable. Is it meant to be truly profound or is it meant to be more of a harmless bit of fun? I just never know with Symphony X.

But having said this, this is still their finest work in my opinion and to be preferred over 'The Divine Wings of Tragedy' and 'V', both of which sometimes suffer from inconsistent song quality and bad production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Paradoxically overrated., 30 July 2004
This review is from: The Odyssey (Audio CD)
Indeed this album is quite good, but it certainly isn't in most parts beautiful. Also, the songs are a great deal more linear - and without theme changes during the song - than most of their earlier work. Most peope think of "Symphony X" - i.e. the band's debut album - as the band's weakest, but I think it is stronger than The Odyssey, (please read my reviews of their other studio albums to get all of my ideas about Symphony X, [I would note that I gave all the other albums 5 stars]). There is no doubt that the band show great musicianship in The Odyssey, and that the songwriting is good, and that many choruses or verses are catchy, but it is also true that the vocals are too loud, the solos on guitar and keyboard seem to be much more sparse and also less original/not as good as on other albums. Romeo's solos in particular seem to be in a creative rut on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Their artistic maximum was back then sometime., 9 Feb. 2004
This review is from: The Odyssey (Audio CD)
In my opinion the best music of Symphony X was that when Thomas Miller was the bass player, (and a major song contributer). A certain subtlety in their style when Miller was in the band left with him, though it doesn't mean that Symphony X were left as a band that aren't great; they just can't really be as great as when Thomas Miller was in the band, and The Odyssey is the ripened album of the new lineup. The Odyssey is less ornate than the album before it, (V), and less ornate than other earlier albums, and the songs are generally simpler. Some of the atmosphere created is very effective, such as in songs like "Incantations of the Apprentice". The solos by Pinella and Romeo are not as good as in previous albums; there is a void of any really good solos, (I have never considered Michael Romeo a good soloist, (that doesn't include his instrumental work), and the solos on The Odyssey [album] are not very variegated and not memorable). I expected the band to get lower reviews for the album because of its greater simplicity in contrast to other albums of theirs, but I suppose that they must have succeeded in making themselves more marketable and in getting a larger pool of less intelligent liteners. I think that Michael Romeo has still got a great future and may become the first successful shredder turned composer if that is the direction in which he wishes to head one day, and of course Russell Allen can do whatever he wants in the future, having one of the most classically perfect voices around as far as I can tell. The Odyssey is not a rewarding album in the long run for any Symphony X fans who appreciate every detail put into a Symphony X song. There are a couple of impressive features in the album such as the introduction to "Inferno" which is rather impressive, (and is an amusing practice piece for me on the guitar). The final song, "The Odyssey", is not actually that good an epic. There aren't enough sections to make the song feel like a varied enough epic given the 'novel' attributed to Homer that it pretences to portray, and the beginning and end ballard sections are too corny, the vocals not clever enough. I found the orchestral introduction to The Odyssey very impressive the first time round, illustrating the progress that Romeo has made with his orchestral composition skills, but I don't like listening to it often. It is basically a sweeping movie score, and is not very personal or artistic. I am fairly certain that Symphony X as a band will never reach the artistic heights they had reached before, and if The Odyssey is any fair indication, it seems that artistic considerations are not the very first on the agenda of Romeo and his band and bard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Odyssey
The Odyssey by Symphony X (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews